# 579 - 1976 Olympic Coins - Part 6

In 1976 Montreal, Quebec, hosted the XXI Summer Olympiad.

To commemorate and help finance Canada's first Olympics, the federal government agreed to produce a series of 28 silver and 2 gold coins.

There are seven series of silver coins. Each series has two $5 CAD and two $10 CAD, making a total of 14 coins of each denomination. Each series depicts different Olympic themes on the reverse and has a common design (except for the date) on the obverse.

The Olympic coins were offered to the collectors in two finishes, Brilliant Uncirculated and Proof.

I wrote a few articles about the proof coins that I have and now I will show the Brilliant Uncirculated series that I have.

All the coins have a 92,5% silver purity (7,5% copper) and the $5 CAD weights 24.3g and the $10 CAD weights 48.6g.

The series IV has the theme "Track and Field Sports".

20190928_203123.jpg

20191002_204331.jpg

The sixth coin is a 1975 $5 CAD designed by Leo Yerxa, winner of an invitational competition, and its name is "Marathon".
The reverse shows a Canadian First Nation running, wearing a loincloth and moccasins.
Its issue price was $8.00 CAD.

20191002_205532.jpg

The obverse shows the effigy of Queen Elizabeth II facing right, designed by Arnold Machin.

20190928_204105.jpg

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

sport coin is very good
!trdo

Congratulations @cloudblade, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @ronaldoavelino!
@ronaldoavelino got 0.20113200 TRDO & @cloudblade got 0.13408800 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

  • Thanks to everyone who continues to participate in SteemCoinPan community.
  • From Oct 15, 2019, we will provide SCT rewards for postings published on SteemCoinPan.
  • You won't get SCT rewards at all if you create a posting on other Steem Dapps after Oct 15, 2019.

Thank you ronaldoavelino! You've just received an upvote of 14% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you for the upvote.

I got myself my first gold 1-ounce gold sometime ago. It was a feat getting that thing. I shared it yesterday. I know that you have never come to my blog ever, but I do want to share that with you.

I always go to your blog. What I have not done is commenting on all the blogs that I visit. I need a 30 hours day...:=)

Hi, @ronaldoavelino!

You just got a 17.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you for the upvote.

Congratulations @ronaldoavelino! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you for the upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71