Visiting the Royal mint to spend my HMRC payment

IMG_20181011_150929.jpg

Following on from my post the other day about getting my money back from Her Majesties Revenue and Customs (HMRC), the check arrived in the post so I thought I'd go spend it

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@welshstacker/could-my-luck-with-imported-silver-really-be-changing

IMG_20181011_151357.jpg

It's not much, but it is enough to get me some Queens Beasts 2oz Falcons. So where better to buy them than getting them direct from the Royal Mint itself.

IMG_20180125_133001.jpg

So after work I headed straight there to see what goodies they had for me.

IMG_20180125_133201.jpg

IMG_20180125_134237.jpg

IMG_20180125_133228.jpg

IMG_20180125_133400.jpg

IMG_20180125_133305.jpg

So they have plenty there to buy, but it's all so expensive.... All I want is a few QB falcons!

When buying them individually they are incredibly expensive. Coming in at £47.62 per coin + VAT (@20%), £57.15. WHAT THE ACTUAL F**K!!!!

IMG_20181011_152353.png

This is the bit that tickles me with RM pricing:

Buying 10 QB; £43.61 X 10 = £436.10 + VAT - £523.32

Yet if you buy 1 tube of QB (10) it's so much cheaper:

IMG_20181011_152407.png

£325.81 + VAT = £390.97.... Or £39.10 each.

I still think that that's over priced, so I might just take my business else where.

Does anyone in the UK want to sell me a few falcons?

image.png

2I.jpg

Sort:  

it is insane isnt it, i love the beasts and i would love a 2 oz but like yourself i balk at the individual price, would love to find anyone selling any of them at a better price, thank you for sharing i had never seen inside the royal mint before and all that lovely shinyness ! i would have been sorely tempted, especially by that lovely case display, hope you have an excellent day, much respect to you

Thanks @beckieg, if you ever find yourself this way I'll show you around. I'm less than a 5 minute drive from them. Thing is once you've been once, it's rather boring!!

thank you my friend and one day probably next year i will take you up on your kind offer, i have more than one reason for wanting to visit your area, although in this sense its not entirely local just generally your area :) and that is......i am a huge lifelong fan of the prisoner and it has always been my ambition to visit the village :) my thinking is i could have myself a little holiday taking in both places , the village then shinies, how good would that be :) hope you have a good day we are experiencing something that resembles a storm but it cant be cos it got the daft name callum, what is it with this naming storms with daft names thing, i best go tie down my poor plants much respect to you my friend

Thanks fella. They are much cheaper even with p&p and thier card handling fees. Hahahaha

Crazy to think I can buy silver from several hundred miles from where its actually made, cheaper than I can from the place that makes it a 5minute drive from my house!!

Everything should be tax free.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Those prices are crazy! I can get it cheaper here in the US just by walking into a random coin store. The Royal Mint really is impressed with their own product, aren't they?

A little too much to be honest. But they do corner the UK market. The prices are already high but its the 20% value added tax that kills me off. Its cheaper to buy and import, even with import tax, than to buy from them

Its cheaper to buy and import, even with import tax, than to buy from them

That's how you know something is wrong. When you can get it cheaper by shipping it back in after it's already been shipped out. Crazy!

Keep calm and slave on!

Looks like that's how it's got to be buddy 🍆🍆🍆

way overpriced, i like silvertrader for the single purchases, QB falcon £36.39 and 2% off buying 2, i cant understand how RM price their coins but i do like that 2018 silver proof set with the frankenstein £2, very nice (wipe slaver from open jaw) but again way too expensive

They have the "big brand name" to back them up.... You would think that being the manufacturer and possibly being the biggest seller in the UK, their prices would be the cheapest??!!??

I just keep asking myself where does all that profit go?? Who is making all that money??

The variations in price are ridiculous!

They finish high but start even higher.. Lol

Is it my imagination? That getting a QB silver in North America is cheaper than the RM screwing selling to their own citizens?

Not imagining anything. The price of silver in this country is crazy. We pay high prices then pay 20% value added tax (VAT) on top. Its daylight robbery!!!

Congratulations! By using @tipU service today you have won STEEM MONSTER Booster pack :) Please go to https://steemmonsters.com and login to claim your reward

More info about the @tipU STEEM MONSTERS lottery :).

Thank you @tipu. Let's go see what I got #thankyou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07