Silver of the Day #21

Today I get to show you a new round that I'm very proud to own.

When I go shopping for new shiny, I like to look for coins, bars, and rounds that are unique. I like designs that I haven't seen before, or pieces that are from far away, or even just pieces that are a bit older/rarer. When I also happen to get it at the price of a generic round, I know I've found one that needs to be brought home.

Here we have one such case. It's a 1989 Silver Koala Round. It was made by the New Queensland Mint.

The front has an image of a Koala with its baby. They are indeed Australia's Teddy Bear.

image.png

The back has an image of Australia
image.png

I've done a little looking and it seems I could get a bit more than I paid for it if I decided to sell. However, I don't really believe silver is meant to be sold, especially not when it's as gorgeous as this piece. This one is going in the vault, although I'm sure I'll get it out fairly frequently just so I can bask in its beauty.

In my research I found on Numista that it's rather rare for users of their site. I wonder if that rarity applies to the rest of the population.

image.png

I hope you like my new pets. I always wanted a Koala, and now I have two!

After consulting some precious metals consultants, I learned that the Koalas need at least two new ounces of silver per week to survive, so I'm going to have to keep working on that.

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Wow definitely a tough to find Koala even though it isn't a Perth Mint product but certainly one for the ultimate-die-hard-Koala-collector that has to have every Koala coin made. No mintage numbers I see. Not even an estimate.

I found very limited information on this round, but I was glad they at least put the mint on the round. Otherwise, I might have been lost.

I don't have any of the Perth Koalas yet, but when I do get some, I think they'll get along with this one quite nicely.

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I like the idea of selling silver I buy low at a higher price to buy even more silver, but it is always hard to actually sell it.

Really? I wouldn't imagine that it would be too difficult to sell, but then again, I've only been buying. No sales yet. Although I have given some pieces away for birthdays and whatnot.

I have the whole "Koalas" Perth Mint series and your round is as or more beautiful than them. At least I have not to see the Queen's profile again...

At least I have not to see the Queen's profile again...

I figured at least someone would find that appealing about it. From my experience with coin collecting, it seems that at least a majority of coins in the world have her face on the back.

I'm glad you liked the round. I'm going to keep my eye out for more of them. The design is so great that I'd love to add another to my collection. I'm not sure if they made the round multiple years. And if they did, I'm not sure if they would have used a different design, but regardless, I would buy another if I were given the opportunity.

However, I don't really believe silver is meant to be sold, especially not when it's as gorgeous as this piece.

We have very different opinions about this i guess xD

The coin looks awesome though, BTW you inspired me to start taking photos of the coins my father has and post about them, in 1 week or so ill do it :) he has some nice proof coins in his collection

Heh, yeah although I think it's because we have different goals that we're trying to accomplish. I like collecting them. The different designs are like art to me. The value of the metal means that I am at least storing value while getting to collect something I find visually appealing. at some point they should go up in value. Probably not as quickly as some cryptos, but still should experience some gains. :)

I'm looking forward to seeing pictures of your dad's collection. From what you said, it sounds like he has some unique ones and I like those. The proof coins can really pop! so that will be exciting.

Thanks, man!

What a beautiful find. I have a co-worker that likes to buy and sell gold and silver. I'll have to ask him more questions and see what he has. I've never been a collector but it does intrigue me. I'm always keeping an eye out for odd coins that fall into my possession. It brings back memories of my grandmother collecting

Thank you! I have really been enjoying collecting them and I think that if people got started on it they might enjoy it. Of course, it depends on what their goals are.

If your co-worker is on Steemit or wants to get on Steemit, he's welcome to start posting pictures of his collection using the #steemsilvergold tag and he'll find a lot of like-minded precious metals enthusiasts.

Actually, that is a great idea. I've been trying to figure out how to get him involved with steemit anyway.

Perfect! I'm not saying he'll make a lot of money on it, but it at least helps to have a community that is interested in your interests. He'll at least find some moral support.

That’s a cool looking round there my friend. Nice addition to the stack. 👍

Thank you! There are some rounds that are "meh" and I'll buy if there's nothing else available, but this was one of the ones that I knew I just needed to get. There wasn't an evaluation or a consideration process. It was just

  1. See round
  2. Buy round

Ha ha.

I know who to call when I need silver bullets..

No silver bullets yet. But that would be fun to add at some point. I'd just have to get a good price on them. From what I've seen, they can be rather spendy. You could at least melt some of this silver down and coat your bullets with it. There we go. Problem solving! :D

lol! love the last line manwithnoname. this is indeed another classic design and rather unique, good eye!

It's important I know how to care for your pets. These are just specialized pets that needs specialized treats to stay alive. I'm happy to oblige. :D

lol! that's too funny Blondie. or at least it would be if you were just teasing but I know you're serious so you may have a problem!

I know you're serious so you may have a problem!

I talked to the doctor about it today. He said that could amputate that part of my brain out so I wouldn't think that silver was valuable. However, he said it could also turn me into a vegetable. I think I'll just stick with how things are. ;)

Now that looks familiar! It's in good shape too. Nice score and thanks for the info!

Yeah, it's not bad! Now we're Koala twins! Ha ha.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06