What do you do when your not stacking the shiny?

When I'm not stacking the shiny, feeding animals, gardening, studying cryptos, buying rental properties, buying/selling at auctions, building VW's or playing with solar panels.....You can find me at my regular job.

I've been lucky enough to stay on the cutting edge of the telecommunications field for the past 20yrs. Watching cell phones change from huge blocks, to tiny phones and then back to big phones. From playing snake on a green screen to live video conferencing.

Most every carrier and network I've worked on. Building many of them from the ground up in the beginning. Telecom has taken me all around the US and Caribbean. For 8yrs I lived out of a suitcase going from corporate apartment to corporate apartment. I've lived in every major city in the US and most of them I wish to never visit again.

All the travel and learning has paid off. Now this is what I do......wait is that Steemit on my screen? Oops.

IMG_20180215_041227.jpg

Most of my work is now just typing and talking in MML (Man-Machine Language). Funny part is I couldn't even fix my own desktop computer but regulary work on routers worth 100's of thousands of dollars. In all reality I hate technology and wished I lived somewhere in the woods with more animals around me than people.

Every once in a while we get to play with fun stuff. Here is the fiber tester I use when we get bad light levels. Just turn it on, gently cram the tiny fiber in the end of the tester and it does the rest. Mind you that white tip you see is the casing of the fiber. The actual fiber is thinner than a human hair and hurts really bad when they get stuck in your fingers.

IMG_20180405_004332.jpg

It will give you a pass or fail. If it fails you get your fiber cleaner and clean it until it passes or you scratch the shit out of it. At that point you have to pull in a new fiber, but that is usually pretty easy.

IMG_20180405_004140.jpg

Scrub a dub dub and presto. PASS!

IMG_20180405_004317.jpg

I'll post some of the other cool stuff we play with here at work, just no time tonight.

Seems like most of you know each other from social media and YT. I've just been stacking by my lonely for years never even thinking about groups like this on those platforms.

So what is it you do when your not stacking? Was trying to think of a good tag but it has thus far eluded me. Any ideas? I think it would be interesting to hear every ones story.

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

It is always neat to get a glimpse into the life of a fellow steemian. Thanks for sharing

I didn't know if anyone would be interested. I'll start posting some of the other fun stuff. Thanks for stopping by @bowentroyer.

Thanks for sharing! I've done quite a bit of work running fiber in the secondary space on the poles. As well as splicing. It's amazing that is basically what runs the world.

Sweet. Were you building DAS systems @silveringots? I haven't done fusion splicing in many years. What a PITA. lol

There was a state wide project here in Rhode Island where they were running a a ring of fiber around the entire state. It is a small state. Mostly everything was in the air. We also hung the pole mounted cabinets that housed the FTPs. Fun project...

Ah. Very nice. I haven't had the joy of working outside in a long time. Do you still do that type of work?

Here and there I do some cell site fiber splicing, indoor splicing at large buildings and business. Not much arial work anymore though. I've branched off into more high Audio/video installation. Commercial network wiring POE and VOIP. Cameras etc. Commercial and residential work. Keeps me busy..

I worked developing computer systems all my life. Now I am retired, dedicated to collecting coins, stacking silver and gold, reading and my family.

Very nice. Did you ever get sick of it @ronaldoavelino? I'm starting to get burned out. It's all changing so fast it's hard to master any one thing.

I am retired. That means that I can dedicate my time to do what I want and when I want (I have no wife to give orders to me). If I am in the mood to write some articles, I write five or six in a row. If I only want to read or to comment, I can do it at any time I want. My two daughters are married and one lives in Canada and the other in Spain (I live in Brazil). You are starting to get burned out because you must work several hours a day and spend some hours dedicated to your family. You have not much time to spare to our addiction. The immediate solution is to win at the Lotto. :=)

I am away from home 11hrs a day or night I should say. Me and the Mrs only have one kid left in the house and he is in his last year of school. I'm hoping to retire after that...but I'm only 40. That's why I buy rental units. Someday soon I hope to have the freedom you do. To win the lotto I'd actually have to play. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23