Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

nice post, @javier.dejuan :> might need to actually provide the likeness' sources to see if the methods work, though? for your students :>

like, how can someone tell that these capture the persons' essence without having a frame of reference to the persons' likeness?

maybe do one off someone famous or sommit, someone people understands the personality of?

Typically, I use this technique when I sketch people passing by, that is with exposure times very short or when I draw from imagination and I want to figure out a strong character personality. Besides, if you use this technique drawing from photo references, I recommend to have different angles of the head, because our brain must understand the overall volume of it. But, yes, to reinforce these ideas, and to convince unfaithful Verbal sketchers, a new post is necessary, I will built it. Theses ideas came to me when I got frustrated sketching portraits , using the verbal technique, and then my inner voice whispers me: "Draw head as a landscape". As a personal suggestion, @veryspider, as you have a very nice and loose hatching style when you draw drapery, and you also feel comfortable with graphic density concept my inner voice would tell you: "Draw heads like dresses". I know this may sound very very invasive, so, please excuse my inner voice meddling XD.
Your obedient servant,
Javier.

This is so interesting to me; the idea of drawing, but not drawing literally! I'll have to give this a try :) Thanks for sharing!!

Thanks for subscribing this technique @lynncoyle1! This is a good approach for an observation drawing.
Please, take a taste of it and share your experience.
regards,
Javier

I always find it interesting how other people create their drawing. It's amazing that you put so much thought into your creation process.

I m a mathematician : ) The only thing that never abandons me is my head. She is always above my shoulders. If I don't feed her with good tasks and problems, she can destroy me. I m an the neuronal one : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78