Another over priced coloured silver coin from the Royal mint.

paddington_at_the_tower_2019_united_kingdom_silver_proof_coin_in_acrylic_case__-_uk19ptsp.jpg
(Royal mint website)

Today's the day the Royal mint release their newest "silver proof", Paddington bear coin.

Since this was the day I usually attend the RM to pick up my 10 pense swaps, I thought I'd add it to my collection to along with the 2 I bought 1/2pint back in 2018.

IMG_20190813_101020.jpg

Ever since the introduction of the 2016 Beatrix Potter (Peter rabbit) series, the RM has been milking the public for all its worth and churning out #shitcoin after shit coin every year.

But they know us all so well....... And we keep coming back for more!!

IMG_20190813_102327.jpg

So that's my silver proof (big box) and a BU next to it on the postcard of Liz.

NOW FOR THE INFO BIT:

Screenshot_20190813_102633.jpg

Screenshot_20190813_102620.jpg

Screenshot_20190813_102647.jpg

The only good thing I can think of about this waste of money is that they've cut the mintage figures by over half.

Last year they made 60,000 each of the 2 designs, but only made 25,000 for 2019. You can still pick up the 2018 versions today and the RM even offer a 10% discount when buying online..... Looks like the Paddington bear series isn't as popular as they thought it might be.

These are definitely ones to put away in a box and forget about for 20yrs. They may be worth what I paid for them by then.

download.png

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support

The 2016 Peter Rabbit is doing well what I have heard.

I am not really familar with the bear or the rabbit but the Perth Mint got my money with their Simpsons series...

Yeah I never got in to that Simpson "thing"... The 2016 Peter rabbit is changing hands for crazy money. It was the cheapest of the coins to, at only £55, before they realised idiots like me would buy them and put the price up to £65.

I managed to pick up a few right at the beginning and now they are selling for £600+ regularly. At one stage at the start, the FOMO drove prices up to £1000!! Wish I had let a few go at that price, but I'll HODL them for a few more years yet.

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 32% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Oof that's pricey for silver. I would only pick-up if you are a fan of the series

It's very pricey. I picked up the first coin for my son and now I'm stuck buying the bloody lot of them. These coin companies really know how to ducker you in and keep you hooked.

It is a cool coin even if over pried

I do like them. I'm hoping the price will put a lot of collectors off and make them more collectable in the future. They've cut this year's mintage from 60k to 25k, so already more that twice as rare as last years.

That’s Good they cut the numbers made makes them more of a collectible and hopefully will give them a far better value in years to come

Seen this bad boy myself in the BBC news this morning. Im on the lookout for the circulated version but being from NI, it takes a few months before they make there way over here.

Top tip, if you put £1 into a vending machine and request your change back, it normally gives back x2 50p's. If you mark one of those 50p's, you can keep refeeding them into the machine until its come back round. This is also a good way to kill 5-10 minutes in a staff canteen are train station :D Ive got some really good 50p's using this method

Hey, it's me, @welshstacker..... I knew that tip about the 50p's. Don't you remember the whole "be a welshstacker" thing?? Hahahahaha

Got that one direct from the RM cash till. The trick is to buy the cheapest thing they have, a 50p postcard of Liz, give them a quid and you get the Paddington Bear back in your change.

Then you can use that postcard to write fancy notes to people when you send them silver in the post. Am I a genius or what??

Very nice. Collector of such coins will be very happy. Thanks for sharing this new series, @welstacker. It is my first look.

It's a very nice coin and probably (in my opinion) the nicest one of the series so far. They are just incredibly over priced-

1/4oz for £65!! Its daylight robbery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31