The Rule of 72 Explained – Double your Money - KISS Principle

As a previous financial adviser, I needed to simplify investment principles to the basic level.

The Rule of 72 is simply a formula to determine how many years it will take to double your investment, not counting dividends or interest.

Years to double = 72 / Interest Rate

At 6% interest, your money takes 72/6 or 12 years to double.
Double your money in 10 years, get an interest rate of 72/10 or 7.2%.
If your country’s GDP grows at 3% a year, the economy doubles in 72/3 or 24 years

You can also use the Rule of 72 for calculating inflation rates or interest income.

If inflation rates go from 2% to 3%, your money will lose half its value in 24 years instead of 36.

If the nations debt doubles every 8 years, such as under Bush, Clinton, Bush, Obama, and now Trump, 72/ 8 years = 9% per year.

Debt under Trump is projected to reach over 26 Trillion, with a T, when Trump leaves office. A double, at a 9% rate, could be 40 Trillion, if the Rule of 72 continues to hold true to form.

Keep stacking. Go get you some.

Thanks for following @RollingThunder

Sort:  

Smart money is precious metals for sure!!!!!

The Smart money says the debt game cannot continue......But it does. All I can say is I sleep well at night knowing my fiat paper is limited and I am my own Reserve Bank as I have the time to stack at these low prices. Thanks for posting.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Very Nice Post.
My Blog is Love Blog please Upvote
My One Post Please

Source
Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

More Information:

The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

@saklain1 It's just to remind you, the repeated use of same comment in different posts, it's a spam. So don't be a fool. Give yourself a value, keep respect!

I stopped working and inflation is my highest risk. I therefore invested quite heavily in gold. The rule of 72 I picked up at the start of my actuarial career already.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89