The Eisenhower Dollars: 1971 - 1976

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

The "Ike Dollar" was the first dollar coin produced after the last of the Peace Dollars were struck in 1935.

It was a long haitus of 36 years before new legislation to create a new dollar coin was introduced in October 1969 after the Coinage Act of 1965 eliminated the silver content from circulating US coins and forbid the minting of silver dollars.

Eisenhower Silver Dollars, 1971 - 1976, BU


 
Please use the slider to view photos of the the Ike Silver Dollar coin collection taken by @silversaver888

The obverse depicts a profile bust of Eisenhower with inscriptions “Liberty”, “In God We Trust”, and the date.
All Eishenhower Dollars 1971 to 1976 bore the same obverse.
The reverse design featured a bald eagle landing on the surface of the moon, carrying an olive branch, with the Earth visible in the background from space for Ike Dollars 1971 through 1974 designed by Frank Gasparro.

Source

All of the silver "Ike" coins were minted at the San Francisco Mint in 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974 and 1976. These coins were either uncirculated or proof.

Uncirculated Ike coins came sealed in a cellophane with a blue plastic token in a blue envelope.

The Uncirculated coins referred to as the "blue Ikes" and the silver proof as "brown Ikes".



The Ike coins minted in 1975 and 1976 for the Bicentennial came with a silver Washington Quarter and a silver John F Kennedy half dollar for that year.


The reverse of the coin design which was based on the mission insignia from the Apollo 11 space flight was determined to be particularly appropriate by Congress since the space program began under Eisenhower’s administration.

The legislation to create a new dollar circulating coin in October 1969 commemorates former President and Five Star General Dwight D. Eisenhower who had died earlier that year and the Apollo 11 space flight, which marked man’s first steps on the moon.

Thank you for viewing this article. I hope to see you again soon!
@silversaver888

Sort:  

@silversaver fantastic post my friend. I really like both reverses but prefer the eagle landing on the moons surface. There is just a certain sentiment to it that really captures the idea that in America anything is possible. I really love it! The only Ike I own is a brown Ike that the awesome Silver Cat on Youtube sent to me as a gift. Truly a special coin and awesome post! Thanks and have an amazing 4th!!

I will start the brown Ike collection very soon. Hopefully, they are not hard to find nor too expensive to buy. Have a safe 4th of July, my friend!

As far as I know they are in the 20 to 25 range I think. Have a very blessed and Happy Independence Day my friend!!

I just got my first silver Eisenhower Dollar and I really like it. I had a bunch of the non-silver, but they're not as cool.

Thanks for sharing about your collection of them!

I keep all my circulating cupro-nickel Ikes as well. I love them because of their size. They don't mint large US coins anymore.

I have a number of them that I saved as well. I always thought they were worth more than $1, but even if they're not silver, I like the size and design.

love the IKE

Me too, @Corndogg42. It is a good collection to have. I even keep my cupro-nickel Ikes because I love their size. The last US large dollar.

Nice! I think I have over a hundred of the non silver ones, with a good pile of the 1976's. Awesome post sweetie! See you again soon my SSFL👊💗

I think that even the cupro nickel Ikes are great to have. The other circulating US Dollars are just not the same. The Susan B Anthony is too tiny for my taste to keep, LOL! And so like you and lots of Ike Dollars. I save my $1 not is paper bills but in Ike Dollars plus, I keep all JFK halves that I come across. I love the Ikes because of their size. They are the last large dollar coin, and they have stopped minting them. Take care, I will see you again, my SSFL👊💗

@silversaver888 I actually bought some of the Brown Box Proof Ikes from the US Mint directly, back in the Day..........

Proof Ikes... I think I should get those next.

I like Ike! I have a few slabbed silver proofs, but not all. One day I will complete the silver proof collection...

I think that I, too, will start completing the brown Ikes. It is the last large circulating US dollar. We have the Susan B Anthony which is a tiny dollar. I keep all my cupro-nickel Ikes as well to save $1, instead of paper dollars.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for your continued support, @ssg-community!

Never been a big fan of the Ike dollar my friend. I do carry one as a pocket piece because of a friend that passed, but that’s all I own.

I suppose it is the design that you don't care for? Hahahaha, instead of saving $1 notes, I save the circulating Ike Dollars because they are the last circulating large dollar coin. Happy fourth, my friend!

Great info Saver...i didn’t know about these!
😁👍

I am so glad to be able to show you something old but new to you, my friend! Cheers!

Cheers Saver!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21