# 309 - Some British Coins

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Most of my articles are about commemorative coins that belong to my collection.

More than 90% of my collection is composed by commemorative coins, but I have a sizable stack of junk silver (Brazilian, American, Canadian and Swiss) and silver rounds and bars.

I have also a few circulated silver coins that I bought because I liked them and the price was fair.

I will show you some British coins that I particularly like the design.

Let's start with the 1945 1 Shilling and the 1942 2 Shillings.

The 1 Shilling had a mintage of 15,143,400 units and weights 5.65g with 50% silver purity. Its reverse shows a crowned lion atop a crown.

The 2 Shillings had a mintage of 39,895,200 units and weights 11.31g with 50% silver purity. Its reverse shows a crowned Tudor rose flanked by thistle and shamrock.

DSC_0118.JPG

Both obverses show a portrait of George VI looking to the left.

DSC_0119.JPG

Now I will show you a 1922 Half Crown (2 Shillings 6 Pence).

It had a mintage of 16,396,999 units and weights 14.14g with 50% silver purity. Its reverse shows a crowned shield within garter.

DSC_0120.JPG

The obverse shows George V facing left.

DSC_0121.JPG

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

I like these coins and, to me, the 1 Shilling one is the most beautiful.

I like them all. The 1 Shilling is the best conserved and because of this it calls our eyes.

Very nice!! I like the coat of arms on the back. Is there any numismatic market for those, or just silver content?

There is a strong numismatic market, mainly in Europe, for better conserved coins. These three are worth a little more than spot price.

Loading...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ronaldoavelino from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85