Coin of the Day 9-15-18steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I've really been enjoying the opportunity to show off the coins and tokens that I've been writing about. It's fun to learn about the history of the items, and the history of the scenes they might depict. Today we're going for a little change of pace though. We're heading back to silver territory.

I was able to get a little extra fiat, and even though there are many things I could have or should have spent the money on, I went with my old mainstay, silver.

I was in the local coin store and saw that they had some sheets of Johnson Matthey 1 ounce silver bars. I didn't have enough to buy all of them, but I did want to keep some of the bars together. @silveringots had talked previously about the pleasure of reuniting sequential bars, so I thought I would do my part to keep these two bars together.

image.png

Here we have bar # C316874

image.png

And this is its twin bar # C316875

image.png

They have the standard JM pattern on the back.

image.png

Although these ones were never separated, it's still fun for me to see the sequential bars and think about how they came off the production line together, and then were packaged together. I'm not sure why the sheet wasn't divided, but I'm glad to have gotten two bars that are sequential. Even if they're not rare or reunited, it's still cool to me.

Do you have any sequential bars or rounds?



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

ha! super cool sir Blondie, super cool. I like those bars. gold would be better but silver is good.

I'll try to get some gold for you to look at. It might take quite a while, so don't hold your breath. I'm just saying.

sir noname! so you don't collect any gold? At this point? I didn't know that but I'm sure it won't be long.

No, I don't have sequentials. I am mostly a collector of coins, so the bars/rounds that I have are purely bullion and very common ones.

I do remember mainly seeing coins from you and they aren't normally serialized. Even if something is a bar or a round, that doesn't mean that it's serialized. It's something that I wish they'd do more often, but as it adds to the cost, many choose not to.

I have a run of 5 JM sequential bars. But you can never have enough. Great pick up👍

That's a good run! I did feel a little guilty because they had a bunch of them all in strips. I didn't want to take these away from their friends, but not all of them were in sequence. There were some missing so I didn't feel too bad. I'm definitely going to be on the lookout for more of these.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I have a couple of very old (big box style) JM bars that are sequentials with very low numbers... i’ll try to fish ‘em out from my hidey hole 🤘🤩

Dang, man! 812 and 813?! You are a baller, aren't you? When you said low, I didn't think it would be that low. I apologize. I should have known better. :D

Lofl! I was amazed right off my ass when i found them...it was only a few months ago, and i found them at a “we buy your gold” spot. Got them for the same price as any old generic, and nearly shat my pants right then and there when i saw they were sequentials... think i may do a post about ‘em, but glad you like. Cheers mnn!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73