Helping to disrupt science communication with the Science Disrupt Podcast

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

Hi all, I’ve taken part in a couple of podcasts with the folks over at the Science Disrupt podcast recently.

The first of which involved me being part of their Disrupting Science Communication event. I was there talking vaccine communication while Prof Ruth Morgan talked on communicating forensic science and Dr Alice Bell talked about communicating the science of climate change. The other two speakers were both spectacular so it’s totally worth listening to the whole thing if you get a chance, however, if you’d just like to hear my lecture segment I’m the second speaker starting at around the 23 minute mark.

Episode 64: Disrupting The Conversation

The talk is quite fun but I do say “as you can see by the graph” about 20 million times so I’ve uploaded the slides to SlideShare so that you can follow along if you like.

The discussion panel part is good, but mainly it’s just the three of us saying “yeah, I totally agree”. It turns out climate change has the same issue with communicating the science as we do in vaccines, who’d have thought it!?

Here’s a couple of pictures from the event:


All images reproduced with permission from Gemma @sciencedisrupt

After this, the Science Disrupt team (Gemma and Laurence, go follow them on twitter) invited me for more of an in depth interview covering my research and views on vaccine communication more generally.

This was by far the most out of my comfort zone I’ve been when it comes to communicating my work, but hey, they may have done one spectacular editing job and it might be worth a listen (I'll never know. No way could I ever stand listening to me trying to be an expert on something, I know me too well to be fooled by that act).

Episode 66: Vaccines: Tackling Viral Misinformation

The last question they ask me may have relevance to our community here on #steemstem.

I was asked: “How I would like to “disrupt” science communication?”

I answered that I would like to reward and compensate doctors and researchers for communicating their area of expertise to a wider audience. I didn’t bringing up #steemstem (as its hard to cram a full description of what the hell is going on here in a 30 seconds final thoughts answer), but it’s exactly what I thinking of at the time.

Which is why, currently, I am looking into ways I can work (at least part time, but perhaps fulltime!) on bringing academics and science communicators into the #steemstem community. I’ve some ideas which I will pitch here at sometime soon, but in the meantime, if you’ve any thoughts on what the best use of my time here would be please to get in touch.

First, however, I really need to (finally) finish my PhD and the current teaching work I’ve committed to, both of which should wrap up around the end of April. After that, I’ve an endless abyss of time that I quite like to fill with something weird, so here seems like as good a place as any!

About me

My name is Richard, I blog under the name of @nonzerosum. I’m a PhD student at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. I write mostly on the psychology of vaccine acceptance delay and refusal while occasionally dabbling in more general topics of public health. Here’s a selection of some of my past articles

From Anti-Vaxers to Alfie’s Army: Have we lost faith in medical science?

The State of Vaccine Confidence in 2018

A Frightened Public Scares Me: How empathy and fear can distort health policy

Redefining ‘Health’ for the 21st Century

Why We Vaccinate for Whooping Cough During Pregnancy

I am also a proud member of the #steemstem community. If this community is news to you can check out what they are all about here.

SteemSTEM gif.gif


Sort:  




This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail in collaboration with @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting both projects for witness by selecting stem.witness and curie!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Thank you steemstem, love you!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic initiative! Sorry 4 being late 4 2 days :D

Yeah, quiet round here lately, we need some fresh blood maybe. I've certainly not been doing my part. A couple of months and then I'm all in(probably)!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @nonzerosum!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.012 which ranks you at #10526 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #88.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Very nice initiative, indeed. Concerning bringing more academics, this is also our goals. For now, I personally try to get a better version of steemstem.io and use that as a 'product' to bring academics to Steem. I don't know whether this will work, but it is worth to try in any case. Other ideas are of course more than welcome! But in any case, we need to find a way to grow by attracting good people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13