Silver of the Day #24

Yesterday I posted about picking up more Constitutional Silver at my LCS. I showed you the quarters and the singular Mercury Dime that I got to ensure I left the store with as little fiat as possible. Full disclosure, I left with $0.49 as they didn't have anything I could get for that.

One of the other things I got while I was minimizing my on-hand dollars are these 90% silver Benjamin Franklin Half Dollars. There was also one Walking Liberty Half Dollar in the mix. She's fairly worn down, which is probably why she was in the same bin as she barely has a visible date, 1918. However, that's a piece of history, and I wasn't going to leave it behind.

image.png

They all look so happy together! I grabbed all the Franklins they had in stock. They charge more for the halves than the quarters and dimes, but I really wanted these so I bought all the ones they had.

image.png

As with the quarters, I bought enough that they gave me a tube to keep the coins in. That helps keep me organized, so they don't get lost. And now it also incentivises me to buy more so I complete the tube. Then I'll just have to start a new one. It's a vicious cycle... but I like it!

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Hi friend, I wanted to ask you if it's easy for you to get the coins you collect?

The difficult part is getting the money for them. (I know you're familiar with that part).

Once I have the money, I can drive to a store that's approximately 15 minutes from my house and I can buy the coins there. Or I can go to another coin store that's 15 minutes in the other direction. It just depends on which kind of coins I want to buy in terms of design. One store has more variety. The other has slightly lower prices.

ok I see my friend without a name, so I understand there are many coin stores in your city, can you say that in the United States they have the culture of collecting objects? I always watch collector's television shows

I'm fortunate to be in a place where there are options for coin stores. A lot of people live where they don't even have one coin store that is close enough to visit without making a special trip.

Yes, I think in the USA we have a culture of excess as things are easier to get than in most places. People buy, buy, buy (often with credit cards because they don't want to wait) and they don't save as much as they should. (I'm generalizing and these are just my opinions). Some people buy so much they have to get storage units to keep their stuff in. That costs more money. It's sad really. I try to not buy things I don't need. The only thing I really collect is coins.

howdy there @themanwithnoname sir! congratulations this is a very good day for you because of the win except I don't know what the prize is?
very cool though! also your Franklin halfs, very cool!

Thanks, @janton. You're the only person I know on Steemit whose "sir" I don't consider spam. Anyone else who calls me sir is normally trying to get something from me. You're a gentleman though, so it makes sense. :)

Thank you, sir! It was a totally unexpected win and it's one that I'm incredibly thankful for! I resteemed the post where the winners were announced. You can see the five coins. They are beautiful! Those coins are going to be passed down in my family for generations!

I'm glad you liked the Franklin halves as well. I like the design and the relative rarity of them. I wouldn't mind getting more!

oh wow, I saw the coins in that post but didn't know that the winners got all five! what are they some kind of junk silver?

Just working through my replies as I get to them, so I now see that you found out what I won!

They are not junk silver. They are beautiful new coins from England. Some of them are a few years old as it's a series that is being released over time. The older ones have already started to fetch higher prices as they are more difficult to get now.

howdy @themanwithnoname! ok that sounds wonderful but what are they worth, approximately?

I was actually overwhelmed and still processing the information. Thanks for looking out.

Having your own collection of history nd things u like is a wonderful feeling. Has this been a hobby for you? How long have you been collecting these? When are we seeing full collection?

It is a wonderful feeling. I've been collecting for three or four months. Basically since I first found out about steemsilvergold.

Do you collect precious metals?

Well, not until now but after seeing your collection and passion I guess I can make my mind up anytime, some activity at least

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85