SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #steemsketchbook6 years ago (edited)

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.


The Enchantment of Being Human


The idea for this drawing was influenced by the book I am reading – Light at the Edge of the World – A Journey Through the Realm of Vanishing Cultures by Wade Davis. The book was published in 2001 but is new to me.

the-enchantment-of-being-human.JPG

In the preface Wade writes:
…what ultimately inspired these journeys was a restless desire to move, what Baudelaire called “the great malady”, horror of home. Simply put, I sought escape from a monochromatic world of monotony, in the hope that I might find a polychromatic world of diversity the means to rediscover and celebrate the enchantment of being human.

sketchbook.jpg

My original sketch. The portrait is from Instagram, but I embellished it with the ivory tusk, the shoulder elements, and those esoteric lotus petal flames emanating from his turban. The color was added in Photoshop.

All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped


footer2.jpg

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Great work, @mrsomebody! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @trincowski. I appreciate it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @c-squared for the upvote! Much appreciated.

Very creative! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you @delishtreats. I enjoy your travel posts!

Thank you! I'm pleased that you enjoy them!

Nice drawing <3 I love the tusk, to be honest <3 And the lotus petals make him look VERY sage :D

haha thanks @veryspider. I love amulets and mysterious potions and ornamentation for sure. It reminds me a little of an earlier drawing I did of an African woman: https://steemit.com/sketchcrazed/@mrsomebody/4j4pdb-sketchcrazed-surreal-lurid-unzipped

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13