Just got myself a cool pet rock :D

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

Some of you may remember this post I made over a year ago. Nah, who am I kidding, nobody does :D

Oh well, it's mother's day today here in Greece and yesterday I went shopping to get for my mother a nice beautifil plant. And while I was there I spotted this little interesting fella:

Here's a photo next to a regular 330 ml tin can and a pink 3d dragon for better comparison:

Now, I know this thing looks like a weird stone or something but it's actually a plant from the Lithops genus

Lithops are succulent plants. which are plants that have certain parts that are more thicker than usual in order to retain water, which helps them survive in places with not much water, like deserts and stuff.

Obviously, Lithops take this property to the extreme. As you can see they have no well defined leaves, stem or whatever etc. They just look like plain rocks which among other things helps them to blend with the surrounding enviroment and avoid getting eaten!

What I think is the most interesting thing about these little fellas is that, for the most part, the leaves are below the surface. However, the top of the leaves is partially or completely translucent allowing light to reach deep inside the rest of the leaves so that the plant can photosynthesize.

You can see better what I mean in the picture below:

 
(source, CC BY-SA 3.0)

"Longitudinal section of a Lithops plant, showing the epidermal window at the top, the translucent succulent tissue, the green photosynthetic tissue, and the decussate budding leaves growing between the mature leaves." (source)

Apparently, these guys are easy to grow, maintain and propagate but to be honest when it comes to plants... I don't like to take the words of others but prefer to trust my own experience so we will see how my new friend goes and handles the climate of Greece. Hopefully I might even get it to flower and produce some seeds :D

 
(Flowered Lithops olivacea, source, CC BY-SA 3.0 )

Ok, these are pretty much the basics you need to know about this Genus. Wikipedia has a nice page about them with plenty of info on them so head there if you want to learn more!

Here's a cool timelapse video showing some of them flowering:

Know of any other weird plants I could give a try? Let me know in the comments!

Photo Credit Mumbo Jumbo

All non-credited photos are by yours truly, released into the public domain because I doubt anybody would bother to credit, let alone pay, me for them. 

Sort:  

"plants that have certain parts that are more thicker than usual in order to retain water"

Oh, so that is what "succulent" means! Damn, I was hoping it was something more erotic than that.

Sorry to disappoint, I am not fun at parties :(

Aw, come on. The learning curve is not all that steep (from what I hear - no actual experience).

It looks like a mix between a cookie and a brain 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

You are a cookie !

He is a 🍪????

You are a cookie too

Cookie votes for you @regularowl

Posted using Partiko Android


The owls were called by @mathowl

😍😍😍😍😍

You put that pink dragon there just to trigger me, didn't you?

He is mine 😍

Does this mean we will need to let Hera go because you have a new pet? 😥😭

Pet rocks are awesome!
But what about dat pink dinosaur???

Posted using Partiko Android

It's sexy isn't it? 😊😊😊

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.973 which ranks you at #1147 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 421 places in the last three days (old rank 726).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I really enjoyed that blog.... better than the one about honey bees. That was a pretty good picture, but....
Going to read up on this plant. Fascinating. I love it when we have to reorder our perceptions about how life is and should be. So much we do not even imagine. Like Lithrops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20