What’s better then.....

Evening friends.....

So you’re probably wondering from the title and the picture what this post is about...

Well I’ve been going back and forth with one of my old forum friends for a trade now for over two months.

He is still a very serious coin collector with an extremely gorgeous and eye popping collection. He has already completed an entire US coinage type set which by itself is an extremely challenging task. But not only has he completed it, his lowest grade coin is an XF. Now that is majorly impressive.

So onto the trade....

He is currently trying to complete a BU set of Washington Quarters. I started this series a while back, but gave up on it because the prices started getting ridiculous. So he sent me an email asking what dates and grades I had.

Initially we were going to do a trade coins for coins, but he didn’t have any of the remaining dates that I needed for my Morgan Silver Dollar series. So he offered up some old Johnson Matthey bars. It took a while to agree on what coins for the bars. But today we came to one.

So to answer the question from my title......

What’s better then.....one Johnson Matthey bar? Two Johnson Matthey bars.....

F2F987CA-D0EE-42AB-BEE2-6A0ABFBE798F.jpeg

793FE60E-B32E-4BEF-9473-6C2D59819932.jpeg

5B310C70-3A8B-41F5-AC55-97863B27F576.jpeg

AFFD20D7-79D3-478A-8EC4-E3CAFD8BAE2C.jpeg

C54729EA-B3E8-4227-AE78-EF888C198F4C.jpeg

D06EA7FA-ED9C-4B0B-B25A-F473F654EF57.jpeg

They are out of the original sealed pouches, but as you can see from the photos they look fantastic. All in all, I think it was a fair trade for both of us. He got the coins he wanted, and I got two very cool vintage Johnson Matthey bars.

Thanks for stopping by.....

97526B52-AE02-42DD-B1F2-C0A46F42E7F3.png

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from the CryptoSicko Delegation Bot. Thank you for supporting and helping to build me

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Those are some great looking JM Bars. I want to put together a coin type book also. I have one, just haven't paid much attention to it recently.

That’s a major task and if completely is a great achievement. Problem for me is I’m kind of a coin snob, if the coin isn’t in great shape I don’t want it in my collection. I like beautiful coins.

I usually fill all the holes then go back and upgrade as I find better condition coins.

A complete US coinage type set is 747 coins currently. To amass that set is an absolutely amazing accomplishment and a very costly one as well. My friend probably spent in the area of $200K making that set.

I know the books. But that’s not really a type set of US coins. That’s like s subset of sub sets.

Nice trade, them twins are very sexy!

Thanks bro, the coins weren’t doing me any good since I gave up on completing the series.

Yes, indeed... two is better than one! Those are very nice JM bars. CONGRATS... what a great trade, bestie!

Thanks bestie. No use keeping coins if you’re not going to ever try and finish the series. I’d just keep on to have, but I still have several still.

Which quarters did you end up giving him? Sorry, I don't know much about them. At least not why a regular quarter would be worth 20 ounces. :)

Nice deal for you though! The bars look awesome!

I gave him a 1937, 1938, and a 1962 MS65 PCGS graded Washington Quarters. That books around $360

This is the best silver to stack up!!!👊

Your Engelhards are the best to stack.....but thank Johnson Matthey are second though.

Can't stack poured Engelhard like you can with those JM bar's. Pile them up while you can🤜🤛

Oh nice, Beats my pair of One Ounce JM bars 10 to 1.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85