Finding treasure everywhere. Never over look a charity shop.

em1170x600.png

You can find hidden treasures everywhere....

Here in Wales, although a relatively small country and with a population small than the city of London, we try and do our bit for the environment and recycle as much as we can.

TOLsp6wqNDaW3VbmVAF8cEPhd-Un0yhhyWeLfpvTXGI.jpg
(Eunomia - https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/12/germany-recycles-more-than-any-other-country/)

Wales, which does well overall, includes significant amounts of rubble in its recycling rate, despite it not being consistently counted as a type of municipal waste across Europe. Wales had a reported rate of 64%, which Eunomia downgraded to 52%.

vrSpSIwk2U1WYT2yQ8mfEnnEi4eGmo2HnQ1Bx_1MeE8.jpg
(Eunomia - https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/12/germany-recycles-more-than-any-other-country/)

So as you can see, we love to recycle stuff!

A short drive from my house is my local munisipal recycling centre. This is used by residents and businesses alike to bring household good to be crushed and melted to be sent fir recycling and made in to other goods.

Well 2yrs ago, they realised that 50% of the items being "dumped" were actually in very good condition and only bring discarded because we have a "throw-away society" now.

DEshCWZWAAA09iQ.jpg

Welcome to THE SHED. A local council initiative to try and save items that are too good to go to landfill /recycle be returned to local people. Think of it as a thrift store/charity shop on an industrial scale.

IMG_20190529_133205.jpg

IMG_20190602_091839.png

Screenshot_20190602-091710.png

IMG_20190602_091803.png

This is just a small selection of the stuff here and as you can see you could get list in here for hours.

Now I'm sure one day someone will find a hidden work of art or an early Chinese vase, but me, my eye automatically get drawn to shiny things..

IMG_20190602_084912.jpg

Unfortunately just electro plated nickel silver(epns). Now this does have some value and I always find out when they are selling it for. Because this is a recycling centre and every penny is pure profit, these things are very cheap and I could flip it on ebay for a quick return. They wanted £4 by the way or both trays for £6.

IMG_20190529_132756.jpg

Now these are the things I'm interested in...

IMG_20190602_091942.png

After digging through hundreds of utensils I found 2 I was interested in.

TOP No 1 - Always ask a price before hand;

Q "How much is that junk cutlery over there?"

A "10p (£0.10)"

The prices in here are never a set price. They just can't, they have such a high turn over of goods.

So I found by getting a price in advance is much cheaper. I guarantee she wouldn't say 10p if I walked up with 2 silver spoons..... Get me??!!??

unknown.png

I'll give it a few weeks then make my way back and have another look through.

So just remembered next time you're passing a charity shop, call in. You never know what youll find.

2.png

image.png
2K.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by welshstacker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 100% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

That looks like heaven to me!! I can just imagine spending hours in there! I've always wondered with silver cutlery, what grade of silver is it? Are some better than others? Am coming home to Wales later in the month to visit my dad... Will be keeping an eye out for somewhere like this near him! E x

Posted using Partiko Android

Most of the cutlery is stainless steel (95%), then eloctro plated nickel silver (4.5%), then if you're really lucky you'll find some 0.925 silver(sterling). I often find German dilver too.

Exciting treasure hunt then! e x

Posted using Partiko Android

It must be fun... How I wish I could go more often to estate sales and thrift stores to hunt for silver and gold. Four of my best gold coins came from an estate sale in San Francisco. Have a lovely Sunday, @welshstacker!

We don't really have estate sales here, but I'd definitely go to them if we did.

I'd spend hours going through all the stuff in places like this given half the chance.

We are super guilty of that too, we good perfectly good stuff because we have so much. We try to buy less, and are doing better, but seem to keep accumulating. So much could be reused, and our local place also has stuff setting out that people can take or buy, keeping it out of the landfill.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84