Silver Mint History (A fictional retelling)

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I posted about a silver bar that I got with an Eagle design that didn’t have mint markings. As I haven’t been able to ascertain the bar’s origin, I asked if anyone else knew. No one has said they know as of this post, so when @glenalbrethsen said he was considering making one up, I thought I’d beat him to the punch. So here’s my totally fictional story of the round and why there’s no mint marking.

200 Year Anniversary Round

The year was 1966 and Silas T. Young had just made a big life-changing decision. He had seen the old gas station on the corner of 5th and Waxton for sale and had jumped at the opportunity. When he bought the building, he wasn't even sure what he would do with it, but as it was a good location and a fair price, he wanted to take a chance at working for himself.


Source

After telling his boss at the sawmill that he was going to be leaving, Silas went about updating the building. He redid the roof as it leaked in places, and remodeled the inside to have more open space. What really changed the course of his life was when he ran into an old friend who had bought the rights to a silver mine. The friend, Daniel Waters was looking for a way to sell the silver that his crews were going to be mining out of the ground. Then Silas got the idea to open a private mint and manufacture silver rounds and sell them on the market.

Thus Young's Silver Co was born. Silas poured all his money into the new business and through his hard work and the constant stream of silver from Daniel Waters’ mine, business was good. Silas sold the rounds and bars his company made mainly through wholesale channels to small coin stores that sold to the public.

After 10 years of constant success and growth, Silas was looking to slow down and enjoy some time with his family. In 1976, he hired another friend, Jackson Whitehill to as manager to help run the business. Things went well for a while. Then Silas started noticing irregularities in some of the numbers when he’d check the books. He finally figured out that Jackson had gotten into gambling trouble and had been skimming silver from the company to pay his debts. He hadn’t stopped gambling either, and he kept losing so the debts grew.

Jackson had been planning on paying it back, but in a desperate bid to win his freedom, he borrowed all the silver that was in the shop as collateral for a final “sure thing” of a bet. The bet wasn’t a sure thing and Jackson lost. With the loss, he also lost any chance of redemption, and Silas’s business. Orders that had already been paid for were due, but there was no silver for completing the order.

Silas decided the only thing he could do was sell the building and land to get enough money to buy silver to complete the last orders. He sold everything and had almost enough money to complete the orders, but he needed just a bit more money. The only thing he had left to sell was his mint mark.
A newcomer to the minting game was looking to acquire a reputable brand and as no one knew that Young’s Silver Co had been compromised, it was still an attractive target for takeover. Silas had no other options, so he sold his brand and die which got him just enough money to complete the last order.

The last order off the line was the 1 ounce 200 Year Anniversary bars with a Walking Eagle on front. Because Silas had already sold the brand, the bars went out unmarked. There were only 30,000 of them made and most of them were immediately melted down and re-minted into other bars and rounds. It is estimated that only 500 of the bars remain in circulation today.

After closing Young’s Silver Co, Silas went on to join a partnership with Daniel Waters to open a department store and when they finally sold, they turned a huge profit!

Jackson Whitehill was seen leaving town shortly after the mint closed, but he was never seen in town again. Someone said they saw him in California, but seeing as I’m in South Carolina, they’re clearly just making up stories.


Source


I hope you enjoyed this little fictional history. I made it all up. All characters and names are fictional and any resemblance to persons real or imaginary was unintentional.


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Love it! I'd believe this to be true if you hadn't told me it was fiction :)

I read through the comments and am surprised you really couldn't find any "real" information on this piece too.

I didn't want people to actually believe it's true because if the names belonged to someone, or if there is a real story, I didn't want to step on any toes.

It's really strange to me that I haven't been able to find out any information on the bar other than what I can see on it's faces. I might have to keep digging. Or maybe I'll just write more stories about what it could have been.

A beautiful story for a beautiful bar! You have the knack to telling stories.

Thanks, @ronaldoavelino! I'm glad you liked the story. Thanks for your comment.

An excellent short story, my friend! Write more! And I like that bar VERY MUCH!

Thanks, @silversaver888! I'm glad you liked it. I had a series that I was writing on here, but it was a lot of work. The short story format might be more to my liking.

I'm glad you like the bar. I really do as well. :)

Dude! That was quick. Didn't take you long at all to turn this all out. I'm impressed. And a little sad that I didn't just go and write something too. Maybe I will. Nah. It's your bar and your story, and I think it turned out great. Historical and such.

Nice little twist there at the end, Jackson. Though, I don't know if you still have a gambling debt over your head if you want to be revealing your whereabouts to the blockchain. :)

Yeah, I was rather surprised myself. I just sat down and wrote it. I wasn't even sure where it was going when I started, I just went for it and made it up as I went along. I'm glad you liked the story. I wanted to keep it simple so people wouldn't be thinking too hard about it. It was just a simple case of a gambler losing the money.

I would still read your story if you chose to write one. There could be more than one version of how the thing went down. Then again, maybe someone knows the actual story. Ha ha.

You like that?! It just came to me as I was wrapping the story that the person telling it could be Jackson. If the narrator was the actual Jackson, he could be lying about South Carolina just to keep people off his tracks. Or maybe it's a double bluff and he IS in South Carolina! I guess we'll never know. :)

It would be nice to know the real story. I'm really surprised there's no information, since you would think a bicentennial silver bar would be somewhat of a big deal. I mean, don't you think it would be like a larger mint? Something the government would order? I don't know. I guess it could have been a smaller mint doing a decent sized job, but something just isn't adding up.

Normally the sellers have more details about that kind of thing, but they don't seem to have it. So, what's up with it?

I see. Double bluff. Gets them every time. :)

Yeah, I don't know why there isn't more information on it. It's really strange to me too. Oftentimes the websites selling them will have a little blurb on the piece, but I haven't seen one.

... or maybe it was a triple bluff! Heh

so you're in South Carolina?
man that was a great story, if you just made that up as you went along then you are truly gifted. .at something but not writing. just teasing it was super cool!

As I told Glen, it could be a bluff, double bluff, or even triple bluff. Heh

you are truly gifted. .at something but not writing.

Ha ha, good one! I like that. You zinged me good.

Glad you liked the story.

great... now we'll never know if that was a deliberate plant to throw us off
or you slipped up and you really are in South Carolina..uuhhhmmm
or you figured that we'd think you were just throwing us off because you're
too smart to slip up that bad so we wouldn't believe you so you really could
be there in S. Carolina!
Did you ever see The Princess Bride?

Do you really think that someone as experienced as Jackson Whitehill would inadvertently give away his position? Or maybe he's counting on people thinking that he wouldn't? SO he's not careful at all because people know he wouldn't actually give away his position.

Yes, I did see the Princess Bride. That's a good movie right there. :D

howdy back Blondie...well they say everyone makes mistakes so one can always hope..yeah remember that scene in The Princess Bride where that little short guy was sitting at that table with the main hero and the short guy was trying to figure out which cup had the poison in it?
lol that was funny.
did you post anything today or was that yesterday? or are you just laying around today recovering from your late night party last night with your imaginary friends.

Yep, that was a good scene. Unfortunately I can't just leave glasses of wine with iocane powder lying around. I'd feel terrible if a kid got into them. Terribly irresponsible. Ha ha.

I posted two things today. One this morning and one this afternoon.

I'd love to just lie around and recover, but I didn't party too late, so I don't think I deserve a day off to lounge around. Besides, most of the time I'd rather hang with my wife than friends (real or imaginary). She's quite the lady. :)

lol! thank you sir Blondie, I'm going over to see your stuff that you posted today.

Thanks, you've probably commented there by now, but I'm just going through my list of comments. :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87