I'm doing my Master Thesis on Steemit and I need your help #Survey

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hi Steemians!
I'm a french student who is currently writing his master thesis on Steemit. I am truly convinced that this is the future of social networks. To prove that, i need you to answer to this survey, it will take you about 40 secondes

http://edhec.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_2aczBYRMhCw6EQJ

timon-studler-87779.jpg

In this thesis i'm studying the level of trust that users have on Steemit compared to the level of trust that users have on Facebook.

I think that the way Steemit works is good for trust which is very important on a social networks. Steemit don't sell your personnal data because it's not their business model. There is no ads on Steemit.
In my opinion Facebook is dying because users don't trust it anymore. There is no more privacy on Facebook and user don't interact with the platform to avoid giving their personal data (following the result that i had on the other survey)

giphy (7).gif

If you want to know more about social cooling don't hesitate to check my previous article on steemit : https://steemit.com/steemit/@devidev/can-steemit-prevent-from-social-cooling

And if you want to contribute to this thesis don't hesitate to resteem this post. The more answers I get, the best it is for this thesis.

I wish to finish this thesis quiet soon because i want to share my result with all the community.

Have a nice day Steemians and thanks in advance for your help ! :)

Sort:  

Trust? Everything about us is not just on the internet, but it is on a blockchain. The data is never getting erased, no matter what. For example, if someone like me posts something incorrect in his science post, even if it is a small spelling mistake or an important equation, if it is wrong, we have seven days to verify and correct it. Else it will never happen.

We do trust each other, as a community. Because this platform kind of works like democracy... We vote on who should get more steem power.

We do trust each other, as a community. Because this platform kind of works like democracy... We vote on who should get more steem power.

I am just as conscious as I am on facebook. But I do trust steemit, because everyone has little to hide here. You can see who posted what and when all the time. So people already act as good as they can. They don't hesitate putting their good side, their passion, their caring, in front of the world, so they do it here. Because facebook makes hell lot of money out of it, and there we feel like all the time we spent with friends and family and people on facebook, can be sold for ads...

If you are looking for privacy though, you should go else where, lol.

Thanks for your comment @pratik27 ! But do you think that more transparency thanks to the blockchain can lead to more trust ?

This is a community @devidev, there are some people we can trust and there are some who we can't.

As for the social media platform, I see it as a genuine attempt to pay the people for their contributions in a social media.

Any company or government can now view our data, for ever. So I really try to be very cautious. And I can easily assume everyone else is too. So, people can still choose how they want to be perceived, and that means I don't know them really. I just know them the way they want themselves to be known. This isn't any different from daily interactions with people though, is it? So I trust some people I am talking to for a long while, and I also try and welcome newcomers like yourself to engage in the community.

But I can trust my government if it applies blockchain to every transaction it makes. Isn't that what everyone wants?? A transparent goverment? The right to know where their taxes are going? So I trust steemit platform when it comes to transactions, because it is a blockchain.

I'm agree with you , thanks for your feedback @pratik27 ;)

This is a community @devidev, there are some people we can trust and there are some who we can't.

As for the social media platform, I see it as a genuine attempt to pay the people for their contributions in a social media.

Any company or government can now view our data, for ever. So I really try to be very cautious. And I can easily assume everyone else is too. So, people can still choose how they want to be perceived, and that means I don't know them really. I just know them the way they want themselves to be known. This isn't any different from daily interactions with people though, is it? So I trust some people I am talking to for a long while, and I also try and welcome newcomers like yourself to engage in the community.

But I can trust my government if it applies blockchain to every transaction it makes. Isn't that what everyone wants?? A transparent goverment? The right to know where their taxes are going? So I trust steemit platform when it comes to transactions, because it is a blockchain.

Congratulations @devidev! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70