Social Society Syndrome by @simgirl Written for Steemstar After Dark

in #steemstarnetwork6 years ago

A Skit Written for Steemstar After Dark!


Imgur



This is a skit that I wrote for Steemit After Dark- Steemit After Dark is a show on the Steemstar Network, hosted by @carrieallen on Friday nights 8pm EST.

On this radio show @carrieallen and her other half @chrisroberts create skits for other Steemians to read aloud. Volunteers are chosen from the Steemstar Network Discord, and cast for each skit. The skits are then streamed and recorded for your entertainment.

If you would like to hear last week's Steemit After Dark Show check out 😎Steemstar After Dark😎 - E7 - SHOW Archive - June 8, 2018.



Social Society Syndrome by @simgirl



Cast:
Narrator
Rita
Fara
Mimi’s Mom
Mimi

Narrator
Welcome to Stranger than Science Fiction.

Tonight, we bring you another real-life-like story. This story is about a group of women and an obscure social media message that could have been based on a true story… but we are too lazy to research the facts and will be making it up as we go.

Have you ever been a victim of Social Society Syndrome?

Social Society Syndrome is a common illness in which an otherwise normal person reads a message on social media and then believes they understand the message. The person will then spread their “version” of the message on to others without clarification from the message sender.

This was previously known as “jumping to conclusions”, and “making mountains out of molehills”, common in small towns and rural areas. Today Social Society Syndrome (simply pronounced as SSS) affects millions and billions of people daily. This illness can be contagious… as you will witness in this tale about Mimi.

This story took place in texts. Trained voice actors will be reading the texts to our audience, so they can better understand what took place over a period of six hours.

Rita
Fara, did you see Mimi’s post on Fakebook? She said, “I’m at the end of my rope.”

Fara
Yes, I did see that Rita, what do you think she meant by that?

Rita
I’m not sure. But it can’t be good.

Fara
Do you think we should check on her?

Rita
I called her cell phone and there was no answer.

Fara
I’ll run by her apartment and you text her mother.

Rita
Okay. I’ll text her now.
I can’t find Mimi. Has she called you today?

Mimi’s Mom
Hi Rita. No, she hasn’t called today… Is everything alright? Should I be worried?

Rita
I’m not sure. She wrote this morning on her Fakebook, “I’m at the end of my rope.”

Mimi’s Mom
She was upset that she didn’t get the promotion she expected. Do you think she would hurt herself?

Rita
I don’t think Mimi would do anything hasty. Fara went to check her apartment. She is texting me now I will make it a group text.

Fara
She’s not at the apartment. I called her work and they said she took a personal day.

Mimi’s Mom
I’m very concerned.

Rita
Don’t worry we will find her. Fara, was her car there?

Fara
No, her car is gone. I think we are making too big of a deal. She could have just went out for a coffee.

Rita
Well maybe we should go look for her.
I will go to all her favorite shopping stores.

Fara
I will go to all her favorite bars. 😊

Mimi’s Mom
And I will check the police station, the hospitals, and the morgue.

Narrator
A few hours later the texts continue between Rita, Fara and Mimi’s Mom.

Rita
She’s gone. I looked everywhere.

Fara
I even stayed at each bar for a drink hoping she would come by but no sign of Mimi.

Mimi’s Mom
Her phone is going straight to voicemail. I think it is time to call the police.

Rita
The police won’t help. A person must be missing for more than 24 hours.

Mimi’s Mom
I think we should at least have some sort of prayer circle.

Rita
I agree

Fara
Agreed.

Mimi’s Mom
We’ll meet outside Mimi’s apartment

Rita
I’ll bring the candles.

Fara
I’ll bring some music.

Narrator
Rita, Fara, and Mimi’s Mom gathered together outside of Mimi’s apartment with candles and music. They are praying that their beloved Mimi be safe from harm, and that no tragic fate would end her life. What started as a brief vague and obscured message on Fakebook has now metastasized into a vigil for the “missing” Mimi.

Without the others noticing, Mimi parallel parks her car into her normal parking space and then gathers the shopping bags from the back seat. She walks up behind them.

Mimi
What are you guys doing?

Rita, Fara and Mimi’s Mom
(In unison)
Mimi!

Mimi’s Mom
Where have you been all day young lady? We have been worried sick.

Mimi
I went shopping.

Fara
Without your phone?

Rita
You left a message on Fakebook saying you were at the end of your rope…

Mimi
I meant my phone battery was dead. I woke up, saw my phone was dead and decided to take the day off.

Rita
We thought you were going to do something reckless…

Mimi’s Mom
I mean who leaves for hours without their phone. It’s unheard of in this day in age…

Fara
I’m totally going to write about this in my next Steemit post… as soon as I sober up a bit.

Narrator
As you can see Social Society Syndrome can affect everyone and no one is immune. You can increase your immunity to SSS by avoiding social media every day, waiting for an answer from the message sender before assuming you know what they mean and by basically minding your own business.

Awareness of SSS is the first step to a cure!

The End

Thanks for reading!

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur


Thanks to @snook for this super cool gif!

Sort:  

Well I would have worried too lol.

Yes, beware of SSS! And sadly, my phone is always dead! Disorganised here. :)

Good luck on COM 17!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99