SketchTravel in Greece

in #steemsketchbook5 years ago (edited)

SketchTravel in Greece

First to Athens


greece-0.jpg

We had mixed feelings about going to Greece. Some people said there are way more interesting places to visit, while others said they loved visiting the old clifftop monasteries in northern Greece, and chilling on the Greek islands.

So we booked a trip there, though only for 8 days. Athens proved to be more interesting than I expected, at least the old historical part in the middle of the city where you find the Acropolis and the Parthenon. We started off taking the short 10 minute walk (according to the hotel) to Ancient Agora. We did find it about an hour later. Our GPS seemed to have dimensia. There was an old museum with lots of pottery shards, and the grounds were full of ruins with pillars and a few still-standing structures. Instead of taking the “5 minute walk” to the Acropolis Museum and Parthenon, we took a cab and skipped the GPS maze. The Parthenon was especially interesting, but with crowds and wind, I didn’t try to do a sketch.

We also walked through the nearby old district of Plaka with its narrow streets and interesting merchant shops, then on to Monastitaki Square, where the change of the guards happens each hour for some reason.

We had dinner a couple times at what we were told was an authentic Greek tavern that served food. Although they have an extensive menu, you only get to order what the owner says you should. We ordered the grilled calamari, and he said "no, you order the stuffed squid". Ok… Another night we ordered the grilled calamari from one of his sons, but he came over and said "no, you order the baked stuffed fish". Ok… But it was all really good, and his son slipped us a couple drinks to try. One was what he called a mistake, no explanation. Some kind of port but tastier. The other was raki, a Greek moonshine made from leftovers of wine making. It was a family business and they were all so friendly, as was everyone in all of Greece EXCEPT one, who worked for the airline and so we just thought she probably hated her life.

On to Meteora

greece-1a.jpg

With the traffic in Athens being rush hour seemingly all the time, we opted to take a 2-day bus tour so we could visit the ruins of Delphi, and the amazing clifftop communities of Meteora further north. Since we were traveling off season, the only tour for that day was Spanish speaking, which we decided to book although our Spanish consists of 2 or 3 phrases like “dos cervezas por favor”, “un café con leche”, “banyos?” etc. We did meet English-speaking people on the tour, from San Diego, Brazil, and Chile, who helped us with the details. I didn’t mind the tour being in Spanish since I tend to ignore guides anyway, as they go about pointing out the obvious and being entertaining. But she was completely baffled that people who don’t speak Spanish would be on her tour, and didn't really warm up to us.

greece-1b.jpg

Meteora was really a kind of jaw-dropping experience. I can see why it is a World Heritage Site, with its enormous rounded boulders and natural pillars jutting out of the ground all of a sudden in this relatively small area. Some of them reminded me of the giant ribs of rock side by side in Arches National Park, listing close to each other like giant drunken dominoes. Originally, monks moved into the area and built some 24 monasteries beginning in 1344 AD, for protective purposes. The only way to reach them was from long ladders or nets that were pulled up for protection.

There were so many things I wanted to sketch, but being on a bus tour is very limited. For these sketches I took a few minutes to get a quick pencil skeleton of the view in place, and then worked on them later with my photo reference. Not ideal, but when the bus starts up it’s time to go!

Vacationing in Atlantis

greece-2a.jpg

Next we skipped the 8-hour ferry ride to the Greek island of Santorini and took the 45 minute flight to give us more time to explore. Again it was nice being there a little off-season to avoid much of the crowds. I love how everything is painted white, and how cars can only get you so close. Then you have to walk the narrow roads to get around. You have no business being here if you don’t like steps. I love places like this that were built for foot traffic, before the world was blessed by the automobile. We dropped our luggage off and caught a cab to the northern village of Oia. I still can’t pronounce that name. It is a cool village with an old castle ruin that has become the most popular spot on the whole island for watching the sunset. We saw the village and castle ruin during the day but decided to watch the sunset from our deck instead, sipping a glass of 2017 Atlantis red. A killer view with no crowds.

greece-2b.jpg

It’s not really Atlantis, but who cares?


Santorini is built on the caldera of an active volcano. It blew it’s top 3500 years ago, which destroyed a Minoan village there that must have been like the ones in neighboring Crete – with running water and indoor plumbing. So many people believe this volcanic island of Santorini was the fabled location of Atlantis written about by Plato. It wasn’t, but the islanders want to think so. We visited the excavation site at Akrotiri, but the two main museums were closed on the days we were there. Bummer, but whaddya do? Instead we visited the old part of Emporio Village. It reminded me of a Southwest US pueblo, with a maze of wandering narrow sidewalks full of tiny living quarters, all with no running water, heat or electricity. It was amazingly windy, so again sketching was kind of problematic, though exploring on foot worked just fine.

greece-3.jpg

We were told that 2 million people visit this little island each year, and that tourism makes up 90% of the economy. Wine producing makes up only 10%. If you don’t like crowds and tours (who does?), off season visiting seems like a must. We definitely liked our time exploring here, and never got tired of the views of these old towns clinging to the steep cliffs, all brilliant white with the deep blue domes of the churches. There are around 500 churches on the island, but it’s hard to know the exact count because they keep building new ones.

for my sketches: ©All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

Steemians, thanks for reading this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and make any comments below.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared!

A very interesting post and the first time I have seen someone do sketches of their holiday. This is very different and really refreshing. Something in each placed must have sparked you to draw what you did and it must bring back fond memories. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful trip.

Thank you @cryptoandcoffee for your kind comments - I think I've always taken a sketch book on trips. I don't try to capture the essence of a place, or the main attractions. Just things that look interesting and have good form, shadow and contrast. The last drawing is an abstraction of a museum installation, where I added patterning from pottery I saw on display. so some drawings are completely abstract. Last year I visited Portugal and had more time to sketch. You can see it here https://steemit.com/travel/@mrsomebody/sketchtravel-in-portugal

So you draw it then or from memory. I thought maybe you took a few photographs and then incorporated some ideas. It is fantastic however you do it though and will look for Portugal now.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello @mrsomebody!
I understand your mixed feelings about the location (Greece) but don't worry, people are different, with different taste and expectations. What is good for one, might not be good for the other, so I wouldn't worry about what others say.

We started off taking the short 10 minute walk (according to the hotel) to Ancient Agora. We did find it about an hour later. Our GPS seemed to have dimensia.

😁 😂 This was very funny. Unfortunately it happens when you're at a place you are not familiar with.

I absolutely love your sketches. This type or art always fascinates me and I'm planning to try it out, have never done it, so i guess it's time. I believe it can be more interesting then what I've been doing so far, which is drawing. I don't know how can you do a sketch while you're visiting the place and on a schedule. I think you have to be very good, which you obviously are!

I love all your sketches but if I were to choose one, I'd choose the second Santorini sketch. I've never been to Greece but I've seen photos (who hasn't?) and your sketch looks exactly like those photos you can see on the internet.

Congratulations, keep up the good job and people post your sketches because I haven't seen anyone on Steemit doing sketches.

Thank you @erikah. Yes I agree, people have different tastes. For me Greece had lots to offer. I especially appreciated the variety, from the historical structures and museums to the brilliant white painted villages built onto the cliffs of the island of Santorini. You can make a sketchbook be whatever you want. I have some sketchbooks that have lots of notes and commentary, with pasted in receipts, stamps, anything that looked interesting - like a scrapbook. I paint with watercolors in some too. I'd say just do it for yourself and don't worry about your skill level.

I was just reading about Santorini today, and to see your sketches of it and to read your account of your visit to Greece was really very special. My sister visited Athens, and your sketches are a lovely counterpoint to her photos. Meteora I have never even heard of, but your sketches have intrigued me!

Thank you @deanandmathews - I loved the mix of things to see, from the ruins in Athens to the high cliff monasteries in Meteora, and then of course to the windy island of Santorini. We had great views from everywhere on Santorini since it is all built on the steep sides of the sunken volcano. I like to take photos too of course, but taking the time to do a sketch does impact you more. They have more memory of the place embedded in them. Last year I visited Portugal and had more time for sketching. You can see it here if interested... https://steemit.com/travel/@mrsomebody/sketchtravel-in-portugal

Greece is an amazing place and its history is great. I like your post and your sketch!!!
Congratulations and Steem on!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your thoughts @monica90. We did see a lot in a short trip. I'd love to come back and see more. I visited Portugal last year and had more time to sketch. You can see it here if you want - https://steemit.com/travel/@mrsomebody/sketchtravel-in-portugal

I have never visited Portugal, but I know that Greece is wonderful: Sea, History and Food are three good reasons to come back there.
😉👍
What will be your next travel?

Posted using Partiko Android

Good question. My wife wants to go to Italy, but I am thinking Germany/Austria. We need to do another Japan visit soon too. So many places...

Well if you will decide to visit Italy, do not esitate to ask me something!!!
I live near Florence and I can help you😉👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh sweet, ok! I did travel around Italy some years ago and loved all of it - Rome, Tuscany, Florence, Venice, Cinque Terra, Positano, Paestum. I should post those sketches sometime.

These places are between the most beautiful in the world. Proud to be an Italian man and to live in a so much great country. Tag me in you posts when you will add sketches about Italy✌️😊🇮🇹

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi mrsomebody,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Much appreciated! Thank you @curie

Congratulations @mrsomebody! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Fantastic tour. Thanks for sharing.
Good narrative. It was an enjoyable read.
I'd love to visit a place like that one day. So much history and culture.
Great drawings/sketches. Loved the technique; classic, neat, elegant

Thank you @hlezama. It is always rewarding to find time to do some drawing on my travels. I have quite a collection of sketchbooks now, in various states of falling apart from weather, getting wet, sand and just getting beat up in my pack. But that's ok since they have a life of their own and a story to tell as well.

Hi there @mrsomebody!

I love the idea!! Well actually ir is the first time to see drawings or sketches instead of the actual snap from our cameras. Your sketches are far more valuable than any picture I have seen in Greece.

Thank you for sharing a glimpse of Greece! I bet they are as beautiful as they seem to be. And will always be included in my dream bucket list.

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @maquemali! It is always rewarding to find time for sketching, as well as taking photos. It takes a little while to do a sketch, and I find the sense of place gets more embedded in the sketches that way. I like it when I sit long enough and become kind of invisible, where the birds and bees resume their activities around me. I appreciate your comments. You can see more travel-sketch posts on my blog page.

I could actually picture you leisurely sitting down somewhere with your sketchpad and pen while you do your stuff.. I really love love all your Greece Skecthes! I wish I had your skills too.

I like it when I sit long enough and become kind of invisible, where the birds and bees resume their activities around me

Hahahaha i feel you there! Its when we are alone and undisturbed that we are able to work better. Its funny, You the bees and birds do not mind whatever you were doing. You three had minded your own businesses! Hahahaha..

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44