The Irrawaddy Counting House At Rangoon- The Future?steemCreated with Sketch.

The goal in any investment is to beat the trend by getting in early. This same perspective carries over into the vintage collectible silver market. I am constantly on the look out for what could be the next big bar! The demand always justifies the value!

I have written a couple articles here that discuss many of the factors that make silver ingots collectable. This article is going to present a silver ingot that I BELIEVE is under valued. Currently, these ingots are not on majority of the collectors radar. I have seen these situations play out many times. All it takes is ONE public auction or recorded sale to change the value immediately! It has taken me a long time to learn some the knowledge it takes to beat the trends.

Pictured below is The Irrawaddy Counting House At Rangoon 5 Taels silver ingot. .
image
image

The obvious stand out factor here is the weight measured in taels. 5 taels is equal to 6.6667 ounces. Chinese and East Asia recognize measurements in taels. It is not common to see this measurement here in the US.

I personally feel as though the signature circular hallmark is very appealing to the eye. This circular hallmark reminds me a lot of the US Mint San Francisco ingots. Not only does the hallmark share the same style hallmark. The physical size and shape of the ingot does as well. Both are square and blocky. Majority of the SF ingots are in the 5oz weight class. Similar to the Irrawaddy ingots.

The information I have gathered shows the production date ranging from the 1950-1970s. That seems to be the golden error for collectors right now!

My research has also shows that there are many different varieties. The photos below demonstrate all the examples I have been able to uncover.

image
Notice inside the circular hallmark one each side. There is a star on one bar and an anchor on the other

image
**This example demonstrates a weight measurement in "Burman Rupees". Which is not a common weight measurement. It also hows a .900 purity stamp. It has been documented that there is a .925 and .998 purity stamp as well. The ingot I own at the top of this article demonstrates the .999 purity. Totaling four different purity stamps!

image
An Irrawaddy Counting House ingot in a horizontal landscape

Some are subtle differences while others are significant. BUT that is was pushes collectors towards collecting pieces like this. Having several variations creates a demand. Some of the variations are more common than others.

I hope this article was successful in helping someone understand the factors that come into play when determining collectability and value. I want to make it clear! I am not a financial advisor and this is not financial advice. I am only speaking out of experience and sharing my personal opinions.

If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom
Thanks to @marynessc for the cool banners!

image
image

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by collectcryptodotcom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @silveringots! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Another Fine Specimen @silveringots

Thanks @stokjockey! I have my eye on these right now...

@stokjockey 3 Steem headed your way. Appreciate your support in the game for ROUND 2!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I should have assumed that not all silver was measured in (troy) ounces. That's a nice piece. I'll bet they carry a considerable premium, but if you're on the selling side, that's a really good thing.

@themanwithnoname Yes they do carry a premium. Not as considerable as you may thing. Recent eBay auction one sold for $250. This is why I feel they are significantly under valued. I mean that's less then I paid for the #4 pair of steemit rounds yest😅.

That's not as much as I was thinking. Makes sense that you were consider them undervalued.

I saw that you won that quick auction! Congrats on that! :) Now you've got the rights to #4 for as long as you so choose to buy them.

@themanwithnoname Wow! Somehow I missed the fact it came with first rights to #4! Holy shit! I just wanted the set and got carried away. Now I can convince myself it was worth it!😅.

To touch on the undervalued aspect of the Irrawaddy ingots. I just found info that these are linked directly to John J Ford Jr. I will share that in an article soon. Everything else that's part of that error is $1500+. I believe these will get to that level. SOON.

Yeah, that's my understanding. Whoever holds the number gets the rights to it the next year. I think 1-100 get it for free. If you want to select another specific number, then you had to pay $2 the last time around.

Didn't you get a pit bullion #4 as well?

That's awesome about the value! You're going to cash in if you want to. :)

You are a fountain of knowledge.

Appreciate that @ronaldoavelino. You have been following my posts since the very begining! You've got to be pretty informed by now!! Waiting for your message to tell me you've purchased an ingot😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73