I was the Steem Torch Keeper for a few minutes this morning!

in #steemtorch5 years ago

One of my routines in the morning (not immediately after I wake up, that's true), is to check out the notifications that piled up from Steem over night.

Much to my surprise, I saw a significant amount of liquid STEEM sent to me (439 to be exact). At first I thought I might have hit a jackpot without playing any slot machines, which is kinda... impossible. Or maybe a mix up of some sort.

But then I've read the memo field, and that cleared things up. It was about the Steem Torch experiment initiated by @geekgirl about a month ago (according to the post date).

I knew what the experiment was about, because I read about it in the past.

So... I couldn't keep the funds, it was not a mix up and not a jackpot either. :)

But it was both an honor and a responsibility then, because it's almost the amount needed to make a minnow, and the sum is growing with each torch keeper.

And I had to find someone to pass the torch to, preferably one I knew didn't have it before, to my knowledge. And of course someone I could trust not to keep the funds or withdraw them.

I had a few people in mind for that, but I decided to @erikah, which is a very nice lady, always helpful and positive, and thought she would be a perfect fit for the next keeper of the torch.

Looking forward to see who she selects next.

The Steem Torch experiment will continue until it reaches the 1337th keeper (I was the 60th), at which point this will happen:

When Count reaches to 1337 the experiment ends with success. 1337th Torch Keeper can donate the total amount to Steem based charities, Steem projects, distribute to minnows, burn it by sending to @null, or ask the community what to do with it.

By then, a pretty decent number of steemians would have been involved as keepers, this would be really an entire community experiment!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 120 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @gadrian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.398 which ranks you at #7453 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 307 places in the last three days (old rank 7760).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 220 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79