Nepal 1 Rupee KM# 828

The primary unit of money in Nepal is the Nepalese Rupee, which was established in 1932 to replace the former unit of currency, the silver Mohar. I think this is one of the prettiest and most intriguing coins ever minted by a government. The design itself is lovely, resembling a mandala, with fascinating geometry. The writing on the coin is executed in the beautiful Devanagari script, which only adds to the artistry of the coin.

So beautiful is the Nepalese Rupee, that an artist who works with pretty world coins made this one into a necklace, which I have.

Rupeeduo1.png
• PHOTO BY CoinedJewelry

This coin was minted in the Nepalese year २०३६ (2036, reckoned by the Vikram Samvat calendar) which corresponds to 1979 in the Gregorian Calendar of the Western world. Since the deity Shiva is considered the guardian of the realm, a trishula is depicted on the obverse (front) of the coin, within the mandala. It is predominately this trishula and the mandala surrounding it that attracted me to this lovely coin.

Within the mandala is lettering that mentions His Highness, Birendra Bir Bikram Shah, who was King during the time this coin was minted. He was the eldest son of King Mahendra, who was the ruler named on the 2-Paisa coin previously mentioned in my blog. Part of the Nepalaese wording reads: "म शाहदे व" (I am honored), so I am thinking His Majesty placed this message on the coin, stating that he was honored to serve the people in his position.

Rupeeduo2.png
• PHOTO BY CoinedJewelry

On the reverse of the coin, a dagger is shown. The wording includes: श्री श्री श्री गो र ख ना थ (Shree Shree Shree Gorkhanath, a reference to Shiva) stamped in an arc around the coin, श्री भवानी (a reference to Goddess Bhavani), एक रुपैयाँ ("Ek Rupaiya" = One Rupee), and नेपाल (Nepal). The rim is beautifully beaded, and the edge is reeded for a lovely finishing touch.

At current exchange rates (Nov-2018), one Nepalese Rupee (NPR) is equal to 0.0086 USD, so 117 of them would equal USD $1.

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 Numista.com: 1 Rupee - Birendra Bir Bikram
   2 Wikipedia: Nepalese Rupee

TKG-PinkFooter.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for the resteem! 😊

That reminds me, I must go to Nepal soon

I’d love to go to Wales. 😜

@wales & @teamawesome ~ I'd love to see Nepal some day, and Wales, too!

Ohhh you actually have this on you right now? The designs reminded me of the drawings on ancient pyramid walls. To think that the King also mentioned it was an honour to serve his people, much humble.

Yes, I am actually wearing it right now! 😁
And I do wish our current leaders would be so humble as King Birendra!

Very cool to see the designs and written language from Nepal. It really is a gorgeous coin — and one i have never seen before 😁👍

I love that Devanagari script; it is so cool! Thanks for the comment & upvote! 😊

I was also minted in the Nepalese year 2036, then. 😜

Very cool coin and very creative idea to make jewelry out of it. It makes currency more useful. 😂

It was a good year, then, because my son was also minted that same year..
I'd never looked at it that way! 😂 LOL!

Not sure I would have made a necklace out of one, but then again I almost bought a Tennessee quarter guitar pick😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, what an interesting idea for a guitar pick! LOL!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

howdy there thekittygirl! this is such an educational and informative post! I had no idea this coin was so cool looking and impressive, it truly is a work of art!

Oh! This was so beautiful! I cannot believe that it is worth next to nothing for such an extravagant looking coin!

I'll take a half dozen!

Tip!

I know! As pretty as it is, it definitely should be worth more! Thanks for the comment and for the lovely tip you sent! 😊

Hi @thekittygirl! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05