THE CAT LADIES - episode 2 - A Comedy Sketch Written for SteemStar After Dark

in #steemstarnetwork6 years ago (edited)

Ladies and gentlemen! It's almost Friday, when we will gather on The SteemStar Network for some sketch comedy, technical difficulties and overall merriment!



It's Steemstar After Dark! A new Steemstar show hosted by @CarrieAllen, @SirCork, @ChrisRoberts and more!

Here are the links!

DISCORD SERVER
YOUTUBE
STEEMSTAR 24/7 LIVE STREAM
TWITCH


I've been writing comedy sketches for the last few weeks to get the ball rolling. If you'd like to perform in one of the radio sketches or serials, just be there at the show and you're in!


Here are the sketches from last week's show!


We're also looking for more comedy writers. C'mon. I know you have stuff. And it's probably funnier than you think when read on the radio. Give it a shot!


Here's one of my offerings for tomorrow's show. It's episode 2 in a series called The Cat Ladies, written exclusively for SteemStar After Dark!


CHATACTERS

DORIS - Elderly Owner of Multiple Cats
AGNES - Elderly Owner of Multiple Cats
ETHEL - Elderly Owner of Multiple Cats

SOUND FX - BEGIN MULTIPLE CATS MEOWING, CONTINUES THROUGHOUT

                    ETHEL

        Thanks for coming, girls. I’m happy to call the 56th weekly meeting
        Of the Happy Fluffy Kitty Scrapbooking Club, in session.

                    DORIS

        Is there any new business?

                    AGNES

        Motion to change the name of the group.

                    ETHEL

        Motion denied. We’ve been through this, Agnes. 

We agreed on the Happy Fluffy
Kitty Scrapbooking Club al a year ago.

                    AGNES

        I know, but General Whiskers keeps telling me that he’d like the 
        Club to be called General Whiskers’ Battalion. And you know how
        He plots against me in my sleep...

                    DORIS

        Heavens to Betsy, Agnes. You’ve got to stand up to that General 
        Whiskers once in awhile.

                    AGNES

        He deserves respect. General Whiskers is a war hero.

                    ETHEL

        Oh yeah? My late husband Burt fought in the Korean

War. What war did General Whiskers fight in?

AGNES

        Why, he was instrumental in the sacking of the neighbor’s sandbox, 
        And he even chased that possum out from under the house.

                    DORIS

        He’s put on a few pounds since then, hasn’t he?

                    ETHEL

        Yep. Fat General Whiskers won’t be leading any campaigns anytime soon.

DORIS AND ETHEL LAUGH

                    AGNES

        OK girls. Page Count!

                    DORIS

        Well, I’m thrilled to announce that I’ve added fourteen new pages since
        Last week’s meeting, bringing my fourth volume to 84 pages!

                    ETHEL

        Wow, Doris! You certainly have been busy. Did you have a pageant?

SOUND FX - CAT COMMOTION

        Hey you two! Mr. Anderson Pooper and Miss Cat-apult! Leave that
        Wallpaper alone! Sorry about that. They always act up when I have 
        Company.

                    DORIS

        As a matter of fact, last Thursday, my clan had a playdate with 
        Margie Ross’s eight lovely ladies. They were all on their best
        Behavior, and we decided to do a spectacular costume parade!

                    AGNES


        Wow, Doris! You certainly took a lot of pictures.

                    DORIS

        Oh yes! My cats love the limelight. Here’s the Knights of the
        Meow Table… Here’s a few pages of Space Kitties in Space…
        

                    ETHEL

        Would you look at that adorable little rocket ship?

                    DORIS

        [suddenly] Quiet, Ethel! I have the floor! [normal again]

And this is 20,000 Felines Under the Sea… Don’t worry,
Mr. Catsanova and Octopussy
Are both very good at holding their breath.

[pause]

And here I used all sixteen cats to recreate the
Sermon on the Mount. Doesn’t Mr. Cat Stevens just
make a great Jesus?

        AGNES

Now that’s divinely inspired, Doris.

        ETHEL

And how was your niece’s wedding, Doris?

        DORIS

Oh, I didn’t make it. It takes hours of hard work
To put together a production like this. I was exhausted.

        AGNES

I understand, Doris. Kitties are a lot of work. Whenever I
Come home smelling like other people, I catch hell from
Chairman Meow, and you know how he is.

        DORIS and ETHEL

[AD LIB AGREEMENT]

        ETHEL

And what would you like to share with us today, Agnes?

        AGNES

[EXCITEDLY] Well, Remember how I told you I was working on
A new scrapbook… something a little different?

        DORIS

No.

        AGNES

It’s finally ready! I’d like to present Buried Treasures. Have a look.

        ETHEL

Wow, Agnes. This is a thick book. Not only pictures, I assume.

        AGNES

That’s right. Hardly any pictures in this volume.

        DORIS

What is that thing?

        ETHEL

Is that a hairball?

        AGNES

It sure is. A few weeks ago I discovered that if I save the
Hairballs and set them on my kitchen windowsill, by the next
Day they’re nice and preserved… Now my kitties’ buried treasures
Will live forever in this scrapbook.

        DORIS

Jeez, Agnes. They still smell. And This one’s dripping. I thought you
Said they were dry.

        ETHEL

So you just put a bunch of regular hairballs into a scrapbook?

        AGNES

Oh, heavens no. I pick only the most extraordinary buried treasures
For the book. You know, ones that look like celebrities or states.

        DORIS

Wow. That one really does look like Beaker from the Muppets.

        AGNES

I know. I also found one that looks like Dr. Oz.

        DORIS

Ewww. What did you use to stick them to the pages? Some of them
Are falling out.

        AGNES

That’s the best part. I just kind of squished them to the page, and they
Stuck all on their own. It was meant to be!

        ETHEL

        Agnes… You’ve done some lovely work here, but to be completely honest,
        It’s revolting. Could you put it out on the front porch until the end of our 
        Meeting?

                    DORIS

        I second that motion.

                    AGNES

        Well. Can’t recognize good art when you see it.

SOUND FX - MANY CATS CRESCENDO

THE END


Sorry about the ridiculous formatting problems. If anyone knows how to insert a Google Doc script into a Steemit post, I'm all ears.

If you'd like this script or any of my others in their original document form, just lemme know in the comments and I'll share it with you.




Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85