Vintage Seated Liberty Silver Bullion Art Round

Vintage Seated Liberty 1 troy oz .999 Fine Silver Bullion Art Round

 
Use the slider to view front and back of the silver round.

The obverse design of this vintage round is a beautiful replica and tribute to the Seated Liberty Dollar.

The Seated Liberty dollar were struck by the United States Mint from 1840 to 1873. It was the last Silver coin of that denomination to be struck before the passage of the Coinage Act of 1873, which temporarily ended production of the Silver dollar for American commerce.

The obverse of the Seated Liberty Dollar coin was designed by the Mint's chief engraver, Christian Gobrecht based on the Gobrecht dollar, which had been minted experimentally from 1836 to 1839.

The soaring eagle on the reverse of the Gobrecht dollar was not used on the Seated Liberty dollar, instead, a heraldic eagle was placed.

Information source: Numismatic Guaranty Corporation (NGC)

The following is an excerpt of an article about the Gobrecht dollar:
Read the full article here.

Did you know about the Gobrecht dollar previous to this article? Please let me know in your comments below. Thank you for viewing this article. I hope to see you again soon! @silversaver888


Sort:  

Most awesome of rounds love it

Thank you, @corndogg42. Actually, I really like these rounds. I like the wreath design at the back! You are FIRST, once again, my friend. I appreciate you. Take care.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you, @ssg-community, for your continued support!

I like these too and I pick them up whenever I find them.

Vintage silver rounds and bars come with high premiums because I have to get them online, ebay most often. There are no large coin shops here where they have a junk bin to hopefully pick some bargains. So I really take the time to chose the design I like. And I like the classic designs, and you seem to like those too! Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. Take care.

Answering your question: yes, I knew about the Gobrecht dollar. Although more focused on the commemoratives, I have a reasonable library about circulating American numismatics.

There is so much to learn about American coinage! It fascinates me to no end!!! The commemorative coins, the old ones most especially, are very special coins. There are lots of modern commemorative coins now. I am sometimes tempted to subscribe to that series from the US Mint, but I will never do it. It is not my focus. I am sure you know Salivate Metal. He is subscribed to that program for many years, and he has an extensive collection of modern commemoratives.

Another oz to the stack

A small-time stacker here, my friend. Thanks for leaving a comment! I appreciate it.

I like the design on the back of that one. Thanks for showing it off. 👍🏻

I like the reverse of yours better!!!

Sweet addition to the stack cungita! Very classic design

Just like what we say:
build wealth an ounce at a time.
This is the long game.

@silversaver888 I saw a couple of Gobrecht Dollars in hand when I was a kid............

I didn't know about the Gobrecht Dollars at all until about two months ago. Let's get some more great silver, my friend! I enjoyed our project very much! In fact, after I show my winnings, I am going to write about the silver you picked-up for me. I have not shown it yet!

@sivlersaver888 I really like the seated Liberty design as a whole. I think it reminds me of cartwheel pennies from across the pond and has a more old world feel to it like Liberty should be Athena or another goddess. I believe it is only second to the Standing Liberty type 1 in my book.
The reverse of those rounds are very interesting and think it draws on the wreath from normal coinage and the bundle the eagle normally carries in his talons. The wreath includes corn also which I found really cool! Thanks for sharing my friend!!

Me too... I love all US silver dollar designs. It would be great if I can collect at least one of each. Perhaps I can add that to my goal next year!

This post has received a 4.33 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73