Bigger and Better... also Imaginary

A while ago at the LCS I saw a coin that was bigger than any I had seen before. As I've only been collecting coins for a short while that's not surprising. What I saw ended up being one of the America the Beautiful series of coins.

The ATB coins are minted by the US government and are 5 troy ounces of silver each. Some of the coins are colorized, but I prefer the unadulterated silver ones. At this point the largest coin I have is a 1.5 ounce coin that I really like, but I can only imagine what it would be like to own the 5 oz coin. It was priced at $155 and that's a rather large premium for where I'm at.


JMBullion

I have been looking at the 2018 Apostle Islands coin as it's one of the cheaper ones for sale right now. JMBullion has it priced around $104 right now, but I haven't set up with them, so if I paid with a credit card, it would be just shy of $108. Although that's not terrible, I'd still like to get it for around $100 out the door. If anyone knows a reputable dealer where I could get any of the America the Beautiful coins for around this price, I'd love to know.

- What coin do you have your eyes on?

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

What a beaut. I've sailed and swam in the Apostle islands, many years ago. Highly recommend visiting there.

I like kayaking. I like water. I like silver. I like coins. It seems like it's going to be a good fit one day. If I get the chance to go, I'd like to check it out! Thanks for the recommendation. :)

Beware: Lake Superior is insanely cold, even in summer.

That keeps out the casuals, though!

I grew up swimming in really cold water, well, pretty much any water I could find, so I'm fairly used to it. Then again, I don't have all the padding I used to. Ha ha. It's a good warning though. I wouldn't want to get caught out there expecting it to be warm and then find I was getting hypothermia. That would be less than ideal.

What do I have my unpatched eye on, I'm kind of partial to Gothic and Pirate themed coins and rounds. An example is kind of difficult finding a Silver Bugs rounds retailer in Canada and almost all of these have to be imported at a steep cost to me. Some Nuies are way out of the ball park, and any El Cazadors and Atochias are a dream at the moment.

Sometimes the search adds to the excitement of the journey. I hope you're able to get some, although I know they can be expensive sometimes. Something to look forward to, I guess. Thanks for sharing your dream rounds. :)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

https://boldpreciousmetals.com/product/2018-silver-5-oz-america-the-beautiful-apostle-islands-np-wisconsin/

You can pay with electronic check. $104.50 out the door.

Thanks for your help with the raffle numbers yesterday! ☺️

Bold has great customer service.

Thanks for the tip. You've got some great customer service as well! :)

You're welcome, I'm glad to help. And congratulations!! Glad you could be a part of it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70