A Very Nice Surprise.....

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon everyone.....

I had a bunch of running around to do this morning now that I have my truck back. One of them was to bring some firewood to my wife’s uncle Spyro (her godfather). I’ve had the wood for quite a while now but didn’t have the time to get it over there.

I made him my last stop since I knew that it wasn’t going to be a quick visit. With Greeks it’s never a short visit.......

I backed into the driveway getting as close as I could to the area he stores the wood at. I was about half way done before Spyro came out, I’m glad because I really didn’t want an 82 year old overdoing it which he would’ve done since I was there.

I had roughly 40 pieces left to unload and asked if he needed any inside. He looked at what I had remaining and said that will all fit on the porch. So I pulled forward and waited for him to unlock the door.

After loading the porch up with the rest of the wood, he naturally wanted me to come in and stay for a bit. Well that bit was almost two hours.

Because it was just the two of us he brought out some of his Johnson Matthey collection to share with me. Since he knows I’m a collector/stacker. The stuff he brought out today he had never shown me before. All I had ever seen was his one ounce bar and round collection.

Well today was an amazing treat if you like vintage old hand poured bars. He must’ve brought out 20 different boxes, none of them were very big maybe about the size of a small woman’s shoe box at most. But what was inside was totally amazing.

He has some extremely rare bars that had mintages of under 500 and 100. Cool odd weights, plus two ounce, three ounce, five ounce, ten ounce, half kilo and kilo bars. I asked if I could take a few photos, but he said I’d rather you don’t. Sorry folks I’m not arguing with an 82 year old Greek.

He then asked me to help him bring them back to the safe. I stacked them up and put them on his desk next to the safe. He then said I want you to have something.

He handed me a flip with a piece of white cardboard covering what was inside. He said this is one of my doubles that I’d like you to have.

9E8F8F57-36A1-4634-AFF2-7A1297A94FF9.jpeg

I flipped it open.......

In the flip was this gorgeous Wilmington Trust Round. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and looks like it was just minted. It’s iver 19 years old and is still as shiny as the day it was struck.

I just did a quick search on eBay of them and they have quite a premium to them. Aside from the outstanding detail on the round it is also a Johnson Matthey product. They are selling between $28 to $36 is what I saw as sold listings. The condition determined the price for sure. The two that went for the highest dollars were in worse condition then this one, so this ounce of silver is probably worth about $40.

Now look at this beauty....

64420900-5898-49F7-A0C2-375027D38BDE.jpeg

ADF2FD80-66D9-42B5-AE05-BFBCC5B996F5.jpeg

Now I need to order some more air-tites to put this in a proper holder.

Hope you enjoyed this post....

Thanks for stopping by.
0110AC13-C0B6-400B-B032-DF5CAAA5E8CA.jpeg

Sort:  

Gotta’ love a wily old stacker 😁👍

Ive known him for 26 years now and never knew about his bars until last year when i showed him one of the ten ounce. Queens beast coins. Go figure

That’s why he still has ‘em probably 😜

Cool story, maybe that'll be us one day.

I dont really have many vintage barz or rounds. So it wont be me.

That is a really interesting coin SD510! It is in great shape and has a cool design.

Oh my... an amazing treat, indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88