What Changed My Life Forever!!! Part 2 of 4

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

It's Getting Better!

2018-06-10-10-12-44.jpg

Spent a lot of time in this area on day 2, just seemed peaceful. Most of the visitors came by today and the room only allows 4 vistors at a time, so being a smoker it just kinda worked out for the best.

Well today was the day that the drain tube was going to be removed, which is what was causing most of the discomfort for Codey. So before the doctor removed the drain tube, he shared some photos with us from the operation, I will save those photos until part 4 of this series. Well come to find out the hole that was in his heart was the size of a half dollar. This was unexpected, and the Doctors where completed shocked. I guess some of the tissue and mussels that surronds one of the valves was blocking the size of the actual hole. Doctors did say that he would not have been able to go much longer with that size hole before some series damage was done to the valves. So this was diffently the right call.

IMG_1959.jpg

Looks like a series incision and in my opinion it looks like it will scare, doctor assures us though that the scaring will be minimal and not very noticable. So before they take the drain out, the had to check the wound and remove the bandages. This was my time to walk away and take a short trip to place that I found myself visiting more and more since we first got here.

Screenshot_20180610-134350_Chrome.jpg

I found myself going to the Chapel that was located in the Hospital. It all started of with me visiting once the first day. Then I found myself stepping away more and more to go and visit and say a prayer.

The Chapel seem to becoming my go to place, wasn't very big and not a lot of visitors.

Screenshot_20180610-150722_Chrome.jpg

Sometimes it takes life changing event to happen before you take the time to realize what is important. Right now visiting the Chapel felt like where I needed to be.

So after my visit to the Chapel it was time for the Doctor to remove the drain tube. Seeing is how this is what was causing Codey so much pain, I was excited that it was time to remove it.

Screenshot_20180610-101117_Gallery.jpg

You could almost see a since of relief on his face once the tube was removed. The pain and uncomfort went away almost immediately. Plus he was able to take a shower now and to a 16 year old boy, a shower is at the top of the important list.

So as I bring you to the end of the second, I will share the view from the room. Birmingham is a much bigger city then what we are used to being in. It is diffently a lot more active city.

2018-06-10-10-14-29.jpg

I will leave you with this: if you are not the type of person who goes to the doctor very much, you are making a mistake. If you have kids please take them for their normal routine checkups, it could end up saving a life.

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your day, for god has blessed you with another one to enjoy.

Thanks
RAY
@raybrockman

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this story, Ray. I'm so glad your boy is ok. That is one major scar! It will heal, but it'll always be there to remind you of these days. I remember seeking refuge in places of worship when I was scared, it had a lot to do with who I am today and the life I live today. Sometimes these experiences can result in great good in people's lives. @ironshield

Thanks ironshield, some things are life changers, and this one has diffently made me get my priorities in line.

Wish you a quick recovery. Really it is back to the life.

As always. Sending you all our love and hoping for a speedy recovery xx

Thanks bud, he is almost back to normal

That's great to hear. Being so young, he will be up and as fit as a fiddle in no time, unlike us old farts where it now takes 2 days just to clear a hangover!!!

Hope everything gets back to normal soon bud and you are so right about getting stuff checked out.

Thanks gdw. Things are getting back to normal.

Oh wow. What a great blessing for your son and your entire family for the successful surgery. Having been under the knife several times myself, I know that surgery is always scary. Thank goodness for modern medicine! I will pray for Cody's recover from the procedure quickly. I noted the sanctuary vigil light and the veiled tabernacle in the chapel. It must be a Catholic Chapel. Thank you for this second article on your life-changing experience. I appreciate you, my friend, for sharing with us.

Thanks Saver888, i was wondering if anyone would catch that, but yes we are Catholic. Thanks as always for stopping by.

I am a Brazilian, the most Catholical country in the world, and it was easy for me to recognize a Catholic Chapel. Codey has my prayers.

Praying all goes well!

Thanks coolbowser.

I like seeing him sitting up and awake...

Diffently is a good sign. Thanks pocketchange.

You absolutely correct in taking the family for regular checkups. This is how things are found that could cause greater problems later are found. The scar should fade over time. There may always be a faint scar but he will have something to talk about when he goes to the beach! How are mom and dad holding up?

Mom and dad are doing better, thanks cecicastor. Thanks for stopping by.

remember to keep up your strength too. This is hard on everyone in the family.

Sending in the radar love buddy!

Thanks My Friend. Everyone needs a little radar love 😎👊

🍆🍆🍆

He is looking good. Resilient and strong.

Thanks coldsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85