Sort:  

That's really interesting! We do have some signs on some tracks, but rarely on mountains - usually just on the lower levels. I've never seen avalanche signs, probably because most of our mountains are not high enough to have snow year-round, so the avalanche risk areas change frequently.
I've never seen a cornice warning sign.
Also, this kind of thing can be a controversial subject in Scotland. A couple of months ago I was walking on a mountain after heavy rainfall, and part of a steep path seemed to be dangerously eroded. I walked over it, but I later met a couple who told me they had turned back, as they thought it was too dangerous.
Later on, I mentioned it on a Facebook group for hillwalkers, and a few people laughed at my comments and posted "nanny state" memes, even though I was only mentioning it, to warn people, not demanding action or anything!
I also mentioned it by email to a mountaineering group, and they were really helpful.

Yep, I guess it all depends from a state to another and from a surface to another. It's sad to hear they acted that way when you was just pointing it out but in my opinion your gesture was really a good move and I appreciate it! So sorry some of the people were laughing.

It can be like that on Facebook. Steemians are much more sensible!

That is great! I always wanted to go hiking to Romania and I see that I would be lost without your guide :) I have already saved it and hope to use it soon!

Thank you for sharing!

Really? :)
I feel honoured to read this and I'm very happy that I coul help you! :D

I've seen a lot of those markers myself from the Seven Ladders canyon. I thought they were flags from other countries. I saw a lot of reds and assumed they were warnings or something :) Didn't notice anything dangerous at all!

Nope, haha. They all have a meaning and they are not flags even though the way they are painted may seem like that. From what I noticed every country has it's own hiking markers so when that time of visiting a new country will come by, I will make sure to also write about those markers and learn something new too! :)
Thanks for stopping! 😘

Congratulations @gabrielatravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gabrielatravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by GabrielaTravels from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is really helpful information especially for hikers' safety. The avalance warnings sound scary.

Thanks for sharing :)

Yep but at least there is a marker who tells something about that avalanche and the hikers assumes their risk knowing about it :D

This is incredible helpful - it must haven taken a long time to collect all this information. Great work.

To be honest - I didn't even realize how many hours I spent creating it because I really enjoyed writing about these markers. Thank you so much!!! ♥️

Great work indeed! I knew the characters at the beginning of a route but the rest is new to me. Can I use the excuse that I wasn't aware of this because I actually don't like walking around? 😇

Really helpfull this! Thanks for sharing. 😘

Hahaha. Yes? Or no? Lol.
At least I hope you will remember the one dedicated to mountain biking since you like cycling :)
Thanks for stopping by! 😘

Hehe I know the ones for the MTB trails indeed!

Fun thing, now you have mentioned this, I see many pictures at Steemit while reading posts with the signs you told us about. Before I never noticed them for sure!

So happy to find out that it was a useful article! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71