Silver of the Day #17: Unboxing #2

I was feeling "unmotivated" (to be read: fat and happy after a good dinner) and wasn't sure I wanted to take pictures of some of the new stuff I got... then I remembered I got a package today. I hopped right off the couch and trekked out to the mailbox.

Good ol' @vgholdingsllc said he wanted to send me something else with my last care package, but it got held up. If you remember, he was the sender for my first Un-boxing ever!

Anyhow, he sent me out another package. I've been looking forward to it ever since and here it is!

image.png

I tore right into this before I remembered I should probably take a picture to show you all. So if it looks like it was already opened... let's just say if they had been putting silver in my presents growing up, I would have been a lot more excited to open them.

He included a note that was short and sweet. It seems that someone remembers I've been talking about getting some copper. Now I'm even more excited!

image.png

There it is, guys and gals, my first copper piece that isn't a penny! Life with VG has been a lot of "firsts" for me.

image.png

The other side of the round.

image.png

Another First

I wasn't sure what to expect when VG said that he was going to send me an Ike. I mean, surely he didn't mean a silver one? Yep, he did!

That's a 1971 Eisenhower Dollar with an "S" for the mint mark. And you guessed it, I didn't have one. This fills another gap in my rapidly-growing collection. I have other Ike Dollars, but none that were silver.

image.png

The Reverse
image.png

@welshstacker was talking about how SSG is a community and we look after each other, well this is just another example of that. Trading with @vgholdingsllc was a great experience for me and I love all the coins that he sent me. Thanks for all the goodies, buddy!

If you don't know @vgholdingsllc or haven't checked out his blog recently, head over there and look at his most recent post about Mexican 8 Reale Chopped Coin

Thanks for checking out my second un-boxing post ever. It was fun to do and I hope you enjoyed getting to see it.

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Good to see it made it and you're happy. I just got back to civilization and have internet again. lol

Yep, I got it and I'm really happy with it! :D

You have a good trip?!

You know it. Just made a post about some of it.

Sweet, I'll have to get over there and check it out!

Nice Ike, i like the copper round. Your collection and silver itch is growing. Lol

Thanks! I was thrilled to get both of them. VG is great!

Your collection and silver itch is growing.

Yep, it's on my mind a lot. Hard to get away from it. I guess that's how you know it's working. Ha ha.

If you are a junk silver lover, these copper rounds have the same effect after the fiat debacle.

I do like "junk" silver and I like copper, so I'm glad you think they'll do well in times where fiat isn't holding value.

what the??? who is this vgholdingsllc guy and how do I get on his mailing list? lol.

howdy there Blondie, this has been a pretty good day for you hasn't it? not bad..I didn't even know they made copper rounds, that's how unknowledgeable I am about stuff.
hey did you see my post about that auction site? there were so many coins coming and going on that thing I was surprised, it could almost be a coin shop.

He's another guy in the steemsilvergold community. We made a trade. I gave him SBD and he sent me silver. I imagine you could get the same kind of deal if you wanted. ;)

It was a good day. I also did some shopping locally, so overall added a statistically-significant amount of shiny to the stack for the day.

I hadn't planned on getting rounds. I was more thinking about getting kilo bars or something, but they're harder to find than the rounds. I'm going to be digging more into which ones might be good investments for me.

I missed your post on the auction site. I'll have to take a look. Thanks for pointing it out.

"I can't get to everything, but if you shove it in my face, I'm more likely to look at it."
-themanwithnoname

lol! yes sir lots of us need to have stuff shoved in our faces for us to notice!
I miss postings all the time, it's just impossible to keep up.
so you say that other silver guy and you are trading..how do you know what he has to sell or trade?

There are a million message a day coming at us. It's no surprise that some things get by us.

I didn't know exactly what he had. I could have asked, but he said he'd put together a care package for me for a certain dollar amount. The price of SBD went down, so I ended up paying more SBD than I originally wanted, but I had enough to buy my Steemsilvergold raffle tickets, so it was all good. He picked out some good coins and sent them over to me. I didn't know what I was getting until they arrived! It was exciting!

"There are many kinds of excitement in life. I'd say nothing is more breath-taking, heart-pounding, and show-stopping than trying to figure out if you're going to make it to the restroom in time when you've had bad fish."
-themanwithnoname

lol! I have no idea how you come up with this stuff but that's the kind of stuff the comedyopenmic
guys would love! yeah the silver guy just sending you what he wants is nothing like I've ever heard before but it fits you because you're nothing like I've ever heard before!

I decided to throw caution to the wind and see what happened. It worked out! I'm really pleased with what I got. I wouldn't do that with just anyone, but he had been really helpful with a few ideas for silver stuff, so we had a relational foundation. I normally don't just send money to strangers. ;)

That's a pretty decent haul. I can say that, right? I mean, it's a couple of coins/rounds, but it's not just the quantity, it's the fact that you didn't have either in your stack yet!

That was awfully nice of him to include a copper piece for your wait, even though you weren't really all that concerned.

Somehow, though, I can't see you not getting to the mail until after dinner. What the what?! You must have been busy not to be just waiting until the mail person showed up.

That's okay. I'm sure you had a perfectly logical explanation for waiting until you'd nearly forgotten because you were fat and happy and unmotivated after eating the evening meal. :)

Yes, it is a good haul! I didn't have any copper rounds and didn't have any silver Ike dollars, so it qualifies!

I wasn't really concerned, but he was a total gentleman about it, and i both appreciate and respect that.

Earlier in the day I was considering sitting by the mailbox, but then I got distracted with other acquisitions, and I forgot. Then I remembered that the package should have come and went rushing out to get it. If I hadn't been preoccupied, I would have been hitting refresh on the package tracking. heh

"The way to a man's heart is through his stomach, but precious metals are the way to get him to run for you."
-themanwithnoname

Okay, so if I'm reading this right and interpreting what you mean by 'other acquisitions' correctly, you just got distracted by one batch of shiny with another batch of shiny. If so, that's kind of funny!

"Make sure your metals are precious metals rather than heavy metals, because heavy metals are toxic and should be in no man's heart or stomach. Unless the heavy metal is music, of course. Then it might not be fit for your ears, either."
—glenalbrethsen

you just got distracted by one batch of shiny with another batch of shiny.

Nailed it! Oooh, nails are shiny too. I wonder if they have silver nails.

Man, you're getting really good at these quotes. I'm definitely going to have to up my game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00