Sort:  

The main problem here, and it is confirmed by most comments you got, is that all reactions are driven by emotions, not logics or science.

And for the record, I personally eat local. Not organic, GMO, or whatever, but local from my local market. Less gas emissions to bring the food to my plate and this promotes the local economy ;)

The main problem here, and it is confirmed by most comments you got, is that all reactions are driven by emotions, not logics or science.

I did expect that to happen as I deliberately tagged my post with #conspiracy and #gmo.
Though, I'm rather sad that they apparently didn't even spend time to read the article and only dropped one comment without taking a look at the sources or answering to my questions afterwards.

I was hoping for a more furious debate rather than just a populist phrase with nothing more following or behind it.

And for the record, I personally eat local. Not organic, GMO, or whatever, but local from my local market. Less gas emissions to bring the food to my plate and this promotes the local economy ;)

That's the best way to go, indeed! :)

well, the active community on Steem is what it is, at least at the moment ^^

I hope Monsanto/Bayer burns to the ground!!!

Why do you think that?

I brought sources and evidence.
Now I'm waiting. It's your turn to refute what I said.

Not with a shabby slogan. But proof.

I agree 100% my brother.
Kill Babylon!

Let us disregard all evidence and just hate. Sure.
Care to give any reasons with according proof as to why they should "burn to the ground"?

I listed several dozens of sources and evidences as to why GMOs are not evil.

Great piece, predictable conclusion. The same conclusion I got when I wrote my article on GMO and Monsanto a few months ago.
Science is science, you can only have one conclusion by analyzing the data.

Cheers!

Thank you much for that addition! :)

It was not shameless promotion it was to support your article :P
You are welcome!

Of course, I never considered this self-promotion. Again, it's valuable input. :)

Top! Resteem.

Posted using Partiko Android

And resteem. ;-)

Werter serylt,
an dieser Stelle erhälst Du natürlich trotz unserer sonstigen erheblichen Auseinandersetzungen ein 100% upvote + re-steem. Sehr guter Post!!
BGvB!

Das schätze ich sehr. <3

At last, a piece of activist antics scientists can get behind! I read recently that without GMOs it's goodbye bananas. But I like bananas!

Entertaining and informative article.

Having those "Activist Antics" can come in quite handy. ;D

Glad you liked it. :)

Here's my take on GMO:

We are good at selecting for the traits that we want in crops, etc. As for other unintended gene products, well, that's another story. It probably wont show its effects until much later.

Having worked in both clinical and research settings, I can tell you that a healthy dose of skepticism never hurt. Uninformed fear, however, is an utter nuisance.

It probably wont show its effects until much later.

It seems rather unlikely, though.
Especially regarding that much more genes change in artificial selection, so - from a gene standpoint of view - I would assume that the more genes change, the bigger the risk by that logic. ;)

I can tell you that a healthy dose of skepticism never hurt. Uninformed fear, however, is an utter nuisance.

Though, I totally agree with you here.

It's not that it's unlikely. It's that we don't know and probably will never live long enough to see the effects as the selected genes interact and evolve with the original species.

Eukaryotic gene interactions are a lot more complex than what can be observed in prokaryotes. Take humans, for example, we have so many products from ~20K genes. It's not as simple as transcribe a segment, translate it, and boom product.

Haver another happy year, !BEER

It should be pretty easy to overstand,
even for
"educated fools from uneducated schools":
Keep your hands off creation!
None of your business.
A natural selection,transformation of
Nature is not comparable to
"i think this would work better,faster more
profitable..." from
"educated fools from uneducated schools"
Do me a favor, Dude:
Be the human experiment:
Just eat GMO food from today on,
and let's see how you looking
and doing in a year or so...;)

Keep your hands off creation!
None of your business.

Why?


Would you rather let farmers go bankrupt in Bangladesh because their eggplants are being killed by a (naturally occuring) virus? Or the farmers in Hawaii with their Papayas?

Would you rather have children to suffer from Vitamin A deficiency and let them go blind?

You must be a horrible person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84