SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #steemsketchbook5 years ago (edited)

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Ensemble


ensemble.jpg

This idea originated as an exploration of dense solid shapes accented with curves, fine lines, and a little patterning detail. I envisioned it having a kind of Miro quality. The idea was also to have the main positive and negative areas be similar in size relation. My desire for complexity seemed to play a part in it as well.

ensemble sketch.jpg

I named the piece Ensemble because it felt like different moving parts acting in concert. I scanned my original ink drawing and created this vector version, which allowed me to add color and bring it to a finish that I can now use as the basis for an acrylic painting.

©All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped


footer.jpg

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared. I appreciate it.

Almost as if seeing fragmented pieces of the world, scattered, put back together, and then reworked into their new places :) There's a sprightly feeling in the coloured version. For some reasons, I feel like running down a summer's path, in the late afternoon and then realizing that the sun won't set for another 3 hours yet :)

Lovely piece, @mrsomebody <3

@veryspider I like your description! I agree it does feel like a summer path, maybe breezy and movement in the trees. Playful, not heavy. Thanks for your thoughts. I am just sketching it out on canvas now.

Congratulations @mrsomebody! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you @steemitboard! Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36