Bad stacking moves, you live and learn.

Over the years I have heard a lot of people say "it wont matter what you paid for it" for a long time I believed this. I am not so sure that It is true though. You see I have been through all the phases of stacking, firs was the weight, then was the constitutional, then collectables.

Screenshot_20181104-185256_Google.jpg
Source

Now we all know you can't go wrong with weight stacking, in fact this is what I recommend to every new stacker. Now for the non stackers that are reading this post, weight stacking is basically buying silver as close to spot as possible. Spot is the price of what silver is worth and over spot price is the price you pay for minting and producing of the piece you buy. It allows you to add more weight for less Money.

Screenshot_20181104-184237_Gallery.jpg

Constitutional silver is basically silver coinage that used to be minted by countries as forms of money. Example would be all quarters times and half dollars that where produce before 1965 in the United States contain 90% silver, half dollars produced between 1965-1970 contain 40% silver. Now a lot of times you can find constitutional silver (junk silver) pretty close to spot. For the most part this plays pretty well with weight stacking. But becareful you can get carried away and not all constitutional silver is good. I will give you an example of bad buys with constitutional silver. When I first started stacking it seemed like Apmex and Provident where always selling 40% halves at spot as long as you bought bu the roll which is $10 USD. Now this sounded like a good deal to me and every order I found myself picking up a roll. So over a period of about 6 months I manged to accumulate over 80 oz of 40% silver halves. Unfortunately the buy back is not that good and everytime I visit the LCS Or Pawn shop they don't want them and will not Buy them back. So was this a bad move? I think it was, 80oz of halves are heavy, bulky and takes up a lot of room. Plus they are to difficult to separate the silver at melt.

Screenshot_20181104-184352_Gallery.jpg

Collection stacking, oh how I have found myself indulged with collection stacking. This is where my biggest mistake was made. You see that figure 8 coin above, it is 2 oz of silver, and I paid $135 over spot. To make things worse I bought 2 of them. Now for the 4 oz of silver I bought between two of these figure 8's I could have bought over 20 oz of silver. Now I do love the figure 8 but I will never make my money back on this. Now collection stacking can be very profitable but you have to be conservative and set on over the spot limit and stick to it. You should also try for low mintage sets.

Always keep this in the back of your mind, its a race to have the most silver you can before the Markets finally correct.

So if anyone wants to buy some 40%ers and A badass figure 8, then hit me up, cause I am all about the weight now.

Well this was a little longer than I had planned, thanks for stopping by!!

@raybrockman

ephoto_1521240073319.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent Points @raybrockman

Thanks Stokjockey 😎👍

I'm all about the weight.
Well... maybe one or two pretty, rare ones.
Be a shame not to finish the set.
In all the different sizes.
Dammit.

Sets are not a bad thing, in fact if done right they can be very profitable. Weight is good. Thanks for stopping by Matt!

Heya Ray, good words of advice! Personally i’m not interested in the 40%ers and luckily i am already macking my own figure 8 due to some wild-ass raffle i entered several months ago 😜😁🤣👍

I am, however, interested to see how good your discipline is in the face of this most recent outbreak of stackitus-maximus.

✌️😆

I AM a heavy weight in all aspects. 🤣🤣😂😂😎👍

Game on buddy! Let’s see who can resist the primo longer 😳😜😁😆😜🤩👍

I was not aware of this, today I learned something new from your publication, excellent advice with a good point @raybrockman, thanks for teaching me

AWESEOME article, @raybrockman! Great information and sharing of your personal experience in stacking. The community benefit with the first-hand sharing of our stacking experiences. and lessons learned. Kudos to you, my friend!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

i have just learn something i never heard of !thanks !

@raybrockman great observations and food for thought. I do have a tone of 40% halves but only because I cpin roll hunt so they were all acquired at face value. The call of collector items is sometimes very strong but I have a planned budget and generally try to stick to it. I did make a rookoe mistake before I was deep into stacking. I spent about 900 bucks on so coons that had a higher premium because I bought them through a dealer company like Goldline. I now gift them to people basically turning a thorn into a rose. Thanks for sharing!

This post is supported by $19.94 @tipU upvote funded by @silver-hammer :)
@tipU voting service guide | STEEM Monsters Lottery | For investors.

The more weight the better, right on!👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34