Manchester, NH Coin Show Trip! ๐Ÿ‘€ Part II ๐Ÿ‘€

in #steemsilvergold โ€ข 5 years ago

Here is a follow up article to my Manchester, NH coin show acquisitions. A highlight of the trip can be seen in the second half of this article.

It is no secret that I have developed an interest in ancient coins. My journey this far has helped me figure out where I want to be in the future. As well as what it's going to take to get there.

The top of my list for the last couple months: Julius Caesar! Due to the deep history behind his name. Anything Caesar is highly collectible. Making them very hard to aquire

image
image

Roman Imperators - Julius Caesar (49-44 BC) AR Denarius, Military mint travelling with Caesar, c. 49-48 BC. Elephant advancing right, trampling on serpent; CAESAR in exergue / Emblems of the pontificate: simpulum, aspergillum, securis and apex. AR silver, 18/17mm, 4.16gm

The strike is obviously off center. BUT I really like the style and appearance of this coin. It is not super cleaned. The majority of the elephant is visible. After speaking with the dealer. He disclosed this coin came from a famous collection. It happened to be his best friend. He bought this coin from his friend in 1999. Shortly before his friend passed away. He has owned it for 20yrs. He actually looked very bothered after I mentioned I wanted to buy it. It's tough to let sentimental items go..

I would have never found this coin had I not of started a meaningless conversation with a random dealer. It's been very exciting finally aquiring a coin that was on the top of my list.

THIS WAS MY BEST FIND AT THE COINSHOW!

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ
A couple weeks ago I saw that a few long time acquaintances on Instagram were attending a coin show in driving distance of me. With work has been very busy for me lately. It was then I decided it was worth taking a trip to the show. Doing It the right way though! Head there for the first day! When there is still a small shot for the good stuff..

It was just under two hours for me to get there today. I actually enjoyed the ride to be honest. Always exciting stepping in the room for the first time. It was actually a pretty big show!

There Is a level of therapy that I truly enjoy. When you are just in your head. No outside worries, just focusing on finding some treasure. I didn't have a legendary day in finds today. However, I left satisfied. I'm going to do a couple follow up posts to this. Where I will highlight the items I purchased. .

This was one of the better items of the day. NOT the best though. This is a 10 Tael Vietnamese Lang Bar. You will notice the arch in middle of the bar. Almost like a boat where is bows out in the middle. Most of the Lang ingots test around .991 fine silver. Casted from Spanish American 8 Reales and Indian Rupees. They were produced in the early 1800s up until World War II. I have been looking for a nice example for about six months. I liked this one because of the oriental script down the middle. It also demonstrates nice patina. The eye appeal is there for me.
image
image
image
image

I look forward to sharing a couple more items. @silversaver888 I thought of you! I came across a 5 bar 3oz pressed WH Foster set. Which included the one you highlighted here recently. He was asking $100 for each bar. $500 for the set. For your records..๐Ÿ‘

I published this article using the ESTEEM app on my android mobile device. Quick and easy!

Follow me on Instagram: @collectbulliondotcom

image
image

Sort: ย 

Amazing finds, @silveringots! Someday, I will have achieved my desired size of silver and gold stack and will have the luxury of buying high premium silver... I am at awe with your collection of vintage and rare silver bars and now... ancient coins! How inspiring!!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @silversaver888! As you know, once your commited to stacking. It builds fast! You can get to that desired point a lot faster than you think. I'm never satisfied, but being 32 years old. I am grateful for where I am at. .โœŒ

You got some nice finds there, man! That's some good looking silver. I haven't been to a coin show yet, but it's on my list of things to do at some point.

Thanks! Do yourself a favor and show up to one. At worst, you will meet some good contacts and learn something new! Cheers brother

Ok. First, unbelievable silver examples. Second, I know exactly what you mean when you get in the treasure hunter zone. Every weekend I get there. Keep posting that incredible silver buddy, I'm stacking vicariously through your posts!

Thanks man! The treasure hunting zone is very peaceful. Quiets the mind for me anyways. Keep stacking it up โœŒ

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89