Ramblings of a sleep deprived Silver junkie

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

My work changes my schedule more than a teenager changes clothes. I got a good 3hrs of sleep last night before having to be back at work today for CPR & AED certfications. Around lunch I checked prices on Gold/silver/cryptos.....


Kitco Charts

This is the reason I don't get excited anymore when I hear news about PM prices. For years I've heard "This is the last time to get PM's this cheap" or "but the gold silver ratio....blah blah blah" or "the 200 DMA and 50 DMA just made a death cross" or choose your favorite one.

Basically if (Insert your religious deity here) came down and said the PM prices should be double what they are, JP Morgan would laugh and say "hold my beer". I've bought silver at $4 and ounce and at the high for over $50. I stopped watching the price long ago.

I'm not in this hobby to get rich overnight. I collect because I enjoy coins and knowing my investment will hold value over a long time frame. I saw an article on here yesterday about how Bitcoin is the new Gold. Wanting to comment so bad I refrained from this argument once again. This is one of the reasons I left Facebook, Instagram and all other social media.

Back in the day I did the same thing, telling everyone why PM's were heading higher. But every time all signs were pointing to a higher price, it would do this and the price would dump. Then came the cryptos. The shit talking never ended when my buddies were rolling in the dough with their crypto profits. Always asking me what my PM's were returning compared to theirs.

IMG_20180515_203857.jpg

I forgot where I was going with this but did just run out for a smoke break and the clouds looked like a wood pour. Hmm. Maybe it's a sign from the PM gods to pick up some cheap shiny or maybe this is some sort of advanced for of Stackitis.....

Either way I have an hour left of work and a 1.5hr drive home. Hopefully the LCS is stacked up tomorrow when I get their. Cheap gold and silver are my favorite kind to buy. And if you have the ability, order some PM's from some of the guys/gals here in our group. Always a good thing to support your local businesses/people. It will all come back in due time.

Hope you enjoyed my ramble. I can't even remember why I wanted to write this.

Proud member and supporter of #Steemsilvergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png


Sort:  

I get tired of all the talking heads with PM's. And it's the same thing with cryptos now. Always going to the moon! Well, it could be, but it could also be more and more of the same.

They said the dollar would collapse, how many times now? It will happen, but maybe not for a long time yet... We'll see, for now, I take cryptos and buy metals. It's working for me.

You are spot on there @fat-elvis. Too many experts yet no one is ever right. Profit is profit and if it buys metals you can't go wrong. Thanks for stopping by.

I get tired of the people who turn it into a great big rivalry and we have to choose sides.

Crypto vs Precious Metals

I like and own both of them. Anything that gets you away from fiat garbage is a good thing!

I think cryptos are a great new invention. Stackers especially should see that, but, it's maybe not for everyone. I get that. But I like both.

I have both too. Just really heavy on the PM side. I really like the idea of cryptos and the potential they have to change the system. But I also like the fact that PM's have made it 5000 years thru every cool new currency. Once cryptos are listed on the stock exchange it's game over when it comes to manipulation. We'll see what happens.

Do you really think that the manipulation will stop when cryptos are listed on the stock exchange? It will be worse, because those that manipulate now will have the help of the stock exchange usual manipulators...

That is what I meant. Once they hit the exchanges they will be controlled by the banks. Once they are controlled by the banks it's game over, prices will be whatever they want.

The trash talk on crypto gets tiresome. I was buying Bitcoin when it was around $800 CDN. When it went on it’s last bull run, I was laughing, but when it fell the past while, there were two people who wouldn’t shut up about it. I had to keep telling them I bought most of my Bitcoin when it was less than $1000, and it could fall down to zero, and I’d still would be in profit territory with what I cashed in this past year. Some people are just bitter, I guess.

I still have my stack and am adding here, and there. I’m getting some coins from the Royal Canadian Mint soon!

Very nice. The RCM has a great selection of coins. I had a friend that bought 5 BTC at around $500. He sold 4 of them at 15k+. I didn't hear the end of it from him....until he figured out he had to pay taxes on his gains. Haven't heard much after that. lol. Thanks for the comment.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Basically if (Insert your religous deity here) came down and said the PM prices should be double what they are, JP Morgan would laugh and say "hold my beer".
It should be religious instead of religous.

Thaks @grammarnazi. Your the bestest at finding thise spolling mistackes.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for your support @ssg-community!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14