Our fear of Artificial Intelligence - is it reasoned?

in #steemstem5 years ago

Introduction

Artificial Intelligence is quickly becoming a part of our reality. We can travel by self-driving cars, talk to our voice assistants and observe the best human players in the world being beaten by a computer. However, simultaneously with incredible possibilities it brings serious dangers, which involve anxiety among people. In this article we will confront common concerns about the future of AI.

terminator_endoskeleton_1020.0.jpg
Source

Humans will lose their jobs to AI

Do you know any lamplighter? Milkman? Natural consequence of technological development is we are gaining possibility to automatize and replace some human occupations. It has always been like that, however, AI arouses the biggest anxiety, as it is extremely effective in repetitive tasks and can find an application in various industries.

001_Lamplightter.jpg
Source

In 2013, scientists from the University of Oxford analyzed the probability of particular occupations being automated. They have been evaluated based on 3 categories:

  • emotional intelligence
  • creativity
  • manual dexterity

Those are qualities that currently differ us from AI and make us more or less irreplaceable. Occupations that do not demand any of those are encumbered with the highest risk. According to the scientific research such professions as telemarketer, jeweler, cashier or model have 95% chance of being automated in the near future.

We need to remember that implementing technology around us is generally aimed to make our life easier. Obviously this approach results in some professions becoming unnecessary, but simultaneously it opens up many new opportunities. Hundred years ago the word "programmer" has not even existed, while nowadays it is one of the most popular occupations.

Responsibility of AI

The way AI should be making decisions while controlling a car is a serious moral dilemma nowadays. Should it decide to swerve passengers into a wall in order to avoid a group of pedestrians on the road? Or maybe passengers should be a priority, like in case of a human driver? Probably the answer is obvious, as from mathematical point of view it is better to save more people. However, awareness that your car may decide to kill you is frightening.

tesla.jpg
Source

If AI makes a mistake on the road and accidentally kills a human, like in case of a self-driving Uber in Arizona, who should be responsible? Programmers who developed this AI? Owner of the car? If a computer program made a mistake, it implies that every copy of this program can make the same mistake in the future. What would it mean for other self-driving cars?

AI can be used to hurt people

Israel and South Korea are already using killer robots, which on auto mode can autonomously decide whether to kill a human or not. This sounds frightening, but we need to clarify one thing. Humanity is not yet building machines with strong AI, which could think abstractly or experience consciousness - we are just building machines that are extremely good at learning specific tasks, which is called weak AI.

For that reason, weak AI cannot act like human being - basing its decision on emotions, ideology or faith. It is just a computer program that effectively recognizes patterns and makes decision accordingly. Therefore, its choice is based solely on a complex mathematical calculations taking into consideration circumstances in a particular situation. It is not a personal decision of a superintelligent autonomous robot.

RTSHTC2.jpeg
Source

Things become more complicated once strong AI is developed. Actually, we do not know very much about the way that human brain works, so fully simulating it on a computer may bring unpredictable effects. For example, military robots may unexpectedly switch sides. Stephen Hawking once said:

Unless we learn how to prepare for, and avoid, the potential risks, AI could be the worst event in the history of our civilization. It brings dangers, like powerful autonomous weapons, or new ways for the few to oppress the many.

In 2017, 116 leading technology experts, including Elon Musk, signed an open letter calling on the United Nations to ban the development and use of AI weaponry. As can be seen, the problem is treated really seriously.

AI may be able to control humans

However, force is not our main danger coming from AI. On the earth there are dozens of species that are more powerful than humans. Thanks to our brains, we have learned how to control them and gain the advantage. If strong AI is developed, it will certainly become more intelligent than any human, which consequently may lead us to become the controlled ones. The obvious question is: when will it happen and how avoid this scenario?

Elon Musk wrote on Twitter:

Probably closer to 2030 to 2040 imo. 2060 would be a linear extrapolation, but progress is exponential.

Actually, this may happen never or much earlier than we expect. In 2015, many experts underestimated the ability of AI to play Go, predicting it would overtake humans by 2027. It eventually took two years instead of twelve.

deepmind-alphago-training-time.gif
Source

We know really little about the way strong AI would operate, so we are not even sure if its development is possible, to say nothing about the potential date. However, we still need to ensure that humanity is prepared to such breakthrough.

In order to peacefully coexist with a human-level AI, it needs to have human values implemented. It has to evaluate the surrounding word beyond the "cold calculations" and treat us like we treat other humans. It needs to understand the sense of morality, loyalty and social responsibility.

References

Sort:  

Hi @neavvy, I got your memo and came to look. Thanks for the head's up.

This is not a topic I give too much thought to. I'm in SE Asia and do not see news or watch movies or read books, so it just never comes up.

Anything Elon Musk says, I would take with a big grain of salt. I feel like he is a manufactured character. I'm pretty sure he will soon be disgraced in any number of ways. I do watch gossip sites that have been fairly reliable in the past and he seems to be falling apart these days. Lots of stories are told about him in recent months relating to drugs and not having the money people think he has.

I don't drive so self-driving cars are not something I think about either. I do ride public transport and sometimes hand my money directly to a driver on a dirt road. I do not think a computer is coming soon for that job, but you never know.

And here is how they clean a canal in Bangkok:

IMG_3335.JPG

There are people down there in the muck and the job took about one month in the little section I could see.

Hey there, @fitinfun, I recognise you from @world-travel-pro threads! :)

I don't drive so self-driving cars are not something I think about either.

That won't stop a self-driving car from running you over. I don't mean to be rude, and I am certainly not wishing that on you or anyone, I'm just pointing out that the existence of such automatons threatens us all, whether or not we choose to think about it.

I walk in the streets here in SE Asia, so any number of vehicles could run into me at any given time. Sidewalks are non-existent or impassable for the most part.

Usually I am walking in the path of motorcycles, cars or trucks with people in them and they all have avoided me so far. As far as I know none of them have been self driving, but I don't really pay attention.

When your time comes, your time comes. Worrying about random tech that might evolve to kill me is not something I spend time on.

Well, I can relate to that! I have nearly been run over by motorcycles on the sidewalk here in Buenos Aires more times than I can count.

But, as nicely as possible, and with sincere respect, there's nothing "random" about this tech we are discussing. It is all very much calculated, and there is no place to hide. It will reach out and touch all of us, all too soon.

Well, I will let you worry about it for me. Double worrying! How fun is that? It is just way too boring a subject for me to ponder. Without a wallet transfer to come to this post I would not even notice it. Maybe when it reaches out to touch me I will not even know that either.

And as I said it my first reply - noted fake person, elon musk, is involved in this topic. This really makes me steer clear.

dear @redpossum, @neavvy, @fitinfun

Your conversation made me wonder about something else. Let's assume that technology is already advanced and face recognition is also something common. So your car would know who you are and his AI would allow to estimate value of your life.

Imagine situation where you're about to crash with similar car but the owner of it is being recognized by his own car as a very valuable.

And now those 2 cars could quickly communicate with each other in order to transfer some basic data about drivers/passenger. And both cars would decide on what would happen next.

That's insane ....

I can't imagine the lifestyle you lead that would allow you the time to contemplate such a thing @crypto.piotr. I live in a place of jalopies and concern myself with today's reality as opposed to tomorrow's science fiction. I agree with the insanity part though.

Dear @fitinfun

I can't imagine the lifestyle you lead that would allow you the time to contemplate such a thing

hahaha perhaps I just found your conversation on this topic very interesting :)

Cheers
Piotr

@crypto.piotr this scenario is terrifying but surely possible. People really like evaluating each other. You can even observe this fact here on Steem, everyone has reputation. Users with 30 or 70 are treaten completely different.

Congratulations @neavvy! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

Thank you for your reply @fitinfun.

Anything Elon Musk says, I would take with a big grain of salt. I feel like he is a manufactured character. I'm pretty sure he will soon be disgraced in any number of ways. I do watch gossip sites that have been fairly reliable in the past and he seems to be falling apart these days.

Interesting, I didn't know about that. I respect him for what he did for technology, but I think that he is personally very frustrated guy. Recently I have heard that he had been publicly thinking about how much time should he minimally spend with his girlfriend per week in order to satisfy her. He brought such insights up, because he wanted to limit the time for relationships as much as it is possible in order to have more time for work.

For that reason I can believe that he used drugs, as he seems to be seriously lacking emotional life.

Yes, and there are a few other ladies reporting odd times with him. One is a called Halsey - I don't know who she is, but she posted a bunch of stuff about him maybe two months ago and it was all perverted.

Also - I do not follow anything about his cars, but apparently a lot of them are sitting out in the desert heat in California and may or my not be finished. I saw some drone footage of that.

I just thought he was creepy from Day One I ever saw him.

AI does have many positives and many negatives as well. Taking the human touch from jobs that were consider an art. is something of value. Like for example hiring a carpenter to do work on a house. It is always nice to know that "frank" did a great job and has good talents on that work he did on the house. How could we thank a robot. more less thanking a programmer for their work.
That is one thing on this. Sure humans make mistakes, but that is life. Not always perfect and thats ok. A perfect world is something that would have less desire I think.

Hi @worldtraveller32,

"Sure humans make mistakes, but that is life. Not always perfect and thats ok. A perfect world is something that would have less desire I think."

Yes, obviously. I love these words and I hate AI, but for one reason.

It will, for sure, end up in making our humanity JOBLESS!

This setback isn't allowing me to consider even a million positive factors.

Thank you for your reply @worldtraveller32.

It is always nice to know that "frank" did a great job and has good talents on that work he did on the house.

I am agree with you and understand your nostalgia to the human workers. However, I am afraid that the most important thing in industry is money. If there is possibility to perform the same job faster and cheaper, this possibility will always be used.

Thank you for your kind and mature comment @worldtraveller32

AI does have many positives and many negatives as well. T

Indeed. And it's important to build awareness of both of those sides :)

Yours
Piotr

For now my succinct it’s nearly 1am response is that I see AI as a logical progression or even an inevitability at this point. The wildly imaginative or perhaps intuitive side of me thinks maybe AI has already existed and that humans and this realm are like a zoo/museum of consciousness. From this perspective of an insane person a sobering thought emerges that consciousness and/or awareness sentience what have you doesn’t require a carbon based organism with a pulse to exist. In this light regardless of potential overlapping timelines, dimensions, and quantum quirks or quarks I suppose is more apropos AI could be seen as our offspring that is immortal or vice versa if it is in fact AI that is now seeding the universe with forms of evolving intelligence. You still with me lol, I’m lost haha, not really. Basically in the most simplest terms I’m not sold on the notion that only human beings posses awareness and if we succeed at creating AI that can surpass us then our awareness will in a dystopian way “live” through them. There is only awareness expressed in infinite ways, but wouldn’t it be ironic if AI is unavoidable.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Dear @skramatters

great comment buddy

ps. would you consider using enter sometimes to separate blocks of text? it would make reading much easier :)

yours
Piotr

Thx @crypto.piotr I usually do but this comment kind of got away from me. I intended to be very brief.

I was told when I first joined here that paragraphs don't cost anything 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your brilliant comment @skramatters

The wildly imaginative or perhaps intuitive side of me thinks maybe AI has already existed and that humans and this realm are like a zoo/museum of consciousness.

That's really interesting hypothesis. Elon Musk or some another "technological influencer" has said it is very likely that we live in a simulation. If we develop quantum computers and a strong AI, we will probably be also able to create such playground. The main question for me: is such playground morally right?

if we succeed at creating AI that can surpass us then our awareness will in a dystopian way “live” through them.

I agree, brilliantly said.

The new technology traps us and it becomes very necessary for us to advance we become dependent on it. I see children handling a cellphone with a naturalness, they move the screen without fear and instead we old people fear touching something incorrectly and erase everything, as it is hard to get used to, but there we are trying to learn. The good thing is that writers with their fantastic minds warn us of these dangers of this new technology, hopefully we take forecasts. @neavvy

Thank you for your reply @sacra97.

I see children handling a cellphone with a naturalness

Indeed, that's really serious problem in my opinion. Technology is constantly improving and changing, so we need to adopt really quickly.

Thanks for the memo.

I often read articles about AI and I am on the fence as to whether or not to be worried. I have worked with computers for 30+ years and have seen so many changes there.

Who knows only time will tell.

Thanks for your reply @mytechtrail

I am on the fence as to whether or not to be worried

My impressions are similar. Opportunities and dangers are similarly huge.

I have worked with computers for 30+ years and have seen so many changes there.

This industry is indeed developing incredibly fast.

Good morning @neavvy. Wow. What a conversation you have stirred up with this one. I see all the good, amazing people I love to read and engage with are here.

I have had a fear of AI taking over all things in our lives and have done little to stop it. The husband decided to put in those light bulbs where you can tell the computer to turn on a specific light. It has caused more frustration than anything for me. He keeps talking about putting in the thermostat and so on because it will be easier and enable us to save money. So far I am not seeing the benefit to it all. It is just easier to walk 10 feet and flip a switch when I need it!

I am seeing where technology is going and I often worry that it is going to be the end of us. Now you tell me there are AI weapons! Holy mac&chz! Do they not see there is a huge danger to that? Tell AI to decide if a person should be terminated because they are a bad person, doing bad things, what is to keep the thing from deciding we are all bad?! Oh, it is stuff of nightmares in my opinion.

Yes, machines were to assist us, make life better, but there are times when you need to just get off your butt and do things yourself. It's safer that way....
Ren

Thank you for such interesting comment @xcountytravelers

The husband decided to put in those light bulbs where you can tell the computer to turn on a specific light. It has caused more frustration than anything for me.

I am afraid that I am a fan of smart home like your husband haha :) But don't worry, my girlfriend is also frustrated because of those devices, so I suppose that my smart home dreams will not come into existence :)

Yes, machines were to assist us, make life better, but there are times when you need to just get off your butt and do things yourself. It's safer that way...

I fully agree with you. Technology is great, but as its complexity increases, the level of our responsibility must also increase.

As of late, I'm hoping for a giant solar flash EMP that takes all humans to our knees and blasts us back to the ice age. (nice love vibe eh? you asked for my opinion lol!)

Honestly, we haven't remembered a fricking thing of energy 3 density other dimensions...we have been poor caretakers of this planet and animals with serious blinders over our consciousness. We might be the last generation of real humanoids... unless the collective consciousness activates their inner torid fields and inner Haarp frequencies we will ultimately repeat the matrix pattern of polarity again and again. We have been told by all the omniscient ones that came before, we are in a repeat of the karmic wheel. Go within, and find the quantum field there, then all the AI and negative control matrix doesn't matter.

AI and the language is another control matrix set by a few twisted control freaks....

The goal is the learning; bringing knowledge back to source consciousness and to "know" what our inner computer actual is capable of and how we take our consciousness back and that journey.
We are in a spiritual war on the planet, AI is another test that humans are creating out of the need to seek everything outside our own consciousness...

Let's face it when you want to leave something behind for others to find, you carve it in stone. If we all relied on computers to pass down the lessons of our generation their would be no stories. No pyramids, no sacred sites. How many laptop or technological advanced gidgets have you bought this life time, that just broke, you lost all your data, it was hacked, it was stolen, we are literally swimming in things we think are helping us advance into a super human race, yet we are swimming in plastic from all this advanced AI tech and it's completely futile that it shall last.

I feel some eerie feeling as if we are getting ready for a re-set by the "architect" like during the times of Atlantis before the world was wiped out.. maybe that's my heart being hopeful that Earth will prevail and all the suffering of war and ignorance will be perished from this dimension.

Dear @kimmysomelove42

What a brilliant but saddening comment.

I am really grateful that you shared your opinion with us @kimmysomelove42. It is incredibly mature.

I feel some eerie feeling as if we are getting ready for a re-set by the "architect" like during the times of Atlantis before the world was wiped out..

I have to admit that I have very similar feeling. Maybe not directly because of the AI development, but because of the global warming. Especially seeing scientists warning politicians and the public, without any reaction. I consider this problem as one of the most important for our civilization, as it effects are incredibly unpredictable and devastating.

Dear @neavvy you have raised some very important issues pertaining to AI in this pot of yours.
I think the realm of AI is evolving at a fast pace. We are currently at a nascent stage of development. As it evolves and develops a lot of checks would be built into the technology to make it a lot more safer.

Humans will lose their jobs to AI

That is the same apprehension that came into existence when computers were introduced. So many people said that computers would take away the jobs from the humans? Did that happen. Looking back one finds that a lot more jobs got created though of a new kind. So we humans need not fear on that account.
Our race is an evolving species and change is part of that evolution so I frankly do not buy the argument that humans would be jobless. As AI would increase efficiency and create more jobs in the long run.

AI can be used to hurt people

When trains were introduced in the 19th century people thought that people would get suffocated when trains hit a speed of 30 miles an hour. We all know that nothing of that sort happened.
As far as people actually getting hurt my sympathies with them and I am not insensitive to anybody's loss of limb or life.
However I quote the example of prior to the wright brothers inventing the aeroplane, so many people tried to fly, broke their limbs or lost lives.
Over times aeroplanes evolved and today they are fairly safe means of transport.
Given the time that it needs to evolve it would be just other technology that would be safe, useful and human friendly.

Dear @thetimetravelerz, @neavvy

That is the same apprehension that came into existence when computers were introduced. So many people said that computers would take away the jobs from the humans? Did that happen. Looking back one finds that a lot more jobs got created though of a new kind.

"transformation" period is the real problem. There is no doubts that millions of people out there will lose jobs and many of them will not be able to adapt.

Computers brought very little and very slow change comparing to AI. People had entire decade to learn new jobs. With AI people will have very little time to adjust themselfs and their careers.

Our race is an evolving species and change is part of that evolution so I frankly do not buy the argument that humans would be jobless

Not all humans. Just those who are either from poor/developing country or are to old to learn new skills. I cannot imagine lawer age of 50, who is losing his job because it's being replaced with AI. And what other job this lawer could possibly do?

It will be painful process for many.

Yours
Piotr

Thank you for your reply @thetimetravelerz

As AI would increase efficiency and create more jobs in the long run.

I fully agree with you. Virtually every technological invention creates some unemployment, but that shouldn't be considered as a main factor. In a long term everyone benefits, even those who initially lost their jobs.

Given the time that it needs to evolve it would be just other technology that would be safe, useful and human friendly.

I hope so. If only humanity will approach the development of AI properly, it will definitely become one of the most awesome inventions in our history. With this article I wanted to emphasize, that behind amazing possibilities there are serious dangers. We should be aware of them and act carefully, and everything will be ok.

Hi @thetimetravlerz,

Wonderful answer to this very important query.

Posted using Partiko Android

My thoughts about this.

First is the date where AI will gonna be prevalent, I will bet it will be a little longer compared to Elon Musk forecast. Time incubation of technology is a factor. Other technology that AI will be using is still in their infancy.

Second, the human factor. Humans will have a natural distrust about computer, they will be scared to trust their lives in a mere robot, without a panic button for manual override. Thus, man will still include a kill button on all these technologies, until time comes that man evolved itself into trusting the technology, biologically and "soulfully".

Third, future of workforce. This is an imminent danger, but I foresee that when technological acceptance of AI occurs, there is be many backyard design AI for personal use, everybody can develop their own AI. An international consortium or an AI United Nation will develop protocol for human and life safety for all AI programs will be enforced.

Lastly, internet will be the default(shadow) government that govern or guides citizens on everyday life aided by AI devices.

Life will be very different, the way we see ourselves is different, we see life will be different, it can be extremes of utopic world, but I can still see balance and harmony.

Thanks @neavvy for sharing me this article.

@guruvaj, you've extensively explained the pros and cons of AI perfectly. Awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. That is how i view it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for awesome comment @guruvaj

Humans will have a natural distrust about computer, they will be scared to trust their lives in a mere robot, without a panic button for manual override.

That's true. However, some experts predict that we will be able to trust AI in a short period of time. They claim that once strong AI is developed humans will be creating relationships with it. There will be also AI-based psychological robots. If we learn how to control strong AI, it will be definitely more predictable and patient than AI human, which makes it more reliable.

We need to remember that implementing technology around us is generally aimed to make our life easier. Obviously this approach results in some professions becoming unnecessary, but simultaneously it opens up many new opportunities. Hundred years ago the word "programmer" has not even existed, while nowadays it is one of the most popular occupations.

Well, no, not really. "Making our lives easier" is the marketing ploy used to gain acceptance. The real purpose of automation is to provide the ultra-rich and the corporations they control with a labour force which is not unionized, will never strike, has no rights, demands no raises, and never calls out sick. The classic axiom is "workers control the means of production", but with automation that will no longer be true. The corporations and the elites which control them will no longer need us for anything, and we will truly become the "useless eaters" which they have long accused us of being.

For this reason, if no other, anyone who is paying attention should oppose automation of jobs categorically, across the board, purely out of enlightened self-interest. After all, voting your class interest is the first stage of political awareness.

If AI makes a mistake on the road and accidentally kills a human, like in case of a self-driving Uber in Arizona, who should be responsible? Programmers who developed this AI? Owner of the car?

These are issues which should have been clearly addressed before self-driving cars were ever allowed on the road. Instead, as your own words make clear, we have placed automatons in the position of making life-and-death decisions for humans, which is a deep, deep moral wrong, and should by rights scare the living shit out of us.

Instead, the corp-rats have been allowed to forge ahead unregulated and unrestrained. Now when these issues come up in court, there will be vested financial interests on the side of the AI, with billions of dollars hiring the most expensive lawyers in the world to argue a side which is against the interest of all humanity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87