How I Almost Broke My Ankle Longboard Racing! steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemskate5 years ago

I took a recent trip to British Columbia, Canada, to do some longboarding, and filming. The trip went amazingly, I had the entire month of July off to just explore BC. Went to my favorite event, Giants Head Freeride. Had my picture taken by professional photographers ( see a few posts back ), and filmed some amazing fun runs down this mountain. Felt super on my game the whole trip, and took some of the fastest runs down Giants Head I have taken yet.

Fast forward to the second last day of the trip, and I'm attending the Chute Lake longboard race. I was originally just planning to take it easy, and try to get as many runs as possible, but this run I got the competitive urge! The guy in the red helmet had been drinking, and being a bit of a dick. So when I started to pass him, it was on!

During practice, I had been sliding just before the corner, then gripping it. However this run went against my instincts, and followed the line of the person ahead of my, thinking they knew this hill better than me. As you can see in the slomo replay, he crashes at the same time I did. Thus I followed a bad line, and red helmet followed me, which you can hear at the very end of the video.

Aside from bruising and scrapes, I was the only one actually injured. When I hit the haybale I sprained my left ankle, and my board followed me, hitting me in the ankle. That's what cause the scrape you see on my ankle. That or the zipper from my leather suit dug into my leg, but due to the board hitting me. This got infected, and cause my ankle to swell quite badly. Couldn't even walk because the blood would rush too my foot, and made it hurt like hell! Had to take some pretty strong antibiotics, but luckily so noticeable issues from the antibiotics.

Now it's been a month and a half since the crash, and I'm close to being back at 100%. Definitely messed my back up more by laying down so much with my foot elevated due to the swelling. But I've been skating a little bit each day since I got back on my feet, and I can feel my balance coming back. My first real test was the previous video, and I felt pretty shakey still. Though I edited it out of that video, I did almost crash a few times, and nearly destroyed my 360 camera. Ended up sliding on the selfie stick!

Here is the previous video of me getting back on board, shot in 360!
https://steemit.com/dtube/@howweroll/vr0vhzwej6o

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I was thinking that the video makes me kind of dizzy and then you fell off your board and the only thing I could think of was OUCH! That must have hurt.. and your ankle looked so bad too.

But I guess that you learned your lesson and you will follow your instinct going forward :)

I'm glad to see that your ankle is healing and that you're slowly getting back on the board..

I hope that you won't have such accidents in the future :)

Oh if you thought this video was making you dizzy, probably avoid my 360 longboard dance video. It gets, a bit spinney

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to be in one piece after a bail.
Hope for a many a safe skate in the future.
Stoked to find other skaters on Steem.
rest up bro.
xD

If I ever replace my leather suit, my new one is going to have Bitcoin and Steem logos on it.
Lets make skating and longboarding on steem popular, and help us get paid for all content normally made for free by broke skaters!

Posted using Partiko Android

yesterday I was practicing riding on the longboard, but I was way much worse equipped. Didn't have a helmet, gloves, special suit, elbow and knee protection. This is how my knee looks today

kolano.jpg

It is crazy how fast you can ride on the longboard, compared to the traditional skateboard. I think I will stay with the second one. Extreme sports for life :)

Ouch. Yeah I am a big fan of protective gear. That leather suit was the biggest investment by far, but every time it saves me I feel it's probably the besy money I've ever spent. Mind you no amount of gear will save you from some of the serious slams you can have, so make sure you learn carefully and slowly, so as to not break your body.
As a rule, i never hit hills that take me up to speeds i don't feel safe stopping at, which was around maybe around 40 kph max. Slowly over the years i worked my way up to my current max speed, which is just under 100kph. Planning to work my way up to that video, build the audience a bit first.

Posted using Partiko Android

100kmph ?! damn man !
you're pro

I'm close, but pros usually skate up 140kmph. I still need to get faster if I plan to play with the real pros. But i'm mostly in this for the fun of skating, not competition.

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely I must buy a protective gear or switch into traditional skateboard ;p

Helmet and slide gloves are the minimum I skate with. Knee pads if I plan to do slides. Perhaps i'll do some educational videos on safety soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my goodness!
What a terror!
Thank God you didn't break your ankle.
You have strong bones.
You probably feel pain for a while.
Check with your doctor if you can use Arnica Montana globules.
Before and after each practice.
They are placed under the tongue.
Keep taking care of yourself.
Stay great

Oh my God!
I just watched your video from last week.
It terrified me more than the accident.
Although it is beautiful in 360
Those concrete walls and you pass them so close.
Just take care.

Thanks for the suggestion. I've used arnica for a bit, also have a topical cbd, and thc salve i've been using that seems to help a lot.
Normally I hardly ever crash, but this time I trusted someone else's judgment rather than my own, so that was why this crash happened. Before that I was doing fine, entering the corner at 70kph, no problem!

Posted using Partiko Android

My God, I imagine the pain you had to go through, hopefully you are recovering xoxo friend

Mostly pain free now, unless I push too hard. But i'd put the after swelling up at the top 3 pains I have felt before.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi howweroll,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Ever so grateful for the work you do on Steemit. Thank you Curie for being awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

ehy dear @howweroll, it's amazing how you can run with those boards !! but some wounds must be taken into account, are they not? and when did you start fell a million times ?? then to get back in shape it takes time, and even the fear of not getting hurt again is no joke! I, when I was young, played volleyball, and a bad day I was hit by a car, luckily only a bad bruise on my leg. then when I returned to play, in a short time because the wound was not serious, I had a fucking fear of the balls that were coming at me and instead of taking them I moved! this blow thing had shocked me for a lot :-))
congratulations for your videos and thanks for sharing

Yeah I pretry much always skate within my comfort zone, as I'm scared to miss out on skating because of an injury. I'm not getting any younger! Plus when the summer is so short where I live, a serious injury could mean I have to wait till next season to get back on a board.

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn! That looked bad.
Good to know it was that bad and you're back on your feet.
Take it easy, man.
Stay safe

All things considered, especially the part where I did a cartwheel, I got away pretty lucky!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 44.06% upvote from us for your 5278 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations @howweroll! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11