# 462 - More Canadian Animals

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

There is no country that loves to issue commemorative coins more than Canada and depicting animals is the main theme.

We have here two examples of this main theme.

The first is a 2013 $20 CAD. It does not belong to any series, it is simply "The Beaver".
It weights 31.39g (1.01oz) with 99.99% silver purity and Proof finish.
Its mintage was 8,498 units and the issue price was $99.95 CAD.

The second is a 2005 $5 CAD. It commemorates the "Centennial of the Province of Saskatchewan". It depicts a Western Meadowlark. It is interesting to note that the official bird of Saskatchewan is the Sharp-Tailed Grouse. Why did they chose the Western Meadowlark to put on the coin? I don't know...
The coin weights 25.2g (0.81oz) with 99.99% silver purity and Proof finish.
Its mintage was 20,000 units and the issue price was $49.95 CAD.

DSC_1886.JPG

DSC_1888.JPG

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

I go through the archives of RCM products at mint.ca andit is a huge repository of commemorative coins all right. I wonder how they stay in business producing capital intensive products for a small Canadian and Numismatic market. The Vancouver retail outlet closed a few years ago.

Did you see the prices that RCM charges those who buy these coins? It is a very high price, much much more expensive than the silver and the work needed to produce the coin. They have a extense list of people that buy everything they produce.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I you would not have told me the animal in the first coin, I am not sure I would have guessed it, but I sure see it now! Haha!

There is something nice to coins that exhibit wildlife and nature on them. Great coins @ronaldoavelino!

Thank you. I am now in Canada, with my daughter, and I bought many beautiful Canadian coins. They will be shown very soon.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you for the upvote.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Thank you ronaldoavelino! You've just received an upvote of 80% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you for the upvote.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

It is really interesting this change of birds in the Saskatchewan coin.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I don`t know why they did it. I searched in several sources of information but I received no explanation.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Loading...

You got a 44.85% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @ronaldoavelino! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82