Saturday Silver spotlight. US Peace Dollars

Today on this edition of the Silver Spotlight I want to take a look at the US Peace Dollars. I'm not going to talk about each individual coin at this point, but do over the series as a whole.

IMG_20180512_190207.jpg

The United States Peace Dollars were produced from 1921 until 1928 and then again in 1934 & 1935. It was minted at Denver (D), San Francisco (S) and Philadelphia (No mintmark). The Pitman Act of 1918 called for the US to start minting more Silver coins. From 1918 to 1921 the older Morgan dollar version was used. The mint wanted a new coin and started a contest for it's new design. Here is the mintage numbers.

IMG_20180512_190333.jpg

New Coin Design

All the major players jumped in with their ideas including the head engraver at the mint. But out of nowhere Anthony De Francisci, who primarily made buttons, plaques and medals, stepped up to the plate. His design won the hearts of the mint but not without some controversy.

The original design of the coin showed an Eagle perched atop a broken sword holding an Olive branch. Being fresh out of WW1 that rendition was not adopted. In an emergency meeting the choice was made to alter the coin prior to production It went under the knife and was updated to it's current form.

Obverse

The Obverse of this coin is said to depict the profile of LIberty itself. With hair billowing and a radiant crown it was a symbolic representation of the sun, perhaps meant to indicate the dawn of a new era.

IMG_20180512_190248.jpg

IMG_20180512_190258.jpg

Reverse

The updated reverse of the coin now featured an eagle at rest carrying an olive branch and perched in front of a sunburst. It also had the countries name, the mint mark and the “E Pluribus Unum” motto.

IMG_20180512_195405.jpg

IMG_20180512_195510.jpg

I would like to update my collection with some nicer examples and will be working on that in the future. Also if you haven't saw the challenge I've issued for myself you can check it out here DSM #DollarChallenge. I'm also dabbling in creating GIF's. This below is my first attempt at it. Thanks for checking it out.

Proud member and supporter of #Steemsivergold.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

My OCD forces me to correct a small misinformation: The Morgan Dollar was not issued between 1905 and 1920. It was issued again, for the last time, in 1921.

That's correct. Thanks for pointing that out. I should have put the old design was used one last time for the 1921 coin. Thanks for checking them out @ronaldoavelino.

Nice looking stash vg! Everytime i see this coin i like it more!!!

Thanks @thedamus. They are some great looking coins.

Love those dollars. I have a few peace, and Morgan's, but here in the Canadian wild west, they carry a huge premium, so I buy them in the US when I'm there. The peace dollar is a truly beautiful coin.

Let me know if you are ever looking for any @fat-elvis. I'd be more than happy to ship some your way.

I appreciate that, thanks!

Great article! Thanks for the education 👊

You're welcome. Thanks for stopping and checking them out.

The Peace Dollars are one of my favorites to look at. A couple of them look like they are in perfect condition! Thanks for sharing

I do have a couple in pretty good shape. Thanks for the comment.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89