Identifying the Strange Caterpillar

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

This is a follow up on a video I posted two days ago.

To recap, I had paid a visit to my parents house which is located in Katerini, Greece. While I was leaving I noticed with the corner of my eye something weird struggling to climb the entrance of the house.

I got closer and noticed it was some weird caterpillar that seemed to have some weird wood like thingie attached to it. Here's the video again:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WbS8LHiyo8

As I mentioned in my previous post, I have encountered these wood like thingies many times in the past, hanging on walls and stuff. I always thought they were coccoon or egg shacks but as you can see above its something totally different :)

Being curious to learn more about the critter I decided to make a post here  and ask if someone could help me identify it. And.... I got nothing!

Ok ok, almost nothing. I got a cool comment by @agmoore:


In the meantime though I decided to use google. After some weird keyword combination that I no longer remember (probably something like "caterpillar with wood stick thingie attached to its ass, Greece") I encountered this page  which on a similar looking caterpillar has this to say:

"This is a Bagworm, the caterpillar of a moth in the family Psychidae."

Next thing, I head over to wikipedia's page for bagworm and it seems that indeed, my caterpillar is one from the Psychidae family. Take for example this species:


Possibly Hyalarcta huebneri specimen (credit)


It looks virtually the same with the one I encountered! 

Now, at this point I was quite content with knowing the family. The exact genus and species isn't something that I really cared.

However, I did continue reading and learning more about the family Psychidae in general, which is quite interesting if you ask me. 

As you can see from my video, the most distinctive trait of this family is that they build and carry small protective cases that they use for hiding and protection. These cases are usually made of silk and environmental materials like dirt, soil and plant stuff.

As you'd might expect, each species makes its own unique case something that comes really handy when you want to identify one of them. Take for example, Canephora hirsuta a bagworm, that @enforcer48 (who did find the correct answer on whaleshares) shared with me:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdGg9hGG4IE

And now look at this bagworm that has its case made mostly of feathery stork's bill seeds

(credit)

And here's how on adult specimen looks like:

(credit)

Of course this is just a quick example of an adult specimen. WIth a family containing more than 1000 species you can expect a lot of variety :)

Ok, I thing you had a good quick taste about bagworms. Wikipedia is a great place to start if you want to learn more! 


All in all, I am just happy to have "discovered" this small wonder of nature and share it with you! 

Sort:  

These little critters are definitely go getters.

Amazing pictures and great introduction to a new species (for me), but the best part of your blog: you didn't show dead "specimens". I don't understand the joy people get out of killing butterflies/moths and sticking them on boards with pins.

To clear any misconceptions the photos are not mine, only the first video, but are taken from Wikipedia as you can see if you click the credit links :p

I opened a new account and sometimes confused between them...had to delete the comment I made a couple of minutes ago.
I did check out the link. Just glad they weren't dead. A butterfly collection--I don't see the charm.

bagworm, that makes since given their weird bag thing. what's the range of bagworms, do they only live in Europe?

Bagworm species are found globally, with some, such as the snailcase bagworm (Apterona helicoidella), in modern times settling continents where they are not native.

From wiki



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider setting @steemstem as a beneficiary to your post to get a stronger support.

Please consider using the steemstem.io app to get a stronger support.

Thank you bot!

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.427 which ranks you at #654 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 657).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 177 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30