# 195 - Olympic Stamp Sculptures

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

In honor of the 1976 Summer Olympics, the Government of Canada minted this limited edition of Olympic Stamp Sculptures.

Some stamps were issued commemorating the Summer Olympics and they were copied in silver, in what was called the Olympic Stamp Sculptures.

DSC_0682.JPG

DSC_0683.JPG

Each weighted 16g with 99.9% silver purity.

DSC_0685.JPG

I hope you have enjoyed this small article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

A great idea to copy the stamps in silver.

The contrast between the stamp and the silver is very interesting.

Olympic stamp statues... I am glad to know that they did not monetize those, and called them "statues" and not coins.
Another great and unique collection there, @ronaldoavelino! You must have cabinets full of your coins and other collections. It is neat that the majority of them come in presentation cases. Keep on collecting, my friend!

You are right. Most came in presentation cases. The only problem is that presentation cases take much more space than the single coin...

@ronaldoavelino I think this is one of the coolest sets I have ever seen. They have intrinsic value, national pride, artistic beauty, and true meaning wrapped up in that wonderful case. Thanks for sharing buddy!

It is one of the most beautiful sets that I have. Thanks for the visit.

I also like collecting Olympic themed coins, most are limited edition, such as 500, 1000, 20000 coin lots. Makes them more valuable as a collector, but not as a trade.

As I am basically a collector, not a stacker, these limited editions attract me.

Cool pieces Rono — i have a few simiar items: 15.5 gram Canada Postage stamps depicting different sports on the back. I sent ‘the Boxer’ to Ray’s son a couple months ago...

Cool pieces!

I tried twice to buy these "bars" on Ebay but people paid more than I was intending to pay...It is a very beautiful stamps/sports series.

When i find mine again, i’ll post ‘em up 👍

These are great. I like that the stamps are there with the silver.

They came together, so we could compare with the silver.

Olympic Stamp Sculptures are really very fascinating

Do you collect coins? If you are interested, I write a daily article about my coin collections and you are very welcome.

These are the first silver versions of stamps that I have seen. You have a lot of really unique ones. I like them!

I have another Canadian stamp that became a silver coin. I know where is the stamp. I must find the coin...

I know where is the stamp. I must find the coin...

"Life is rough when you're @ronaldoavelino. You have to keep track of all the silver you own." Ha ha. You're the man!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi @ronaldoavelino!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.745 which ranks you at #12760 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 42 places in the last three days (old rank 12802).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #230.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72