Gold - A long term investment

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Sometimes it is good to look in retrospect at your investments.

I started investing in gold in 2004 and remember that I thought that $ 400-450 was a hell of a lot money for an ounce of gold. Was it really wise to buy at such a level???

People looked a little bit funny at me when I mentioned that I was buying gold and it made me uncertain if I was doing the right thing.
A couple of years later the price of gold was over 3 to 4 times higher. The people who laughed at me stepped into the market, trying not to miss “the boat”, but saw to their disappointment that after a short term price explosion in 2012, the prices dropped tremendous. The price of gold dropped from $ 1.800 to around $ 1.200 in about a year.

9B42D62B-1149-4F49-B7AE-6A22934F71DA.jpeg

As from that point, the price of gold is moving sideways, turning and tumbling around the $ 1,200 level. With lows of $ 1.050 and highs of $ 1.350.

During the period of 2004 until now I still am accumulating my gold positing.

So sometimes I gained and sometimes I lost but looking at the end, my investment is still on the positive side. And looking from a 2004 perspective, gold is still in a bull cycle!

However making a huge profit is not a short term goal. I still look at gold the same way as I did in 2004: A store of wealth and protection against inflation or an other monetary event.
This is what I regularly say to people! However like in 2004, most people smile and think I am silly!

Enjoy!

Sort:  

A long term investment is correct... 20 tears from now, you’ll be able to buy a new suit of clothing... Great Investment...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39