How I beat a potentially low evening , I went skating and created this video

in #steemskate5 years ago

Morning from a cold London town,

Last night could have been a dud. I was keen to either skate or go out but it wasn't happening . Instead of contemplating my present life and having existential crisis number 17. I decided to get creative and use all my skills, skating ,drawing,music and now film making.

So gaze upon the results comment, laugh or cry. This is not a sure quick fire fix for a potential low mood but rings true with the mantra I learnt from counselling.

"Action = Motivation"

Not to say keep pushing and forget your problems , you need to make time for that as well and will know if you running away. However sometimes you just have to create and make some artefact to encapsulate your present condition. Later on you can marvel at the journey you have accomplished .

Enough waffle hope you enjoy

Sort:  

Later on you can marvel at the journey you have accomplished .

That reminded me of the words of wisdom I got from one of my former bosses. There was once a fiasco at work and I unfortunately was the one caught in between even when it was not within my control. I eventually cried in front of my boss. He listened intently and said that I maybe crying "now" but I will be looking back to it and smile later on, even laugh at it. He was right! That situation actually made me more inspired to keep going.

You did great by getting into art with this video film making in spite of what's going on. That is a very good way to turn dull moments into positive outcome.

What was that instrument you were hitting at 00:29 time stamp? I first thought it was a typewriter. 😄 I like the fish-eye effect of the video. Was that a setting on your camera or effect of post processing?

Hi thank you so much for your comment . It is always so awesome to engage with other people on this platform. To answer you questions the "type writer" effect is actually a keyboard that I am playing . The setting is actually to replicate an old drum machine , like what you hear on old rap albums from the 80's . Problem is unless you got headphones on you wont pick up the bass so I guess it came out typriter esque.

The fisheye is actually an attachement I got from Amazon for my android phone. It was really cheap around £8 ($10) and really helps in getting good angles. The other drawings are my own . I am hope fully gonna drop another vid later today.

Again thanks so much for the comment

unless you got headphones on you wont pick up the bass so I guess it came out typriter esque.

I played it on my phone without headphone and I thought... Omg! That is supposed to be bass effect? I must have to clean my ears. 😃

Yeah, the fisheye did great on the video. I felt that the scene is more emphasized with the fisheye. Another video would be great. I hope you are feeling better now. 😊

Hey have been feeling good the last couple months , this past year has been tough but I just really had to distill my actions down to what makes my happy . It was first skateboarding and then music and then I combined the two and starting making videos which has increased creativity and ideas. I have down days like everybody but they not as prolonged and unproductive as before . Thanks again for your comments

I have down days like everybody but they not as prolonged and unproductive as before .

That's great to know, Keep going!

Aw! This reminds me of "skateboarding boys" from when I lived in San Diego. When I first moved there, the sound was everywhere and I got used to it. Now I am SE Asia and never see skateboarders. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

Watched, subbed and liked over at yt :)

Hey what an awesome comment, thank you so much . Yea SD was a massive hotbed for skating in the 80's and 90's. Will check out your channel and follow and all that jazz. Hopefully will be in Asia in August. Thanks again for the comment .

I love this man :) Really putting it all together, I think it is so cool that you record your own music accompaniment for your skate videos and it makes me happy that you are getting out there and creating instead of slipping deeper into a funk. Love you bro

Always the kindest words and natural energy to fuel further creative endevours

you didn't go out but at least you saw a few tricks. great kickflip and frontside 360 if I'm not. i have friends who skate in south america and now it's a luxury to skate with the economic crisis, very expensive boards.

I like the initiative of video, maybe being idle is not bad after all, I force you to make this piece that in my opinion has an ideological montage very well achieved.

the fisheye undoubtedly gives that look of video skate. fascinating. and unmatched rap although not all skate and listen to rap, I think it is the most appropriate music for the trilogy of hip hop.

thank you for sharing, greetings peace and love

Thanks for the comment , these comments keep me inspired to do more and there have been alot of comments on the fisheye which is rad. Yea the economies in South America have been brutal and hopefully crypto can help . Thanks for stopping by comments always mean so much

of nothing dear friend, because if the blockchain is the salvation not only for South America but for the world. I will be awaiting that new inspiration is born to you.

dude you rock. keep skatin and creatin.

NO you rock , trying to get back on Dischord more . Hope everything is good with you

Awesome dude.
Cab and aiwalk were pretty sweet and that 180 wallride was sooo good.

Indeed man,without action there is no motivation and without motivation there is no action.

Thanks dude but you didnt mention the pressure flip ...you hating bro hahaha

Hahahahah.
Dude for real now,I was never ableto do them pressure flips.
So I hate.haha haha

Hi stickchumpion,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

For me, the complicated thing is always the part of "beginning" to do x thing. It's something that we notice easily when it comes to homework: instead of writing an essay or whatever, we end up on YouTube or IG until we finally start, we enter the "zone" and don't leave until we have finished.
Also to all kinds of activities, even those that we can say we like a lot, obviously for different reasons much deeper and more complicated.

Totally I really trying hard to get put energy into things that give you a mental,spritual or physical return. I go down the IG youtue rabbit hole many a time but trying to not be lulled by its corrosive ways. I guess as long as we aware of it we GOOD !!!

Wowwww, that wallride in the end was sick!!! Also the 180 kickflip in slowmo :)

Soo the music in the background is all you on the keyboard? Nice! All this is 100% your work then! And it's totally true with the action. It's all about momentum IMO. Once you're rolling and you have a good feeling about urself, you just GO. And continue. It's soo much easier to continue when you're already rolling than to do the initial step and get going. Soooo keep it up :)!

Thanks for the kind words bro and yup all my own stuff. I am just getting a bit better at piecing everything together . Gonna drop a new dumb vid soon

Hahah dumb vid :D

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87