# 103 - Albany Charter

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Continuing our series of the American Half Dollars Commemoratives, we will today present the 1936 "Albany Charter".

As all the commemorative half dollars, it weights 12,5g with a 90% silver purity.

The Albany commemorative half dollar marks the 250th anniversary of the granting of the charter to Albany, New York. Albany is the second oldest charted city in the United States.

The obverse shows a beaver (a common mammal in the area) gnawing on a branch of maple. The maple is the New York State tree.

DSC_0297.JPG

The reverse depicted a group of three men in colonial costume. They represent the signing of the charter.

DSC_0299.JPG

A total of 17,671 coins were distributed. The actual price is around U$260.00 in this grade.

This series will continue very soon.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

Sort:  

Nice coin my friend. I’m a big fan of the commemorative half dollars. Rock on 👍

I will show all my collection in future articles. Thanks for the visit and the commentary.

It makes me wonder, my friend if it was your collection that I have saved in my YT playlist two years ago! He had a collection of all the half dollar commemoratives in slabs. I think that this is one of the most interesting coin series by far!

It was not me. I never had a channel on Youtube.

@ronaldoavelino always enjoy comemoratives!! The reverse is a really good design and I appreciate you sharing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88