Silver of the Day #23

Many of you know that I have been on a quest to find free Constitutional Silver coins in the rolls that you can get at the bank. Many people have done it over the years, so there isn't an abundance left, but if you go through enough, you can get lucky and find some that were missed.

I haven't found anything recently, but if you can't get free silver, the next best thing is getting it at a discount. I posted about how I recently got my first gold and while I was there I thought I'd offload some of the fiat that I was carrying.

Through an elaborate game of "spend as much as I can" I selected a combination of a few different silver coins to make sure I wasn't leaving any silver behind. I couldn't save it all, but what I could I brought home.

image.png

I just love these coins. There's something special about them that makes me smile whenever I see them.

image.png

I was able to get nine silver quarters, most of which were in great condition... and one Mercury dime that was also in fairly good shape.

It's not a lot, but I just remember that "any silver added to the stack is more than I had to start with."

I'm happy that not only did I get to add my first gold, but I was able to add a few more of these 90% silver pieces of history.

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Best part about 90% is it's meant to be fondled and played with. No need for the gloves here!

Yes, exactly. Although I reserve most of that for a specific Silver American Eagle that I carry with me. We're already been through a lot together.

Those are cool looking tubes. Any referral links for where to get some?

The guys at the coin shop gave them to me with the coins. You can get frosted plastic tubes at

I like that they're clear so you can see exactly what's inside (from the ends at least) without having to open them. You can also see the shininess of the coins. That's a plus!

Those are cool looking
Tubes. Any referral links
For where to get some?

                 - protegeaa


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I like the square tubes from coins safe, I moved all my 90% to them. Now I have left over round tubes I need to find a use for.

I've seen square tubes for 1 oz rounds; didn't realize they existed for 90%! Thanks for the heads up.

I'll start checking my quarters for you

I love junk silver and I feel very happy when someone posts about it. Thanks.

I do too! Thanks for your support. :)

Found a sack full of coins in my grandfather's home... he wants to sell them, they are probably not worth much maybe i'll get the silver price... he has probably 1kg of coins in this old sack!

pieces of history

This got me thinking... those coins are probably older than i am, imagine the amount of hand they have been through, imagine the amount of things we could learn if those coins spoke...

That's awesome! And that's a lot of coins. Can you take pictures of them? Any idea what coins are in there?

You're right, there have probably been a lot of hands that have touched each of the coins. That's why you might want to wash your hands of handling them.

I'll bet some of those coins would have fantastic stories to tell. If only we could hear them...

howdy there @themanwithnoname! good thinking there. what do the 90% silver quarters cost?

Each of them contains around .1808 ounces of silver. They normally sell around spot price, so around $3 right now

howdy again today Blondie! is this a machine? a monotone recording. just the facts Ma'am just the facts. I thank you for the facts Blondie!

I'm not a machine. Sometimes I operate as well as a well-oiled machine, but I'm still human. Glad the facts helped. Go get you some silver quarters!

hey Blondie. first off I'd have to get an agreement with Mrs. J and the chances of that are slim to zero so it may be awhile on the silver.
but what I want to know is..what are you a well-oiled machine at? buying metal?

I'm not quite a machine at buying metals. I don't have enough raw resources to put into the one end of the machine to keep getting silver out.

Maybe you can start Mrs J off slowly, like with some nice silver spoons! They're pretty and useful. ;)

lol! smooth idea.

Nice @themanwithnoname! Several of those quarters are in really good condition and are great additions to the stack.

Yeah, I was surprised at the good condition of some of them. Happy to add them!

Better in that tube than in the laundry machine 😃

Heck yeah! These aren't going into the laundry machine unless the price of laundry goes from $1.00 to $30.00. Even then, I'd save these as long as I could. :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77