# 457 - Some Canadian History - Part 19

The information below comes from the site of the Canadian Historical Association:
https://cha-shc.ca/english/what-we-do/what-we-do.html

"Founded in 1922, the Canadian Historical Association / La Société Historique du Canada is a bilingual not-for-profit and charitable association devoted to fostering the scholarly study and communication of History in Canada.

The CHA pursues a number of academic and professional activities for the benefit of its members; it sponsors a vast array of publications and represents the interests of historians and the heritage community by actively lobbying archives, museums, governments and granting agencies on issues relating to copyright, access to information, academic freedom and public access to historical documents."

A few years ago it issued a series of silver medallions related to the Canadian History.

They weight around 11.6g (0.37oz), have a 92.5% silver purity and Proof finish.

I could not find how many different medallions were issued, but I have 20 of them and they will be shown chronologically.

The nineteenth is the 1868 - The Assassination of D'Arcy McGee.

The assassination of D’Arcy McGee, Father of Confederation and outspoken opponent of Fenianism, on an Ottawa street in the early hours of April 7th, 1868 is the greatest murder mystery in Canadian political history.

Patrick James Whelan was found guilty and sentenced to death on very weak evidences. Right up to the moment of his execution, Whelan insisted that he was innocent.

DSC_1763.JPG

DSC_1764.JPG

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

Thank you ronaldoavelino! You've just received an upvote of 91% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Could you explain me something? You know that I was not upvoted yesterday. How is it possible to be upvoted only 91% today? Shouldn't it be a 100% upvote?

OK @ronaldoavelino, let me start with the Portuguese posts, these do not have any of the tags the bot votes on. I have added the tags "pt" and"brazilian" so the bot finds these posts. As for yesterday I believe what happened is the posts were to close together (the bot can take as much as two hours to find a post) so the bot found the Portuguese post first, didn't vote due to tags and was done checking for that two hour block so it missed the second post.

AS for the 91% today I believe that is due to the fact that we now have more bot users so more votes going out. I am not completely sure on that and I have a note in to the bot operator to see exactly why this is.

I have sent you two steem for missing votes yesterday and I hope you will stay on board until I can figure this out for you. Thanks Ronaldo!

My friend, I cannot accept the two steems because your explanation was very precise to me.
What you did not know was that I removed the tag steemsilvergold from the Portuguese posts because I post with around one hour interval and to receive a 3% upvote was not important.
I thank you for your consideration but please remove the tags pt and brazilian, unless, of course, you have some other Portuguese speaking member.
I will, of course, stay on board.
As a 70 years old retired man, I have enough free time to search for unusual things and to look for answers. :=))
Thank you again.

They should have called a young Sherlock Holmes to solve this crime.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

In 1868 Sherlock would be 10-12 years old. Maybe their parents wouldn't let him go to Canada.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

You got a 55.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ronaldoavelino! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Thank you for the upvote.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17