Silver of the Day #45 - Ugly Silver

I like silver.

You don't have to follow me for longer than two days to figure out that I like the shiny, specifically silver as it's cheaper than gold, so I can add more ounces to the stack. I didn't really discriminate when it came to silver, I just bought it.

I hadn't really run into any coins, rounds, or bars that I genuinely didn't like. Sure, there were some that I didn't like as much, but I wouldn't kick them out of my stack. At least that was the case until last night when I discovered...

image.png
source
Oh, my good eye!

I was browsing on Provident metals when I noticed this round and it immediately struck me as my least favorite round that I've seen. The first thing that struck me was Lady Liberty's appearance, specifically her head. Let's just say it's not my favorite depiction of her. Mother always said that if you don't have something nice to say, then don't say anything at all. I think it's ok to express that I've seen more preferable designs on many other rounds.

This is also one of the busiest rounds that I've seen, but rather than doing it in a tasteful way, it just looks crowded. It's made by the Golden State Mint, but I'm not sure who designed it. I apologize if that person is on Steemit and was hurt or offended by my review.

The other side of the round is better, but I don't think it would be enough to save it from the "trade pile" if I were to accidentally or unintentionally acquire one of these.

image.png
source

What are your thoughts? Do you like the round? If you had to choose between this and an American Eagle (or your local equivalent), what would you choose?

What's your least favorite coin/round/bar?



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

One of the worst pictures on a coin was produced last year by the Royal Mint.It was a hunchback Britannia. Awful!

Coming up EMPTY on this, Ron... I searched for RCM Hunchback Britannia

Post a pic LOL

Royal Mint is not Royal Canadian Mint... RCM does not mint Britannias... Royal Mint does.

I looked under Both, actually, and still nothing.
Got a pic of the coin?

OK, yes I saw the coin, same as the box, with some more details.
Very poorly done, IMO. Lots of "blank real estate" on there and
@britcoin has a hilarious take on it!!!
https://steemkr.com/gold/@britcoin/2017-britannia-eye-sore

That's funny. I didn't see that one. Do you have one of them?

I have to agree here with your assessment. It is not the prettiest coin there is. And Lady Liberty looks more like the men to either side of her than she looks female. That however, doesn't necessarily make the rest of what's going on any better. It is crowded, and it took a minute to figure out what was going on. Basically, I had to read the inscriptions to figure out this was a coin to remember the Alamo with.

That's because lady liberty dominates the coin, and I end up looking at the wings and the flags behind her than I do the small image of the alamo which I guess she's protecting? A little late maybe?

Oh, well. I guess it was bound to happen eventually, where the designer/artist/engraver/whatever just didn't get it right.

I didn't end up saying that, but I really wanted to. I didn't want to be too offensive, but yeah, it looks like there are three guys on the coin. One of them may have been eating too much soy. ;)

I have no clue why they decided to put so much on that coin. I don't imagine that it will sell well, but that's just my opinion. I'm glad I wasn't the only one who was confused as to the gender of Mr(s) Liberty.

Yeah. I wonder sometimes how "artists" get the jobs they do to beautify things or design important items when they really are more impressionist or just plain not that good. No matter how artsy you are, you should be able to produce something that differentiates definitely between the sexes.

It's okay. I get to say it down here while you adhere to diplomacy. Don't want the 'art' guy who created it to get mad at you if they are already on steemit, or at whatever point they do get on here. Your mother's advice is still very sound, even in this day and age. Or perhaps it's needed more than ever.

I think the advice is sound. And I would probably tell the person to their face (in a gentle way) that I didn't really like the design. I'm glad that other people seemed to be picking up on the ambiguity of the gender of the center individual. I didn't think I was crazy, but I didn't want this to be the proof. ;)

American Eagle for sure! You are right this one is ugly. But would probably still own it. LOL

I'm with you there as well. I would rather own something that is classy and well-known than something that makes me want to throw it away whenever I see it. I would need to get a great deal on this round to buy it... and even then it would just be so that I had trade fodder. :D

LOL trade fodder! lol love that phrase. haha did I tell you i didn't realize that I had a lot of US coins that were .9 silver and I didn't know it?

I don't know if "trade fodder" is a commonly used phrase. It just came to me and I thought it appropriate and applicable.

NO! You didn't tell me!!! Congrats! Those are some of my favorites! I just got a few more recently and I love the look of them. They look so much better than the newer quarters. I'm looking forward to seeing them! (I've been doing a terrible job of making the rounds, so feel free to drop a comment on me if I miss the post.) :)

Yeah I didn't even realize it, I was watching some youtube videos about coins, trying to see what dates I should be looking for, and then they started talking about silver US coins, I was like, wait I have some of those! lol

Ha, that's funny. Well, I'm glad that you realized they were silver, and not just some other coins that you had saved. It's a shame to see them discarded or spent rather than being cherished like they should be.

That is true, how many silver coins are spent, because the person doesn't realize their true value?? haha :)

If U get a good enough deal, it is "pouring fodder" ;-)
That is how the pourers get silver, at least one way.
They can melt generic rounds. Plus it's a known purity.

I haven't gotten into pouring yet, but I have heard some of the folks here talk about how they need more silver to pour with. A lot of times when the sales come up and they can get random rounds for $0.39 over spot, they'll get some and turn them into something entirely different.

my original stacker website silverdoctors.com has the buffalo rounds for that price a lot... Very nicely minted, and CHEAP!

I looked those up and the new buffalo rounds can actually be a little cheaper than my local coin store, if you buy in large enough quantities. I haven't gotten to ordering online yet as I rarely hold enough money long enough to make a large purchase. Basically as soon as I have any money, I'm running to the LCS to get more silver for the stack. :)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I love it. I think the beauty of it is that it's so freakin ugly, it could become more valuable and notable because it sets records for pitiful design and execution. lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25