Silver of the Day #2

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

We continue my series on silver under the new official name of the series, the "Silver of the Day." It's my chance to showcase a coin or bar that I have my eye on, and if things go well, one day I'll own.

I've posted before about my 1883 Morgan Dollar, but one silver dollar that I don't have is a Peace Dollar.

peace-silver-dollar.jpg
Source

According to ngccoin.com the Peace Dollar is 90% silver, so it has .7734 troy ounces of silver in it. That gives it a melt value around $13 right now, but because of their age and rarity, they have some numismatic value to them, even if they aren't in the best condition.

image.png

My favorite source, JM Bullion has ungraded Peace Dollars that they project would be graded MS62- MS63 and they sell for around $27 each. That's a markup of over 100%. Not bad if you've been holding them for a while.

Although I mainly stack for weight, when I get a chance, this is one coin that I would like to pick up to fill out the stack a bit. I think it's valuable to have a variety of coins as some of them will become increasingly valuable as time goes on. These older coins already command a hefty premium, so I don't plan to build my stack on a base of Peace Dollars, but I definitely have room for them in my collection.

- Do you have any Peace Dollars? If so, are they graded?

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

You know I've got some. Peace Dollar Set article from a little bit ago. Let me know when you want some. My LCS will beat just about any online retailer. I can grab some for you whenever you're ready.

I just read your post. That's incredible! I'll bet that set you back a fair amount. Most of them look like they're in really good shape though. I'll keep that in mind. I'm out of SBD and Steem for now, but when I recharge, I'll have to get in touch. Thanks for offering. :)

I collected them a little at a time over the years. Now I upgrade them when I find nicer coins. Probably end putting together a second set.

Very interesting. Just read up a little bit on these. Apparently they were struck between 1921 to 1928, and then again in 1934-1935, both by acts of Congress. They also were minted again in 1964, but were never issued out of Denver. It says they are 'believed to be melted.'

I'm thinking that's a stacking quest right there, to see if any happened to make it into circulation. :)

So, your top image is kind of strange. The source says it goes to some kind of executable file, potentially just the webpage itself, but not the image. I tried it in Firefox and Safari and both of them aren't showing it.

Isn't that interesting? I'm sure that all of them were melted down. (Yup, no sarcasm there.)

I would be incredibly surprised if any of them made it into circulation. They should know if that happened. I think any ambiguity regarding whether or not all of them were melted would be centered around whether someone or a group of people took/bought coins from the mint directly and squirreled them away. They never would have reached circulation... unless a child or unwitting adult took the coins and placed them in circulation by purchasing items with the coins, not realizing their value or significance.

Regarding the top image: It's showing as an executable file? That's weird. I just copied the image address from the website and pasted it once for the picture, and again with [source] to show where I got it. It's showing fine in Chrome. I wonder why the difference. Hmm. I can try saving the images and then posting from my computer. It seems weird that it would be saying it's an .exe file though. Is the image displaying correctly?


Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 9.40.14 AM.png

This is what it looks like in Chrome.


Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 9.41.26 AM.png

That's in Firefox and Safari. I've already ran into issues like that before with some tables people put into their posts.

Here's what I get when I click on the source in Firefox.


Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 9.43.07 AM.png

Looks like I misspoke about it being an executable file. I thought I saw that somewhere in the pop up window, but it doesn't appear to be there now.

re: circulation

Yeah, that's what I meant. Not necessarily sitting in someone's purse or a store's till, but in someone's collection, and potentially at the NSLCS. :) I wonder how much trouble they would be in if those ever did start popping up and they were traceable? Of course, seeing how it was 54 years ago, some of those folks might not even be alive, and unless they told the person who they gave it or sold it to what it was, it would be hard to punish them I would hope.

Still, they made over 360,000 of those 1964 Peace dollars. I got to believe that a few of them were kept for posterity. :)

I updated the image, so it should be displaying correctly. Thanks for letting me know about it. I'll have to download the images and then load them from my computer. I appreciate the heads up.

For all four of us Safari and nine of us Firefox users, I salute you! Okay, I have no idea how many of us use either browser, but I'm betting Chrome and whatever Microsoft calls theirs now (Edge?) are predominant. I'd use Chrome more often but it generally runs hot on my laptop, taking up more resources than it needs to.

And yes, it does work. I hope doing the extra work is worth it. I may be the only one who notices or cares (too much time spent creating newspaper layouts).

Ha ha, yeah I don't think there are many Safari users, but that's just my opinion. It's not grounded in anything other than the fact that I've never used it. Firefox used to have a decent following, myself included, but I switched to Chrome because it was much faster. FF would get bogged down sometimes and that was a drag.

I don't use Edge other than when I do stuff for newbieresteemgames, which hasn't been for a while. I don't really prefer most Microsoft products, other than Windows (because I don't know how to use Ubuntu) and Age of Empires, the long-retired game franchise. Ha ha.

Brave is also good, although it doesn't always read things correctly. And I had noticed that it takes longer to load sometimes. I guess that's a price you might pay for supposed privacy.

I actually noticed the picture was missing when I looked at my blog and only text appeared for that post. Then I went back in and fixed it, and BAM! picture appeared on the feed. :)

So, you had a similar experience with Firefox on Windows as I had with Chrome on OSX. I guess that's not surprising since the companies behind them tend to play nicer with certain companies than they do with others. Which makes mixing and matching all the more fun.

I rarely use Windows for anything anymore. I do have a Windows machine that I fire up every once in a while. I'm not a Windows fan, though I wish they would expand into home automation with Cortana from Xbox, since I have an Xbox One. It would be nice if they'd just get that ball rolling now that Amazon and Google are starting fill the space.

I actually had Ubuntu running on a computer. Can't remember what version, but it was a computer for the office and all it really did was receive and send faxes. It was hard to find third party software back then that fit our needs.

I guess it's just as well I haven't tried Brave yet. Every once in a while someone brings it up and I think, I need to try that. Thanks for the review.

Well, I'm glad you got it to work and that you're happy about fixing it. And it will disappear from anyone's view in 7 days and at that point no one will ever know—until two years from now when some newbie goes searching for something current about the steem/silver and gold. :)

Strange. It's probably because of a difference in how they code something. I've had issues like that before as I've surfed the web. Sorry about that.

I couldn't imagine the NSLCS would have any of them. They would be quite valuable if they were authentic, so I would be surprised to see them at any local dealer. More likely they would have made their way into a collector's collection and there they sit.

I imagine they would still be able to be prosecuted if they were caught. And since they're not legitimate government currency, I would think that the gov could just confiscate the coins if they ever surfaced.

Here's a snippet from the wiki entry on the 1933 Double Gold Eagles

In August 2005, the United States Mint announced the recovery of ten additional stolen 1933 double eagle gold coins from the family of Philadelphia jeweler Israel Switt, the illicit coin dealer identified by the Secret Service as a party to the theft who admitted selling the first nine double eagles recovered a half century earlier.[6] In September 2004, the coins' ostensible owner, Joan Switt Langbord, voluntarily surrendered the 10 coins to the Secret Service. In July 2005, the coins were authenticated by the United States Mint after working with the Smithsonian Institution, as being genuine 1933 double eagles.

Wikipedia

I would agree with you that there were probably a few that were kept. It wouldn't surprise me at all. Even if they were checking to make sure that the correct number of ounces were melted down, it wouldn't have been difficult for a few people to agree to take some out and put other silver in the vat to make the numbers correct. Just a theory though.

Okay, so there's already a precedence, which isn't that surprising, I suppose. So, I wonder what the advantage would be of holding onto such a coin then, if you're going to get in trouble for it. Although, I guess the woman who surrendered them voluntarily didn't appear to be jailed afterwards.

I still like to think about 360,000-plus silver dollars with a value between $13-$27 each, sitting around in someone's vault, waiting for a time where they can be sold without being punished for them (however that could even possibly happen), and yet still being around to enjoy the sale (or sales).

Oh, well. I guess that's the rebel criminal anti-establishment contrarian in me talking. :)

It's important to have a precedence, right? Then you can do it again. If it's unprecedented, then it's news. If it's happened before, then not as big a deal. It doesn't appear she got in trouble. I don't think she ended up getting them back either.

I would imagine that they're worth much more than $27 each. I would guess that if any of them were still in existence, they would be around $1,000 or more. Rare stuff is worth more.

If someone had one, they wouldn't be able to sell it at auction. It would have to be a private sale. I imagine that kind of stuff happens all the time and no one knows.

i have no peace dollar just some silver and gold plated coins i got some years back as a gift from my father there are about 47 in numbers. but i plan on buying and stacking up some older coins since they are more valuable

You should post about them. There's a whole community of people who would like to see pictures of them! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94