Interviewing the SteemSTEM Curators - @alexs1320

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

The Curators of SteemSTEM


What do they do? Well, their tasks include searching for new STEM authors, evaluating and reviewing STEM articles, conducting thorough searches for plagiarism and they are the people who will suggest whether or not a STEM article has to be upvoted and supported by @steemstem.

Let's get to know the Curators better, shall we?

A community gets bigger and stronger as its members work together, get to know each other, learn from each other. Evolve. Flourish.

Who are the curators of SteemSTEM? How long are they going through the STEM posts? What makes a post unique according to them? Is their job easy?

As we continue the interviews, we hope that we entertain but mostly we inspire you for even more creative and original STEM posts!

In this post @alexs1320 is interviewed by @katerinaramm!

If you have any extra questions or thoughts, feel free to let someone from the PR team know!


Let the curtain open!


Our very first interview was with our curator @ruth-girl, who inspired us greatly, and we continued with interviewing Gianluca (aka @aboutcoolscience) who let us know more about how cool science is and can be.

This time we bring before you Aleksandar (@alexs1320)!

Aleksandar will be celebrating his fist Steemiversary in November 2018, and he has been a very active member of the community. Let's see what he shared with us in this interview!

--

Q - Hi Alex, thank you for taking the time to reply to our questions! Let us know a few things about yourself: What is your real (first) name? What do you do, where are you from, how long have you been on Steem and what are your hobbies?

A - As you could rightly assume, my first name is Aleksandar. I'm from Serbia, a small country in South-Eastern Europe. I discovered Steemit by pure chance after a FB debate about BTC right around the time when I made my CV-like blog. It was almost a year ago. I like outdoor activities, cycling, photography, cars and military history.


Q - What do the numbers after your name mean?

A - When I opened my first email, I wanted to be "132" in the name of the very first car I've driven (when I was 10 or 11). It was a lovely Fiat 132, dark blue, with unforgetable engine noise. Unfortunately 132 was already taken, so I added 0.


Q - How long have you been a curator for SteemSTEM?

A - At first I became a curator for the local language community, YU-STEM, in winter 2018. Since spring 2018 I became "global curator" as well.


Q - How and when did it all start?

A - I asked @lemouth if we could create our local community, and he said "yes" :)


Q - How often do you curate?

A - Several times a day, when I'm taking a break from other activities.


Q - What is the first thing that you take into consideration when curating?

A - Competence. If I see the post from a respected author, it's easy to curate, because they are real experts in their respected fields. We have never experienced any problems with them. On the other hand, if I spot a new author, I check their background and very often it rings the alarm in my head.



Q - Tell us something that really gives you a great first impression when you see a SteemSTEM post. (It could have to do with the chosen topic, images, structure etc)

A - In my opinion, good post can only be writen if the author is devoted to the certain topic. When you see such post, you can notice the details that you can't find on Wiki or daily newspapers. This is why I like to see that the author is consistently writing about something from their area of expertise. On the other hand, it's incredibly easy to notice if someone is rephrasing the text.


Q - Do you have a favorite scientific topic that you have fun reading and reviewing over any others?

A - Biology... And the posts written by real enthusiasts. I would like to see more tech, but good tech, from the first hand experience, not "how stuff works".



Q - Tell us something that really makes you disappointed or angry when you see a SteemSTEM post. (It could have to do with the chosen topic, images, structure etc)

A - I can't stand Wiki and Book re-wording. Books are made by real experts and if I want to read a book - I'll take a book. Wiki is free and there is no reason to upvote something that is a degraded free content.

I want to read what YOU are doing. What is YOUR hobby, YOUR interests. Wiki and Books are not adding any value. It's actually harming us all.

Just imagine the potential investor, checking the platform... "Wow, I could buy those coins that are given for plagiarism, so I could earn more coins to foster more low-quality content." What is the value of that? It's Zero, 0. We are representing a brand. If we can make something good and put our posts on the very first page in Google Search (and many authors can do it), we are promoting the whole platform and project. This is why I'm advocating for fostering excellence, competence and originality.


Q - What would be your advice to both the old and new authors who wish to join SteemSTEM but do not know where to start?

A - Write about the topics you are passionate about. About the topics that you really know. About the things you really do.


Q - If you could interview anyone from SteemSTEM, who would it be and ask him/her one question now?

A - @dber, where are you man, we are missing you?!


Q - If you could have any job in the world, what would you choose?

A - I think that life is just. After the 30th birthday, most people are positioned where they feel comfortable. When you are choosing a job, you need a balance between earnings, time and interests. I'm very happy with my current situation.


Q - Would you like to tell us what other projects you support besides SteemSTEM?

A - I'm involved in DaVinci-Utopian translations and I think that SteemQ will be a great project. And of course, teamserbia and teamslovenia have my attention as well.

I'm also daydreaming about my own history related project.



Q - Could you describe in as few words as possible what science means to you?

A - Pushing the boundaries, driven by curiosity and devotion.


Q - We've seen you gain a reputation as somebody who takes no sh**. If you could give any advice to yourself and to the people who provoke you, what would it be?

A - I need to explain this in more detail, so you can understand my atypical behavior for a young, well-educated European.

First, I'm not angry at all. I simply know how to speak to specific sorts of people.

In Serbia, we don't have no-go zones, ZUP/ZUS, whatever. We are living together. University professors next to a sportsmen and convicted criminals and the odd creepy guy. We are spending many hours outside the house and consequently we are encountering all those people. You can't communicate in the same way with a person with 120 IQ points and 70 IQ points. They can't understand your logic, your arguments, your words...

When you are encountering very angry people with low IQ, willing to fight for no reason, you need to know how to defend yourself. You need to be prepared to use the words, very bad words and physical force. You need to show the attitude that you are more powerful, that you are more dominant and that you are not going to obey their silly rules.

Those Western generations born after 1990 are so soft I can't imagine. Someone sent me hate mail. So what, don't read. I need a safe space to mourn because Trump won. And that is going to change what? Someone is begging me for a vote/ removal from the blacklist. Send them to hell, they don't deserve any mercy!

And the most important lesson: people don't change. Ever. Don't even try to fix them.


Q - What is your wish for SteemSTEM?

A - To cut all sick branches and start growing again.


Q - Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

A - In Alpistan (my expression for SWI, AUT, SLO and northern ITA).


Q - Where do you see SteemSTEM in 5 years?

A - Difficult question... There are way too many factors.

It could be just a distant memory, or it could be the logo of our Lambo.


Thank you Alex!


Read our last Distilled #80 || Get Incentives for promoting steemSTEM || Vote for steemSTEM Witness || Visit our new home steemstem.io

Image Source 1 - Image Source 2


We hope you will consider delegating to @steemstem (ROI: 65% of the curation rewards):
50SP | 100SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP |

Sort:  

I wanted to be "132" in the name of the very first car I've driven (when I was 10 or 11)

I'm not gonna comment on that...

You just did :D

It's kind of like when somebody says "Not to mention the day you went to the shops" and you say "but you just did!" :D

😎

I mentally ignored that in fact. And I won't repeat that to my boys ;)

My father had a strange approach. I was bright and curious kid and there were 2 options. To let me figure it out myself or... To teach me how to use serious things. In practice, am I strong enough to cock the air rifle? Yes! Good, I knew how to use it when I was 6. Am I tall enough to press the pedals? Yes! Ok... Son, here is the empty field to practice a bit. It's not all that uncommon for kids to operate tractors and vehicles on village paths. (1 min of yt search :) )

You know it's not uncommon in rural areas here in oz either..and despite strict gun laws here, I was surprised to find out that a 12 year old can legally operate a gun!

Anyway @alexs1320 it's great to see somebody on steemstem keen into photography and cars . You have to keep us updated on your lens project :).

Lastly, thank you @katerinaramm for taking the time to do this interview 👍

Serbia is a gold lensmine with incredible prices and many SSSR/DDR exotics. I'll make some purchases this winter.

In addition, my new position is optics, and there will be some weird lab bodges, very specific pieces of equipment and DIY.

Apply "the blockbuster voice":
Stay tuned... This Spring... Alex... S... is changing... his field of study.

I indeed assume that under these circumstances, there are very little ways to get the kids hurting himself. I am a city-boy (although a country-side adult), so that this always shocks me on the first impression ;)

Of course, in Slavic countries safety comes first:

Safety level: Russia 😎

That guy who closed his eyes - priceless XD

Sure he closed, look at all that dust surrounding them!

I don't remember that anyone was ever hurt. Those were very strange times, a weird combination of the Middle Ages (no asphalt, no running water often with electricity cuts for a couple of hours) and almost XXI century gadgets like Spectrum/ Commodore/ Atari

Atari and Commodore definitely fit with the car picture below. I never heard anything about Spectrum. I am maybe not old enough :/

It was a cool car back then:

My friend's first car was an orange/black "Yugo" in 1974!

So old-timer! I love it!

I am always glad to discuss the topic of plagiarism / wiki-like contributions with you anytime. I know our opinions slightly diverge in the details, but debating is always good.

It is indeed clear you and I disagree on what is plagiarism. While I agree with the fact that pure rewording does not bring much to Steem (however, not zero, in my opinion: there are worse things), I disagree on calling this plagiarism (legally speaking, rewording is not plagiarism).

However, we are in the same line on trying to get more people talking about their passion (and less and less wiki-style posts) in the future! This is the path we are all taking together at SteemSTEM! With more excellent bloggers on board, there will be less and less voting power available for the wiki-rewording stuff anyways :)

PS: I am not so sure I really want to being the debate here rather than on discord, especially as we had it already several times... But it is Friday night after all ... Friday night feeever ;)

For me, it's a puzzle, why would anyone even considered re-wording, because there are so, so many interesting details in all areas of human activitis. Recently, a guy was explaining to me all the steps involved in a production of - nuts and bolts. He was talking for 15 min straight. It's the same for every other profession.

On top of that, there are countless hobbies, cars, photography, fishing, hiking... with specific gear, specific tech, specific details that are interesting to read about.

The other thing to consider is the vast majority of journalism, which is a multi-billion dolllar industry of re-wording. You can search any news story on Google and get exceedingly similar articles page after page in the results, oftentimes in verbatim, images and all. This gives an uncountable number of people a full-time salary around the world!

Thus, whether we like it or not, the 'value' cannot by definition be zero, demonstrated by the above career choice.

But yeah for sure, when activity goes up to the point that we can actually sustain quality with the right amount of VP (As we used to in the good old days), thisi kinda thing can fek off, basically =)

In Serbia, average "news-reword-er" needs to write 30 masterpiece articles per day, or about 600 per month. It means that 1 such article costs about 1$ - not that high.

On the other hand, a copyrighter can earn 1000 for one sharp sentence.

Also, from the "artistic"/scientific point of view: there billions of cat photos, some of those have value (funny photos) but would you prefer to see undiscovered species in Nat Geo?

It's true, thousands of news-re-word-ers are earning their salary, yet none of them will be admired. On the other hand, Jacques Cousteau will earn his salary + 10 more but he created something immortal.

Of course, I gave very extreme examples, but you understand me

For me, it's a puzzle, why would anyone even considered re-wording, because there are so, so many interesting details in all areas of human activitis.

I can't answer to this and I really hope to see less and less of these. However, one has rewording and rewording. Some people just explain in their own words what they have read here and there, what they have learned and why this is cool. Some others take an article and just rewrite it sentence by sentence. Whilst I am in favor of supporting the first, I am also in favor of ignoring the second (even if this is not plagiarism).

The second would be considered plagiarism in any university I think.

I think if a person strives to be original, then plagiarism will take care of itself. So let's say you have a novel 'argument' (a new way of putting known information together so that you reach an unexpected conclusion), then you can reword from x number of sources and use novel examples to explain ideas, and yet the end result will still be original because you organized the information differently.

Overall, it's only extreme laziness that leads to plagiarism, since it's so easy to avoid if you have even an ounce of passion for what you're writing.

The second would be considered plagiarism in any university I think.

No, but this would anyways not be published as not bringing any new insight on a topic. But this is not exactly what we talk about here, don't we? We are talking about people blogging about what they learned online on a given topic. Which consists in a part of what steemstem supports.

Overall, it's only extreme laziness that leads to plagiarism, since it's so easy to avoid if you have even an ounce of passion for what you're writing.

Agree, this is a bad slippery slope and I personally don't see the point in doing this. If one aims to build an audience, one needs to bring something personal around here.

We are talking about people blogging about what they learned online on a given topic.

Yes that's perfectly acceptable, the 'what I learned this week' kind of posts can be very entertaining and informative when done properly.

"When done properly" is the key... Many people have to learn...

Hi Aleksandar, thank you for sharing with us your perspective about steemstem curation.
And thank you for your good wishes about StemQ (one 'e' ;-)).
All the best,
@irelandscape

stemQ http://www.stemq.io/

stemQ http://www.stemq.io/

stemQ http://www.stemq.io/

Some free advertisement to compensate :D

Hi @steemstem!

Your post was upvoted by Utopian.io in cooperation with @steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Hi @Alexs1320! I have a few language friends from Serbia... Nice country :D

Your comments on your approach to deal with people reminds me a bit of Linus Torvalds (creator of Linux, the kernel), who once said:

"I'm not a nice person and I don't care about you. Really. Seriously. I care about the technology and I care about the kernel".

According to him, being a nice person when you are a leader doesn't necessarily help. He says he needs to be rude in order to make people of his open source software community understand what is required and what is not. He has been an incredible and successful leader but, of course, that attitude causes some problems to him, including a kind of bad reputation. He says he needs "to change some in his behavior" but I think he is a special person and he won't change ever.

Nice to meet you. See you!

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @steemitqa, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

I'm loving this series!

I definitely appreciate @alexs1320 's attitude toward the articles that just re-hash some Wikipedia page. It hurts the community as a whole.

I guess I know who to contact if I need to make a person disappear.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11