Interesting discovery

Here is a interesting post for the Engelhard enthusiasts! All the buying and hawking over the years eventually turns up some pretty interesting discoveries.

I have always been a huge fan of the infamous Toz series manufactured by Engelhard. Overall, it is a very popular series amongst collectors. Allengelhard.com has done an amazing job documenting the serial number ranges for each series. That information helps collectors discover unique anomalies with in the series. Check this one out..

image
image

The top ingot in this photo is a 4th Series in 5-digit variation. The bottom ingot is a 5th Series in 5-digit variation. Below is the listing on allengelhard.com showing the serial ranges for each series.
image
image

It is very clear that the 4th series ingots serial number comes after the 5th Series in the photo. That goes against the documented recordings. Serial numbers should not have cross over like this between series. Typically one series serial number ends and the next starts. It's also amazing to see two different series Engelhard ingots that are only 2 serial numbers apart! I have only ever seen one consecutive pair of Engelhard ingots that were a different series. They were also weight classes!

These kinds of discoveries are what push me to grow as a collector. Serial numbers and ranges play a major part in estimating mintages as well as understanding production methods. It's great to be able to provide exclusive information to help develop Allengelhard.com. I encourage anyone to email questions and photos to the website. They usually respond with in 7 days with knowledge you wouldn't believe.

I hope this article was helpful! If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on IG: collectbulliondotcom

Cheers!

Sort:  

I tried posting a reply several times... so if this is a duplicate, I apologize. Your article is very interesting. I will be interested seeing your full stack of bars or partial collection! Thank you for your post. I learned something new about Engelhard bars!

Glad you enjoyed the article @silversaver888. It took me a long time to learn how to use these resources. As well as understand what they even are! If I can pass this info on them I am satisfied!

Interesting article. Every day I learn something and that is very good...

Learning something new everyday is the key to success. As long as one remains teachable👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13